Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => ISPs => Topic started by: Chunkers on December 05, 2018, 08:34:39 AM

Title: New ISP for second line
Post by: Chunkers on December 05, 2018, 08:34:39 AM
I have 2 ADSL lines at my house, currently one on Zen and one on Plusnet.

I got a good 18 months deal from Plusnet when I signed up but this has now expired so I am paying 35/month :silly: for ADSL2 and line rental - time to look around. My starting point is to try Zen and PlusNet as they have both been decent but as I am no longer a new customer I suspect I won't get a great deal from either.  I also need a fixed IP on the line and not all ISP's will offer that.

Anyone have any good recent experiences with getting 18 month deals on broadband and line rental?

I notice Sky are offering good deals on comparison websites - do they offer fixed IP and are they still forcing people to use their modems / routers?

 :cool: :fingers:

Chunks
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: dee.jay on December 05, 2018, 08:40:23 AM
You could only get a static IP with Sky, at least with FTTC, if you had the Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro package. I do not believe you can order it anymore.

I have a single static IP with them through having that package, had it 6.5 years now!

Your other option is a "prosumer" ISP like AAISP, but they'll blow your budget. I don't know what cheap ISP's offer static IP's, I'm afraid.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: chenks on December 05, 2018, 09:04:26 AM
well Origin did offer static IP when i asked them at the time (that was a couple of years ago).
no idea if they still offer that, but Origin look like they are on a very shoogly peg so best to avoid them anyway.

looking at your use case you really aren't the classic "home user", so it's unlikely you're going to get what you want from those suppliers/packages.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: Chunkers on December 05, 2018, 09:18:01 AM
You could only get a static IP with Sky, at least with FTTC, if you had the Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro package. I do not believe you can order it anymore.

I have a single static IP with them through having that package, had it 6.5 years now!

Your other option is a "prosumer" ISP like AAISP, but they'll blow your budget. I don't know what cheap ISP's offer static IP's, I'm afraid.

No worries, thanks for the reply, I think I'll avoid Sky.  I know you can get fixed IP from BT, Zen and PlusNet so I'll start there

C
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: chenks on December 05, 2018, 10:05:03 AM
are the two lines for redundancy?
if yes then surely you wouldn't want both to be on the same ISP?
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: Chunkers on December 05, 2018, 10:22:07 AM
are the two lines for redundancy?
Not really, I live in a place where the connection speeds are on the low side so I have 2 lines and load balance between them to give better speed.  2 ISP's does have its benefits but not really essential.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: jelv on December 05, 2018, 10:30:00 AM
While you are looking around you should consider putting the line rental with someone like Pulse8 (https://pulse8broadband.co.uk/line-rental - 14.40 per month for a BT line).
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: chenks on December 05, 2018, 10:55:45 AM
Not really, I live in a place where the connection speeds are on the low side so I have 2 lines and load balance between them to give better speed.  2 ISP's does have its benefits but not really essential.

if you're bonding the two lines together then both being on the same ISP would be more advantageous IMO.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: jelv on December 05, 2018, 11:04:12 AM
He said load balancing not bonding!
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: chenks on December 05, 2018, 11:15:16 AM
bond them then  ;D
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: parkdale on December 05, 2018, 03:27:15 PM
John lewis (Plusnet!) will also give you a fixed IP............... but only 12 month contract
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: j0hn on December 05, 2018, 03:49:06 PM
No worries, thanks for the reply, I think I'll avoid Sky. I know you can get fixed IP from BT, Zen and PlusNet so I'll start there

C

News to me.
I'd advise skipping BT if you need a static IP as you may be disappointed.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: highpriest on December 05, 2018, 06:33:45 PM
News to me.
I'd advise skipping BT if you need a static IP as you may be disappointed.

Yep, no static IP on residential products. I believe they are available on Business contracts; not sure if you have to pay extra.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: kitz on December 07, 2018, 05:45:40 PM
Quote
try Zen and PlusNet as they have both been decent but as I am no longer a new customer

Although Zen usually don't... Plusnet will give you a cheaper price if you haggle.   Helps if you can quote what other ISPs are charging. 
They may not exactly price match but you could end up with a price that is worthwhile phoning up for to say "I'm thinking of migrating to xISP can you do anything to match their price?"

For example they may not match Vodafone's offer for existing users, but you may get a decent compromise plus keep your static IP.   
Max seems to have a real knack for doing this and getting some fab deals with them. ;) 
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: Weaver on March 04, 2019, 01:19:50 AM
AA always gives you one static IPv4 for free but if you ask nicely they will give you rather more (https://aastatus.net/2508) for free, even nowadays.
Title: Re: New ISP for second line
Post by: Chunkers on March 19, 2019, 11:43:44 AM
I decided to renew my second line with Zen, they have always offered (me) good service - so I should have 2 x 66 Mb down and 2 x 19 Mb up shortly.

They said they would send me the free router and I am secretly hoping it will be the FritzBox! (https://www.zen.co.uk/small-business/products-solutions/network-connectivity/broadband/routers) they advertise on their website as it must be worth a few bob!

C