Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Broadband Hardware => Topic started by: Jon21 on September 21, 2018, 04:14:05 PM

Title: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: Jon21 on September 21, 2018, 04:14:05 PM
Purchased a Zyxel VMG1312-B10A and I'm pleasantly surprised. I reset the SNR back to 6db a few days ago on my Draytek Vigor 130 as I had previously adjusted it down to 3db. The Zyxel is syncing around 10Mb higher on the downstream and 1Mb more on the upstream at 6dB compared to the Vigor 130. Ping is a bit higher on the TBB monitor (as Ixel suggested would happen).

Draytek:
---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME
   DS Actual Rate          : 64231000 bps   US Actual Rate       : 15669000 bps
   DS Attainable Rate      : 62831336 bps   US Attainable Rate   : 15756195 bps
   DS Path Mode            :        Fast    US Path Mode         :        Fast
   DS Interleave Depth     :        1       US Interleave Depth  :        1
   NE Current Attenuation  :       20 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        5  dB
   DS actual PSD           :     6. 7 dB    US actual PSD        :    12. 9  dB
   NE CRC Count            :      533       FE CRC Count         :     3657
   NE ES Count             :      362       FE  ES Count         :     3480
   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        1
   ITU Version[0]          : b5004946       ITU Version[1]       : 544e0000
   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-06-0D-01-07   [with Vectoring support]
   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0
   Test Mode               : DISABLE
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
   Far Current Attenuation :       27 dB    Far SNR Margin       :        6  dB
   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004946       CO ITU Version[1]    : 544ed086
   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < IFTN >

Zyxel:
VDSL Training Status:   Showtime
                    Mode:   VDSL2 Annex B
            VDSL Profile:   Profile 17a
                G.Vector:   Disable
            Traffic Type:   PTM Mode
             Link Uptime:   0 day: 0 hour: 21 minutes
====================================================================================
       VDSL Port Details       Upstream         Downstream
               Line Rate:     16.790 Mbps       74.174 Mbps
    Actual Net Data Rate:     16.767 Mbps       74.062 Mbps
          Trellis Coding:         ON                ON
              SNR Margin:        6.0 dB            6.2 dB
            Actual Delay:          0 ms              0 ms
          Transmit Power:        6.9 dBm          13.3 dBm
           Receive Power:      -12.1 dBm          -3.4 dBm
              Actual INP:        0.0 symbols       0.0 symbols
       Total Attenuation:        0.0 dB          19.6 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate:     16.721 Mbps       74.070 Mbps
====================================================================================
  VDSL Band Status        U0      U1      U2      U3      U4      D1      D2      D3
  Line Attenuation(dB):    9.0    31.8    47.6     N/A     N/A    14.3    35.9    56.4   
Signal Attenuation(dB):    8.8    31.6    47.5     N/A     N/A    13.4    35.6    56.4   
        SNR Margin(dB):    7.2    6.0    6.0     N/A     N/A    6.3    6.2    6.2   
         TX Power(dBm):   -3.4   -10.2    6.3     N/A     N/A    9.9    7.4    7.4   

Got the 2 cable method setup for accessing the modem. I've put it in bridge mode, turned the wifi off, should the firewall be left on? I'm using a pfSense router. Only things I need to figure out is how do you access the xdslcmd? And then set up DSLStats.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: Jon21 on September 22, 2018, 01:30:22 AM
Got the 2 cable method setup for accessing the modem. I've put it in bridge mode, turned the wifi off, should the firewall be left on? I'm using a pfSense router. Only things I need to figure out is how do you access the xdslcmd? And then set up DSLStats.
Managed to figure out how to access the stats, was using the wrong command. Also managed to get DSLStats working on a Windows PC. Next job will be to put DSLStats on a Raspberry Pi I've had sitting around doing nothing, pretty much since I bought it.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: Weaver on September 22, 2018, 05:22:08 AM
Good stuff Jon. They are really good modems.

The Ďfirewallí option will be doing nothing when the ZyXEL is in modem mode, aka Ďbridge modeí.

I wonder how much higher downstream sync rate you would get if you were to force it the link to do interleave. That is an option on the A & A clueless.aa.net.uk control panel server.

I have a Vigor 130 and I found it a bit slow downstream compared to the aggressive DLink modems I was using. That was using ADSL on an extremely long line though.

The Vigors are very solid in my limited experience. I cannot imagine that ping times will be any different unless for some reason the gods decide to change interleave. After all they do move in mysterious ways.

[Moderator edited to merge posts.]
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on September 22, 2018, 08:10:04 AM
I`ve just purchased one of these off ebay to test against Vigor 130, main concern will be the ping (gamer) but hopefully runs ok, short line on FTTC ECI cab of 530mtrs, got it for £60 off ebay but can`t test for another couple of weeks as in North sea on an oil rig, the Vigor stability is rock solid so hope I find the same and on a plus will be able to access the stats without unplugging my Netgear XR500.   
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: j0hn on September 22, 2018, 11:30:59 AM
I wonder how much higher downstream sync rate you would get if you were to force it the link to do interleave. That is an option on the A & A clueless.aa.net.uk control panel server.
He's on FTTC (VDSL2).

We have absolutely no control over DLM line profiles on FTTC.
OpenReach's implementation of interleaving on FTTC also knocks roughly 10% off the sync speed.

If that option exists on clueless for FTTC then it does nothing.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: Jon21 on September 22, 2018, 01:15:50 PM
I`ve just purchased one of these off ebay to test against Vigor 130, main concern will be the ping (gamer) but hopefully runs ok, short line on FTTC ECI cab of 530mtrs, got it for £60 off ebay but can`t test for another couple of weeks as in North sea on an oil rig, the Vigor stability is rock solid so hope I find the same and on a plus will be able to access the stats without unplugging my Netgear XR500.

Ping has increased but it's only by 1-2ms, so not really noticeable. Shows on the TBB monitor (the red packet loss is caused by me).

(https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/thumb/267cf72268f0c969530ca8635218947bf73b59a7-21-09-2018.png) (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/267cf72268f0c969530ca8635218947bf73b59a7-21-09-2018)
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 01, 2018, 05:38:41 PM
Ping has increased but it's only by 1-2ms, so not really noticeable. Shows on the TBB monitor (the red packet loss is caused by me).

How has it been now you have had it connected for a while..Thanks

[Moderator edited to remove a repeat of the image from above.]
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: Jon21 on October 01, 2018, 08:08:18 PM
How has it been now you have had it connected for a while..Thanks
Itís been totally stable. Certainly comparable to the Vigor 130 stability wise but with the added benefit of a better sync rate and the ability to use DSLStats.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 02, 2018, 05:34:58 PM
Itís been totally stable. Certainly comparable to the Vigor 130 stability wise but with the added benefit of a better sync rate and the ability to use DSLStats.
Thats good , will get mine hooked up in a week when I get home and get rid of 130 if syncs well...thanks
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 12, 2018, 09:14:09 AM
How has it been now you have had it connected for a while..Thanks
Hi Jon,what settings did you use to set it up,Iíve been haveing problems setting it up on bt vdsl2 ,it was preconfigured with AA isp settings which I can delete in the wan but then now need to but new settings in and bridge it,back to the vigor until I sort it,thanks for any info
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: Jon21 on October 12, 2018, 01:25:03 PM
Hi Jon,what settings did you use to set it up,Iíve been haveing problems setting it up on bt vdsl2 ,it was preconfigured with AA isp settings which I can delete in the wan but then now need to but new settings in and bridge it,back to the vigor until I sort it,thanks for any info

I used this guide for putting it into bridge mode: https://kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_bridge.htm.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 12, 2018, 05:41:11 PM
I used this guide for putting it into bridge mode: https://kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_bridge.htm.
Hi thanks for reply,I have that but it will not connect to net ,do I need to input the bt credentials into , as I have to delete AAisp and create a new wan connection
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: j0hn on October 12, 2018, 05:52:04 PM
If you are setting it up in bridge mode you need to use a separate router to handle the PPP session. You enter your credentials on the router.

In bridge mode a modem will only handle the xDSL link to the DSLAM.

If you want to use the Zyxel as a modem and router combined then reset the device and enter your credentials under the WAN Configuration section of the ZyXEL.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: burakkucat on October 12, 2018, 06:11:31 PM
Also, as it is an ex-A&A device, it is strongly recommended that the ROM-D is cleared to remove all trace of the A&A defaults.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 12, 2018, 07:44:01 PM
Also, as it is an ex-A&A device, it is strongly recommended that the ROM-D is cleared to remove all trace of the A&A defaults.
How is that done please,I did notice after a reset AA was back,thanks for your help
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 12, 2018, 07:45:26 PM
If you are setting it up in bridge mode you need to use a separate router to handle the PPP session. You enter your credentials on the router.

In bridge mode a modem will only handle the xDSL link to the DSLAM.

If you want to use the Zyxel as a modem and router combined then reset the device and enter your credentials under the WAN Configuration section of the ZyXEL.
Ok Iíll give that a go as was using auto set up on my netgear xr500.thanks
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: burakkucat on October 12, 2018, 09:26:27 PM
How is that done please,I did notice after a reset AA was back,thanks for your help

First of all, I need you to confirm that it is a ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A.

Assuming that is the case, you will need to obtain the password to the supervisor account. Establish a telnet connection to the device and, once logged in via the admin account, issue a dumpmdm command. That command will output many lines (something in excess of 6500!) and somewhere around line number 140 - 150 will be seen <AdminUserName>supervisor</AdminUserName> followed, on the next line, by <AdminPassword>xxxxxxxx</AdminPassword>. Make a note of the eight hexadecimal digits (where I have shown xxxxxxxx), for that is your supervisor password.

Login to the supervisor account and go to the Maintenance > Configuration page. Select the ROM-D tab and then left-click on the Clean button. The deed is now done.  :)
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 13, 2018, 04:53:33 PM
Thanks 🙏
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 15, 2018, 09:05:02 AM
First of all, I need you to confirm that it is a ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A.

Assuming that is the case, you will need to obtain the password to the supervisor account. Establish a telnet connection to the device and, once logged in via the admin account, issue a dumpmdm command. That command will output many lines (something in excess of 6500!) and somewhere around line number 140 - 150 will be seen <AdminUserName>supervisor</AdminUserName> followed, on the next line, by <AdminPassword>xxxxxxxx</AdminPassword>. Make a note of the eight hexadecimal digits (where I have shown xxxxxxxx), for that is your supervisor password.

Login to the supervisor account and go to the Maintenance > Configuration page. Select the ROM-D tab and then left-click on the Clean button. The deed is now done.  :)
Thanks to you both for your help. I managed to get this done and the modem cleaned last and all is well,one the reasons I wanted this was for line stats, the line used to sync higher so not sure why its gone down, wondering how hard it would be to get BT to do a line reset

  VDSL Training Status:   Showtime
                    Mode:   VDSL2 Annex B
            VDSL Profile:   Profile 17a
                G.Vector:   Disable
            Traffic Type:   PTM Mode
             Link Uptime:   0 day: 7 hours: 31 minutes
====================================================================================
       VDSL Port Details       Upstream         Downstream
               Line Rate:     20.202 Mbps       74.620 Mbps
    Actual Net Data Rate:     20.000 Mbps       74.507 Mbps
          Trellis Coding:         ON                ON
              SNR Margin:        6.9 dB            6.3 dB
            Actual Delay:          0 ms              0 ms
          Transmit Power:      - 8.4 dBm         - 8.4 dBm
           Receive Power:      -12.6 dBm           6.0 dBm
              Actual INP:        0.0 symbols       0.0 symbols
       Total Attenuation:        0.0 dB           9.2 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate:     24.194 Mbps       74.511 Mbps
====================================================================================
  VDSL Band Status        U0      U1      U2      U3      U4      D1      D2      D3
  Line Attenuation(dB):    0.1    9.1    14.0     N/A     N/A    4.9    11.0    19.2   
Signal Attenuation(dB):    0.1    9.0    14.1     N/A     N/A    4.8    10.9    19.1   
        SNR Margin(dB):    7.4    6.8    6.9     N/A     N/A    6.4    6.3    6.2   
         TX Power(dBm):   -12.8   -51.0   -10.5     N/A     N/A    10.3    7.4    7.5   
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: dee.jay on October 16, 2018, 08:08:17 AM
You do have a (small) amount of overhead in the SNR seeing as it's almost 7dB. I'd give it a few days and see what happens first.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 16, 2018, 09:29:41 AM
You do have a (small) amount of overhead in the SNR seeing as it's almost 7dB. I'd give it a few days and see what happens first.
Thanks for that info
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: j0hn on October 16, 2018, 01:54:33 PM
You do have a (small) amount of overhead in the SNR seeing as it's almost 7dB. I'd give it a few days and see what happens first.

That's the upstream. The overhead is because they are at the max 20Mb.

Downstream is at 6.3dB.
Broadcom modems tend to use 6.3dB for a 6dB target SNRM so there is absolutely no overhead.

You won't sync any higher with the current line conditions and a DLM reset wouldn't help.

Anything lost was probably due to crosstalk.
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: dee.jay on October 16, 2018, 06:21:20 PM
I do apologise, j0hn is absolutely correct - I must have had the columns the wrong way around as I was looking at it. :-X
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: sharpz44 on October 17, 2018, 08:58:16 AM
That's the upstream. The overhead is because they are at the max 20Mb.

Downstream is at 6.3dB.
Broadcom modems tend to use 6.3dB for a 6dB target SNRM so there is absolutely no overhead.

You won't sync any higher with the current line conditions and a DLM reset wouldn't help.

Anything lost was probably due to crosstalk.
Ok cheers,guess I will have to live with it then,bit annoying really but nether mind at least it works,the vigor 130 was syncing at 77 ,just going to leave it for sometime as donít want the DLM messing up due to disconnects ,thanks
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: ian@pykefield.co.uk on December 13, 2018, 10:01:44 AM
I canít find how to set the SNR Margin.  How did you do it?
Thanks, in anticipation.

Ian
Title: Re: A Satisfied ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User
Post by: j0hn on December 13, 2018, 12:41:27 PM
I canít find how to set the SNR Margin.  How did you do it?
Thanks, in anticipation.

Ian

With ADSL or FTTC?
You can't set the target SNRM with Broadcom based modems on FTTC (VDSL2).

You can only do this on ADSL* services and there's nothing in the Zyxel menus for this.
It needs set via telnet commands.
Alternatively you can install DslStats and use the menus on that to set this.