Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Known Network Issues + MSO's => Topic started by: banger on August 14, 2018, 11:17:48 PM

Title: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 14, 2018, 11:17:48 PM
TTB are upgrading their routers tomorrow in a 5 hour slot usually starting at 12am affecting many exchanges so anyone on TTB lines may see outages tomorrow.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on August 14, 2018, 11:24:13 PM
What do you understand 12am to mean?  :-\

Using the 24 hour clock, I would understand that to be 0000 hours. At the time of this post, that is 36 minutes from now.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: johnson on August 14, 2018, 11:51:35 PM
Its hard to make sense of it, and this is the first time I've looked but:

https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status/

Doesn't appear to show any network wide events at either 12am this evening or tomorrow  ???
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 15, 2018, 12:03:59 AM
My bad this may just affect Uno but as there is a list of a lot of exchanges I would think it affects other ISPs. Work is due to start Thursday 16 August at 1am or 0100 not 0000.

This is shown as Edge Device software upgrade at Sheffield on Johnson's link.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on August 15, 2018, 12:53:05 AM
Ah, yes, I see the entries.

Quote from: TTB
Edge device software upgrade at Sheffield (RFC 68052)        Ethernet, EoFTTC & EFM via TalkTalk           n/a        16th Aug 2018 01:00
Edge device software upgrade at Sheffield (RFC 68054)        Ethernet, EoFTTC & EFM via TalkTalk           n/a        16th Aug 2018 01:00
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: j0hn on August 15, 2018, 02:15:50 PM
Quote
Edge device software upgrade at Sheffield (RFC 68052)        Ethernet, EoFTTC & EFM via TalkTalk           n/a        16th Aug 2018 01:00

None of which cover standard FTTC connections, unless Talktalk are just choosing to be ridiculously selective on how they quote affected services.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 16, 2018, 09:42:28 PM
Well I didn't notice any outages during the window.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on August 16, 2018, 10:04:09 PM
As j0hn pointed out, "Ethernet, EoFTTC & EFM" has no relevance to consumer FTTC services.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 16, 2018, 10:12:50 PM
And as if by magic tonight, high latency, packet loss and low throughput on my TTB line. Emailed Uno and got a reply straight away saying looks like a broken fibre.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on August 16, 2018, 10:40:45 PM
It would be interesting to know where that broken fibre is located . . . if Uno are themselves are told.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 16, 2018, 11:59:59 PM
Have asked the question.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 17, 2018, 12:19:09 AM
According to my tests this has been sorted, although it is still on the Uno status page as an outage. Could be that Uno has re-routed traffic around the broken cable. Apparently it was emergency cable work but TTB didn't give any notice.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on August 17, 2018, 12:42:08 AM
Ah, I see. Thank you for asking and for your update.  :)

I'm sure that Uno would have re-routed any traffic as soon as they became aware of the problem.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 17, 2018, 12:57:47 AM
According to Uno's quality monitor it appears to have been fixed/re-routed around 12am.

(https://preview.ibb.co/ivAnNe/Capture.png)
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on August 19, 2018, 03:14:44 AM
Been monitoring that TTB Network Status page linked to by Johnson and I think it is not that useful. Too many planned operations, no open incidents. Bit of a minefield.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: johnson on August 19, 2018, 04:19:19 AM
I agree, its pretty much indecipherable.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on August 19, 2018, 10:39:05 AM
All it does is to give a "warm and fuzzy" feeling to those persons who attempt to read it and are "taken in" by the logic that "TTB are doing something (because they have written about it)".  ::)  :-X
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: Jon21 on October 02, 2018, 02:00:37 AM
How accurate are these notifications of planned works? Just lost the WAN connection for 50mins or so. Modem was still in sync. Tried rebooting everything but WAN was still down. Only thing I can find is this: https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status-report.php?reportid=19428

Covers the exchange Iím on, yet doesnít seem to mention FTTC specifically in the notice. But does say DSL via TalkTalk on the main page: https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status/
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on October 02, 2018, 02:20:56 AM
How accurate are these notifications of planned works? Just lost the WAN connection for 50mins or so. Modem was still in sync. Tried rebooting everything but WAN was still down. Only thing I can find is this: https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status-report.php?reportid=19428

Hmm . . . I see it says --

"Affected services
Ethernet and EFM via TalkTalk"


-- which should not impact upon FTTC services, as far as I am aware.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: Jon21 on October 02, 2018, 02:28:14 AM
Hmm . . . I see it says --

"Affected services
Ethernet and EFM via TalkTalk"


-- which should not impact upon FTTC services, as far as I am aware.
Thanks, perhaps it was just coincidence. Went down at 1am.
(https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/thumb/a91f59b12996fe7b36bb690612e61e9e17185443-02-10-2018.png) (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/a91f59b12996fe7b36bb690612e61e9e17185443-02-10-2018)
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on October 02, 2018, 02:35:41 AM
1AM - 6AM is TTB maintenance window. From what you describe it sounds like a router firmware upgrade based on downtime. I have noticed that the Network Status report arent always that accurate.

AAISP do tend to post notices on twitter about outages around 1am nothing there today.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: jelv on October 02, 2018, 08:47:30 AM
No drop on my AAISP line overnight.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: dee.jay on October 02, 2018, 09:11:13 AM
Same here.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: Jon21 on October 03, 2018, 01:25:57 AM
Hmm, well this is odd. Have lost the WAN connection again just after 1am. Modem is still in sync but getting absolutely zero throughput.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on October 03, 2018, 02:35:02 AM
Has it come back up yet?
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: Jon21 on October 03, 2018, 03:07:30 AM
Itís still down at the moment. Have tried restarting the router but hasnít helped. Log in the A&A control panel is showing ďlost carrierĒ at 1:05am. Just composing an email to send to support to see if they can see anything.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: banger on October 03, 2018, 04:59:17 AM
AAISP are usually pretty good be nice if you could update as I sometimes get 1am outages on TTB but since I changed my router settings I have 16 days uptime on PPP.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: Jon21 on October 03, 2018, 10:05:29 AM
Looks as though a couple of PSTN tests have been done by support. Both entries are showing this or similar wording.

WLR3Test WLR3_CIDT_Test hws00556dat02:133362221: Fail Fault - No Dial tone(Line Test OK) ServiceLevel:1, MainFaultLocation:EX, FaultReportAdvised:Y, AppointmentRequired:N, LineStability:, NetworkStability:, StabilityStatement:

Edit: If mods wish, I could start a new thread as this isnít strictly related to the thread title.

Edit 2: So, I'm feeling a bit stupid. Had an email from support asking to try another router, which I did, a Asus. This connected fine. I've since factory defaulted the Pfsense router and restored a config and this is now also connecting ok. I'm not sure why it's suddenly started to drop the connection though. Hopefully be ok now.
Title: Re: TTB Router upgrade
Post by: burakkucat on October 03, 2018, 06:34:31 PM
Edit: If mods wish, I could start a new thread as this isnít strictly related to the thread title.

For this case, I don't think it will be necessary (but thank you for offering to do so) . . . as you have already discovered the problem and implemented a solution.