Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Router Monitoring Software => Topic started by: chenks on May 31, 2018, 02:26:01 PM

Title: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on May 31, 2018, 02:26:01 PM
i've installed DSLStats (windows version - on Windows10 Por 64bit).
i've also installed the webgui from kitz.

all running, and it's providing the various stats.
couple of questions.

- does running this have any impact on the connection etc?
- if not, can it be run as a service on windows?
- in the "line health" section in the WEBGUI it's not showing anything for QLN or Hlog even though i've enabled that, just showing the missing image icon.
- i have nginx running on the windows system (for access to my other services from the internet - sabnzbd, sonarr etc etc), can i do the same with the dslstats webgui?
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: Weaver on May 31, 2018, 02:41:21 PM
chenks- I remembered a tool that would wrap any executable so that it could be run as a Windows service process. I found SRVANY - see https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/137890/how-to-create-a-user-defined-service
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: roseway on May 31, 2018, 03:31:57 PM
@chenks:

Quote
does running this have any impact on the connection etc?

There's no direct impact on the connection. DSLstats collects data from the modem by telnet, and most modems take this in their stride. But several models only allow a single telnet access at any one time, so if you want to access the modem by telnet for some other purpose while DSLstats is running, this can cause a conflict.

Quote
can it be run as a service on windows?

I can't help with this, but as it's a full GUI program I'm rather dubious.

Quote
in the "line health" section or the GUI it's now showing anything for QLN or Hlog even though i've enabled that, just showing the missing image icon.

Maybe I'm being dense, but I'm afraid I don't understand this question. Are you referring to the modem's own GUI?

Quote
i have nginx running on the windows system (for access to my other services from the internet - sabnzbd, sonarr etc etc), can i do the same with the dslstats webgui?

Sorry, but I'm not a Windows user and I don't know what nginx is. Maybe someone else reading this can help.

Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: Weaver on May 31, 2018, 03:46:29 PM
A service process is the equivalent of a daemon in *nix, if that helps. Services are started on started or shortly afterwards, there is a tool that manages them all. They run under some account or other and their lifetime is nothing to do with any particular user logging in and logging out, so if you log out the service, which you did not start, carries on running. It's been a very long time indeed, so I do hope I remember this correctly. there is a full account at
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_service

A service has certain responsibilities - it is supposed to list out for control messages 9notifications or instructions) from the service control manager and respond accordingly.

Since Vista, some executables may fail if run as services because of new (not very new now) security restrictions on the type of operations that a service is allowed to perform. I donít know if such restrictions ocan be fixed with appropriate configuration though.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on May 31, 2018, 03:50:41 PM
Maybe I'm being dense, but I'm afraid I don't understand this question. Are you referring to the modem's own GUI?

i corrected the typos in my original post.
i enabled QLN and Hlog in dslstats webserver settings, however in the webgui those two options show the broken link so are not visible.

Sorry, but I'm not a Windows user and I don't know what nginx is. Maybe someone else reading this can help.

nginx is very common in the unix world too (probably more common there than in windows).
nginx is essentially a reverse proxy.
it allows you to only have 1 port open on your webserver (say port 80) and then re-route all traffic to local services on other ports.

so if sabnzbd is running on port 1234 locally you can route the traffic from 80 on the WAN side to 1234 on the local side and have the service available on the WAN side.

eg www.blah.com/sab will reverse proxy thru to 127.0.0.1:1234
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: g3uiss on May 31, 2018, 06:42:03 PM
Unfortunately you canít run a full GUI program as a service reliably. If the main purpose is to start it with windows, create a schedule task to run the dslstats.exe at logon.

Or use group policy to start the program, (although Iím not sure if that option only applies to Servers).

Tony
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: roseway on May 31, 2018, 06:47:07 PM
@chenks: I knew I'd heard of nginx, but it's not something I've ever used or thought about.

Regarding the webserver, QLN and HLog aren't explicitly included in the options, so I assume you've ticked the option "All active graphs"? I'll look into this, but I'll shortly be uploading a new test version, so this will have to wait until later.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on May 31, 2018, 07:02:06 PM
this is my settings

(https://image.ibb.co/kTxQky/Capture.jpg)

(https://image.ibb.co/eaXaky/Capture.jpg)
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: Weaver on May 31, 2018, 07:14:12 PM
I've never tried to do that with group policy. Something new to me. Group policy works on Pro systems not just servers but not one crappy Home systems, where it is nobbled intentionally.

The scheduled task thing is an excellent idea. It would presumably quit when you log out though. If you can set up the service thing successfully, and that is indeed an Ďifí, then that is the way to go.

If all else fails, could always consider running it in a VM, and inside the VM just have it auto-start when the VM boots, then it only remains to choose a convenient way of starting up the VM instance itself. I only suggest this kludge because it might be a way of getting round the service hardening thing, restrictions on the types of operations allowed. But then we have the same question about the VM executable and whether it is service-friendly. This is a nasty plan.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: roseway on May 31, 2018, 07:19:40 PM
@chenks: I understand your settings now. The QLN and HLog graphs should be seen in DSLstats, but they won't show in the webserver because I haven't yet provided that option.

So I'm afraid I'm still struggling to understand what you mean by:

Quote
i enabled QLN and Hlog in dslstats webserver settings, however in the webgui those two options show the broken link so are not visible.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on May 31, 2018, 07:36:20 PM
rememeber that i'm using the kitz webgui.
but for some reason, they are now working - not sure why as i haven't changed any settings.

(https://image.ibb.co/eN5pCd/Capture.jpg)
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: g3uiss on May 31, 2018, 11:04:33 PM
@chenks: I understand your settings now. The QLN and HLog graphs should be seen in DSLstats, but they won't show in the webserver because I haven't yet provided that option.

So I'm afraid I'm still struggling to understand what you mean by:

I think you can set the task to run if user is logged out on the last TAB, not tried that. Also useful to ensure the task runs indefinitely. The Group Policy has always been the best for me as itís independant of a logon and will start a GUI as if it were a service.

Tony
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on June 03, 2018, 08:54:58 PM
got it working and logging everything that can be enabled.
http://chenks.ddns.net/dslstats/

how do my line stats look ?
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: burakkucat on June 03, 2018, 09:22:10 PM
got it working and logging everything that can be enabled.
http://chenks.ddns.net/

how do my line stats look ?

Nothing "jumps out at me" as an obvious defect, so I'll just say that all looks well.  ;)

In terms of configurations, a profile 17a, G.993.2, service uses a total of 4096 sub-carriers. Your "Bit Loading", "QLN" & "Hlog" plots are all truncated at sub-carrier 800 so we cannot see the "full picture".
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on June 03, 2018, 09:23:33 PM
Should I adjust any settings to sort that?
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: burakkucat on June 03, 2018, 09:33:16 PM
In DSLstats, those three plots have a configuration option in the bottom margin. Set it to "Custom" (I think that is the correct description) and move the slider until you have, at least, sub-carrier number 4095 visible.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on June 03, 2018, 09:45:16 PM
i assume you mean in the "change tone range" option?
i've expanded it to up to 4400 for qln, hlog and bits.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: burakkucat on June 03, 2018, 10:52:17 PM
i assume you mean in the "change tone range" option?
i've expanded it to up to 4400 for qln, hlog and bits.

Yes, that's it.  :)

So there is a very slight "wobble" in the Hlog plot (nothing is ever perfect), the QLN plot hints at a degree of cross-talk and the Bit Loading is quite acceptable. From the degree of DS power cut-back visible in the latter plot, we can deduce that the cabinet is a significant distance from the telephony serving exchange. Nothing you can change or influence . . . so accept the current as "the normal baseline" and be aware if there is a significant deviation away from the normal, for that is when you should consider if there is a degradation in the service.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: chenks on June 03, 2018, 10:57:52 PM
I wouldn't say significant distance but not a stone's throw away either. But with fttc distance shouldn't be an issue anyway?
In terms of cabinet distance, I could hit it with stone from the bedroom window. And the pole is in the back garden.
Title: Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
Post by: burakkucat on June 03, 2018, 11:42:09 PM
Let me explain . . .

The DS power cut-back, applied to the DSLAM output, is related to the length of the E-side cable from the telephony serving exchange. The sole purpose is to reduce the power output by the DSLAM on G.993.2 (VDSL2) circuits to be equivalent to the power, measured within the PCP on the D-side cable, of ADSL2+ circuits which have originated from the telephony serving exchange equipment. In other words, the measured power at ADLS2+ frequencies in the D-side cable of both ADSL2+ and VDSL2 circuits are equal. Hence the latter does not "drown out" the former.