Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Router Monitoring Software => Topic started by: roseway on April 28, 2018, 07:29:13 PM

Title: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 28, 2018, 07:29:13 PM
This version fixes the issues arising from v6.5, and also adds the capability to regularly upload the webserver files to a remote site of the user's choosing. This and the data store upload can now use TLS/SSL if the server supports it.

The webserver upload simply uploads all the files in the webserver directory after each sample. The setting up of this capability is in a new tab called "WS Upload" in the Configuration section. It should be considered experimental at this stage, because I would like feedback regarding its settings and performance.

Full list of changes since v6.5:
http://dslstats.me.uk/downloads.html (http://dslstats.me.uk/downloads.html)
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: burakkucat on April 28, 2018, 09:37:33 PM
I have downloaded the Linux 64-bit version and, on adjusting the configuration, I see one inconsistency (which may not be new, it is quite possible that I have not noticed it before now).

My testing is with a G.992.3 (ADSL2) service.

Configuration ---> Items to Monitor.

Under the "pbParams (VDSL2 only)" heading, the "SNRM per band" option is correctly "greyed-out".

Configuration ---> Webserver.

Under the "Items to include (snapshots + html pages)" heading, the "SNRM per band" option is, again, correctly "greyed-out".

Configuration ---> Snapshots.

Under the "Autosave graphs:" heading, the "SNRM per band" option is incorrectly available for selection.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 28, 2018, 10:34:27 PM
I suspect that's been there for some time, but thanks for pointing it out. It will be fixed.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: burakkucat on April 29, 2018, 04:31:51 PM
I have now attempted to use the ftp upload to external site functionality.

Configuration ---> WS Upload Tab.

The "Upload webserver files to online service" box was ticked. The "Upload URL:", "Upload directory:", "Username:" and "Password:" boxes were populated. The default ftp port of 21 and "Auto TLS" settings were not modified.

Upon left-clicking on the "Test" button the DSLstats process completely hung. Waiting did not have any effect; the process had to be killed.

Another attempt was tried, this time with "Full SSL" selected. The end result was identical to the above. The DSLstats process completely hung and had to be killed.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 29, 2018, 04:49:57 PM
Does the FTP server which you configured support access on port 21?
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: burakkucat on April 29, 2018, 05:03:21 PM
Does the FTP server which you configured support access on port 21?

Yes. It's a perfectly normal, default, system. Example --

[Duo2 tmp]$ ftp -n xxxxxxx.xxx
Connected to xxxxxxx.xxx (WWW.XXX.YYY.ZZZ).
220---------- Welcome to Pure-FTPd [privsep] [TLS] ----------
220-You are user number 6 of 1000 allowed.
220-Local time is now 09:54. Server port: 21.
220-This is a private system - No anonymous login
220-IPv6 connections are also welcome on this server.
220 You will be disconnected after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Remote system type is UNIX.
Using binary mode to transfer files.
ftp> user bcat
331 User bcat OK. Password required
Password:
230 OK. Current restricted directory is /
ftp> dir
227 Entering Passive Mode (WWW,XXX,YYY,ZZZ,AAA,BBB)
150 Accepted data connection
drwxr-xr-x    5 bcat   bcat         4096 Apr 29 06:00 .
drwxr-xr-x    5 bcat   bcat         4096 Apr 29 06:00 ..
drwxr-xr-x    2 bcat   bcat         4096 Apr 29 06:00 DSLstats
226-Options: -a -l
226 3 matches total
ftp> 221-Goodbye. You uploaded 0 and downloaded 0 kbytes.
221 Logout.
[Duo2 tmp]$
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 29, 2018, 06:44:31 PM
That's rather thrown me, because it works fine here. The only difference (I think) is that the server you're using apparently expects TLS whereas mine uses plain FTP. If that's the issue, then it would seem that auto TLS isn't working. Thinking cap time...
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: burakkucat on April 29, 2018, 06:53:59 PM
Please don't spend an excessive time on this when you only have my report.

Perhaps wait for other members to try and then post their findings?
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 30, 2018, 11:37:26 AM
One thing that's occurred to me is that libssl needs to be installed on a Linux system. If it isn't installed, this might explain the problem (although of course it still shouldn't hang).
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on April 30, 2018, 03:46:40 PM
   
  • fixed incorrect band allocation when U0 is unused

Is that a fix for the blue graphs I have on my line? Will test this out once I'm home.

Thank you for your continuing efforts.  :)
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 30, 2018, 03:59:00 PM
Yes, that should be the case, but of course do let me know if it still isn't right.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: burakkucat on April 30, 2018, 05:45:40 PM
One thing that's occurred to me is that libssl needs to be installed on a Linux system. If it isn't installed, this might explain the problem (although of course it still shouldn't hang).

I've checked what packages are currently installed and which files, from the installed packages, that provided a match on the string "libssl". This is what I see --

Code: [Select]
[Duo2 ~]# rpm -q openssl openssl-devel
openssl-1.0.1e-57.el6.x86_64
openssl-devel-1.0.1e-57.el6.x86_64
[Duo2 ~]# rpm -ql openssl openssl-devel | sort | grep libssl
/usr/lib64/libssl.so
/usr/lib64/libssl.so.10
/usr/lib64/libssl.so.1.0.1e
/usr/lib64/.libssl.so.1.0.1e.hmac
/usr/lib64/.libssl.so.10.hmac
/usr/lib64/pkgconfig/libssl.pc
[Duo2 ~]#
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 30, 2018, 06:33:18 PM
OK, thanks, that theory bites the dust.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on April 30, 2018, 10:15:44 PM
I am getting the following error on both my Win10 box and my RPiZeroW.

Any ideas?
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 30, 2018, 10:37:09 PM
In what circumstances does that error appear?
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on April 30, 2018, 10:37:59 PM
On startup.

Edit, pressing OK all that seems to work is the telnet window.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on April 30, 2018, 10:50:50 PM
I'll come back to you when I've had a think.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on April 30, 2018, 10:52:03 PM
No worries, if you need anything from me that might help let me know. Thank you.  :)

Edit, to confirm 6.5 doesn't have this issue.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: skyeci on April 30, 2018, 10:56:37 PM
I am getting the following error on both my Win10 box and my RPiZeroW.

Any ideas?

Just to say I am not seeing this error on my win 10 box. 6.5.2 has been running fine.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on May 01, 2018, 09:13:15 AM
Hmmm, Odd.

Just a thought and I doubt it makes any difference, but I did install (via Windows Update) the new Win10 April feature update last night before upgrading DSLStats.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 01, 2018, 10:20:06 AM
Several people are using it with no problems, so the question is what's different about your system or configuration? I don't doubt that it's a bug in DSLstats v6.5.2, but at the moment I can't reproduce it. I rather doubt that it's related to Windows Update.

I'm away for the rest of the day, so I won't be able to pursue this before tomorrow.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on May 01, 2018, 10:40:32 AM
I'm not sure what could be different here, My setup isn't anything unique. Connection kit as per my sig.

I'm just looking though my PC's DSL Stats config and to be honest I've not changed much. I'm not using the webserver, datastore, snapshots or the traffic monitoring. The only real change is the snapshots dir is on a different hard drive within the machine.

The RPi's setup is default.

Just tried a fresh config, no different.
Is also pops up with the same message each time it try's to sample, not just on startup.

Don't worry too much Roseway, If its just me then it mush be something on my end. I just can't figure what...  :hmm:

I'll have another look when I'm back home, there's only so much I can do remotely.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 02, 2018, 04:34:35 PM
I'm fairly sure that I know the reason now, although I have yet to fix it. It relates to the changes I made to deal with your blue bitloading graph. I made some changes to the way pbParams is parsed, and I must have inadvertently introduced a bug in doing so. You may be the only person affected because band U0 is unused on your connection.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on May 02, 2018, 04:37:32 PM
Lucky me! :D

No worries, if you need me to test anything let me know and I can report back.

I know its a bit off topic, but why isn't my band U0 used? Is it because its not needed?

Cheers Roseway.  :thumbs:
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: g3uiss on May 02, 2018, 10:46:27 PM
Hi Eric

Something extremely minor, and in previous version is concerning, the option to hide the graph legend. If you hide the legend on the SES graph it loses the setting on a restart. All other graphs retain their setting. Not going to hurt anyone, just thought Iíd mention it.

Thanks for the development

Tony
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 02, 2018, 10:56:23 PM
Thanks, it will be fixed in the next release.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 03, 2018, 07:38:00 AM
Lucky me! :D

No worries, if you need me to test anything let me know and I can report back.

I know its a bit off topic, but why isn't my band U0 used? Is it because its not needed?

Cheers Roseway.  :thumbs:

I don't know why U0 isn't used, but as you have a short line with plenty of margin to spare, it may be to reduce your impact on local ADSL users.

I hope I've now fixed the pbParams parsing problem. You can download version 6.5.3 for Windows here: http://dslstats.me.uk/files/dslstats32W-6.5.3.zip .
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on May 03, 2018, 09:54:25 AM
I shall test it tonight and report back, many thanks for the update.  :)
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.3
Post by: jelv on May 03, 2018, 10:10:34 PM
This error occurs on 6.5.0 and 6.5.3.

On Win 10 with no network connection (e.g. pull out Ethernet cable and no WiFI or disable Ethernet) starting DSL stats gives attached error.

My data store and location of webserver files are both using a UNC path to a directory on my NAS box.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 03, 2018, 10:38:06 PM
I didn't cater for the possibility that the saved path doesn't exist at startup. This will be fixed in the next release.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: V_R on May 03, 2018, 11:14:03 PM
I don't know why U0 isn't used, but as you have a short line with plenty of margin to spare, it may be to reduce your impact on local ADSL users.

I hope I've now fixed the pbParams parsing problem. You can download version 6.5.3 for Windows here: http://dslstats.me.uk/files/dslstats32W-6.5.3.zip .

I can confirm no blue graphs and no error messages here with 6.5.3.  :thumbs:

Here's the pbParams from 6.5.3 if you're interested.

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 1
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 37157 Kbps, Downstream rate = 103764 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79999 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3959)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3959)
  VDSL Port Details   Upstream   Downstream
Attainable Net Data Rate:     37157 kbps    103764 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power:        4.4 dBm      13.5 dBm
====================================================================================
  VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2 U3 U4 D1 D2 D3
  Line Attenuation(dB): 5.6 17.3 24.6 N/A N/A 9.2 20.4 31.2
Signal Attenuation(dB): N/A 16.8 24.0 N/A N/A 11.5 20.2 31.2
        SNR Margin(dB): N/A 17.2 17.1 N/A N/A 12.6 12.6 12.6
         TX Power(dBm): N/A -26.5 4.4 N/A N/A 10.6 7.9 6.9
#

Thank you for fixing it and sorry for being a pain in the ass!  :-[
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 04, 2018, 06:40:22 AM
Thank you for confirming that (and you certainly weren't a pain in the ass :) ).
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: g3uiss on May 04, 2018, 08:22:19 PM
Stuart

Iím using secure FTP on my web server using port 990. Iím get the DSLstats going into non responsive mode, as reported previously. Is there a work round for using port 990 being the issue I suspect ?

Tony
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 04, 2018, 10:37:29 PM
I have a problem with secure FTP at the moment, because the FTP library I'm using in DSLstats doesn't seem to work as intended. I don't have a solution at present, but I'm working on it.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: g3uiss on May 04, 2018, 10:51:55 PM
Ok. Thanks. Glad itís not me.

I will look out for the solution at some future date

Tony
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: Chrysalis on May 05, 2018, 01:54:24 AM
Yeah I am hoping eric can get sftp working, the problem with ftp is it needs to do half a dozen commands between each file which slows it significantly even on low latency fast path, and on top of that proftpd seems problematic when using TLS on data channels. sftp is significantly better for uploading webserver files.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 17, 2018, 03:28:54 PM
I'm happy to say that I've now got SFTP uploading working, using curl. I've tested it on Windows and Linux, and the Windows version is currently uploading all the webserver files to a folder 'test' on my team-rebellion space.
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: Chrysalis on May 17, 2018, 03:47:30 PM
excellent news :)
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: tiffy on May 17, 2018, 03:55:44 PM
Very good news Eric, well done.

I take it there will be a general program revision released (Win & RPi) incorporating the update at some stage ?
Title: Re: DSLstats pre-release version 6.5.2
Post by: roseway on May 17, 2018, 04:21:54 PM
Yes, I've got one more data store issue to deal with, which (I hope) should be straightforward, then I'll be releasing it.