Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => FTTC and FTTP Issues => Topic started by: displaced on September 03, 2019, 12:28:50 AM

Title: Could my line have SRA?
Post by: displaced on September 03, 2019, 12:28:50 AM
Hi!

Iíve noticed my line speed has been changing a lot more often recently - sometimes once per day, or every other day.

Downloadís always within a 55 to 58Mbit range which is normal for my line, as is upload. I have dslstats monitoring the line, but havenít noticed an out-of-the-ordinary number of resync alert emails.

In fact, I just checked and Iím at 59 down, which is unheard of this time of year for me. Usually my 21.5dB attenuation in warm weather limits me to ~56.

So, is it possible that my line could have SRA?  Is there anything in the dslstats data that I could check?  And, out of curiosity, would SRA trigger dslstats resync alerts?

(Iím on a Huawei cab with an HG612 modem, Gravesend exchange)

Chris
Title: Re: Could my line have SRA?
Post by: j0hn on September 03, 2019, 02:06:03 PM
It can indeed have SRA.
OpenReach are trialling SRA on VDSL2 at the moment.

It won't show as a resync on DslStats.

Not sure if any the stats show if SRA is active or not but if the sync is changing without a resync then you have SRA enabled.
Title: Re: Could my line have SRA?
Post by: Weaver on September 03, 2019, 05:25:38 PM
Is SRA on BT VDSL2 downstream-only, or both directions?
Title: Re: Could my line have SRA?
Post by: displaced on September 03, 2019, 05:57:24 PM
Thanks j0hn!

Weaver, I think itís both U/S and D/S.  But Iíll pay a bit more attention and try to confirm.  Right now Iím still not entirely sure itís SRA - I might just be missing resync notification emails!

Canít complain though, the lineís running exceptionally well at the moment.  Be interesting to see how the rates climb as the weather cools down and my attenuation drops.
Title: Re: Could my line have SRA?
Post by: dee.jay on September 03, 2019, 06:20:00 PM
Interesting - I knew that SRA was definitely on G.Fast and I read about the trial on ISPr, but didn't think it was going more widespread. FWIW I would get an e-mail from A&A but nothing yet, so it definitely isn't on my cabinet, yet.
Title: Re: Could my line have SRA?
Post by: tiffy on September 04, 2019, 02:27:35 PM
@displaced

Quote
But Iíll pay a bit more attention and try to confirm.  Right now Iím still not entirely sure itís SRA - I might just be missing resync notification emails!

As you have stated that you run DSLStats on your line surely "DSL Uptime" is clearly visable on the bottom banner of every display and should be indicative of any re-synch's., obviously this information could be obtained directly from your modem/router but with DSLStats you don't have to go to that bother.

Perhaps SRA action (re-synch) is not recognised as a re-synch by DSLStats, would have thought this unlikely but then I don't really know a lot about SRA, I'am sure some of the patrons will be more knowledgable on the subject.

Regarding re-synch e-mail warnings.
On the 3 VDSL-2 lines I monitor 24/7, own line, son's & daughter's, using RPi's and VNC utility, I have found that the "Alerts/Resynch" tick box option does not survive a DSLStats re-start and must be re-selected every time.

Edit:

Quote
It won't show as a resync on DslStats

Just noticed that j0hn has already answered the point I raised, apologies.