Kitz Forum

Internet => Web Hosting & Web Design => Topic started by: TomT on October 13, 2018, 10:04:11 AM

Title: subdomain hosting.
Post by: TomT on October 13, 2018, 10:04:11 AM
Hi
Possibly a random question, but can anyone recommend someone to host a subdomain ?

I have a domain that is working well, but has limited storage.
I'd like to host a subdomain with another provider but just for file hosting, I don't need mysql, PHP etc I just want to upload files and give the URLs to clients.

I'd need around 15/20gb at the most.. any recommendations ?

I had thought about a local web server running from a PI but that means opening access into my LAN and I don't really like that idea.

Thanks

Title: Re: subdomain hosting.
Post by: jelv on October 13, 2018, 10:22:51 AM
Couldn't you put the files on something like dropbox?
Title: Re: subdomain hosting.
Post by: g3uiss on October 13, 2018, 10:59:09 AM
Hi
Possibly a random question, but can anyone recommend someone to host a subdomain ?

I have a domain that is working well, but has limited storage.
I'd like to host a subdomain with another provider but just for file hosting, I don't need mysql, PHP etc I just want to upload files and give the URLs to clients.

I'd need around 15/20gb at the most.. any recommendations ?

I had thought about a local web server running from a PI but that means opening access into my LAN and I don't really like that idea.

Thanks

Most hosting companies allow sub domains. However they are just a shared resource. Iím sure you could also use password protected directories for you individual clients on the main domain.
Title: Re: subdomain hosting.
Post by: Westie on October 13, 2018, 11:43:38 AM
I had thought about a local web server running from a PI but that means opening access into my LAN and I don't really like that idea.
Could you create a separate VLAN with your router and put a host on that, with access to the internet, but isolated from the rest of your LAN?
Title: Re: subdomain hosting.
Post by: TomT on October 13, 2018, 11:18:57 PM
Thanks for the replies.

I could do this with my current host but increasing the storage space is costly.
I don't want to use Dropbox or similar as I want the URL to include the subdomain.

Using vlans may be possible, I'll look into it.. either that or see if there are any other providers who will host the subdomain.

Thanks
Title: Re: subdomain hosting.
Post by: d2d4j on October 13, 2018, 11:34:40 PM
Hi tomt

Any provider will host any domain/subdomain subject to T&Cs

We offer a kitz user service or chrysalis offer free

You could of course DMZ from firewall

Many thanks

John