Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => ISPs => Topic started by: adslmax on December 04, 2017, 08:04:39 PM

Title: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 04, 2017, 08:04:39 PM
I am now back with virgin media cable (broadband standalone) the Telford virgin media shop was nice lady that offering me a great deal. 12 months contract with VIVID200 for 27 a month (after that will revert to 37 a month) with one off activation fee 20. But Hub 3 is free of charge and take home straight away and plug all it in and call activation team to activated my Hub 3 mac address with my virgin media account number and all connected well with 221/12. Happy overall with it.

Will going to cease plusnet fttc with line only as my contract with plusnet is now ended. Openreach charged me 30 for a cease on the line or maybe I downgrade it to ADSL2+ for back up only.

Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: burakkucat on December 04, 2017, 08:50:30 PM
As I understand it, sometime in the past, you previously had a VM connection. Is that correct?  :-\

If your contact with Plusnet is now expired, surely you just let them know that you no longer require their service. I don't think you need to formally "cease" anything . . . as it might be regarded as a signal to charge a cease fee.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 04, 2017, 09:22:04 PM
Yes I use to have virgin media cable before back in 2014 (this was the last time I ever use it before switch over to plusnet for fttc)
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: NewtronStar on December 04, 2017, 09:51:33 PM
Why did you move away from Virgin Media in 2014 ?
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 04, 2017, 09:55:14 PM
Because it was bad congestion area that time in 2014 but was told Telford area is no congestion area now.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 04, 2017, 10:04:26 PM
He needs to advise PN he no longer needs  broadband. Cease fee will still apply.  Its an Openreach charge for removing DSL from the line so no escaping it

Not even sure if there's a downgrade fee or whether that will still attract some sort of cease and re-provide as I cant see anything in the Openreach documents for a migration path from VDSL to ADSL.  I seem to recall that to get it free then the vdsl speeds had to have no improvement from adsl.. but dont quote me on that.   Best asking Plusnet.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 04, 2017, 10:28:26 PM
@kitz am I correct cease fttc on the line 30 and cease phone line only (telephone) will be 30 mean total to pay 60 to Openreach?
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 04, 2017, 10:52:54 PM
afaik theres no charge putting a stop on the phone line as long as you give notice of either 30 or 14 days (cant recall the term of the top of my head)
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 04, 2017, 11:38:43 PM
Max are you doing loads of speed tests and using up all the bandwidth?  :o

Quote
Problems detected at Virgin Media (https://istheservicedown.co.uk/status/virgin-media/telford-telford-and-wrekin-england-united-kingdom)

Virgin Media in Telford, Telford and Wrekin, England problems in the last 24 hours
December 04: Problems at Virgin Media
Virgin Media is having issues since 05:30 PM GMT.

 
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 04, 2017, 11:41:26 PM
@Kitz No problem in my area since 4pm. No issues. My area doesn't have 350Mbps cable at the moment but was told it wil bring to my area next March / April 2018 for free upgrade speed boost itself.

Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: burakkucat on December 05, 2017, 12:29:01 AM
Max are you doing loads of speed tests and using up all the bandwidth?  :o

Methinks Kitz is jesting!  ;)  :D
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 05, 2017, 06:04:42 PM
My fibre (FTTC) and line only are now placed for to cease (cancelled) by 19th December. Because I am now with Virgin Media cable broadband stand alone for 27 a month for 12 months with a speed of 221Meg down and 12Meg up. So, don't need plusnet billing and virgin media billing at the same time. Sad to see my FTTC to end but I just don't like DLM system. Virgin Media is a freedom (no DLM) and always get the same sync rate no matter if router is off or on. And no more waiting for 30 minutes to avoid DLM.

Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: ejs on December 05, 2017, 06:46:31 PM
The Openreach FTTC cease fee appears to be zero. The BTWholesale FTTC cease fee is 31.12 ex. VAT for Market B areas. In Market A areas, the cease fee is zero as required by Ofcom. Of course, what an ISP charges their customer may vary from whatever the wholesale prices are.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 05, 2017, 06:52:21 PM
More likely the greed of plusnet making profit out of the cease charged. But I don't care anymore as I am soon no longer with plusnet.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: j0hn on December 05, 2017, 07:07:41 PM
If they charge you 30 then they are making a loss. I wouldn't call that greedy.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 05, 2017, 09:00:58 PM
>> I wouldn't call that greedy.

I'm trying to figure that out too.   Plusnet are charged 31.12 ex VAT for the cease...  and pass on the charge as 30.  ???

If he's been getting some of the deals that max has claimed Plusnet have given him over the past few years, they haven't been making much profit from him anyhow.   
Add in the vast amount of support tickets and staff costs, GEA tests etc...  then I think that he has no real reason to moan.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 05, 2017, 10:12:09 PM
Got noticed from BTw to alert me there is multiple orders open on my line which it due to be complete by 19th dec 2017. And cease on the broadband pending to be completed by 19th dec 2017.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 05, 2017, 11:55:14 PM
I really do hope this works out for you Max and its the end to you worrying about DSLstats and DLM.  :-\

I also hope that you can leave speed tests well alone for the sake of your own health.   I personally would not trust the word of a sales person who says there is no congestion in 'x' area if they have the change of making a sale.  There are areas whereby VM congestion is a problem.   Even their CEO has acknowledged that their sales staff has lied.

However..  if you don't notice anything wrong with your connection and it still seems fast, please do keep away from speedtests and just enjoy your better speeds.   
Good luck Max.  I hope it all works out well for you.   I hand on heart honestly do. :)
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 06, 2017, 01:29:54 AM
@kitz many thanks. If I ever go back to FTTC in the future if virgin media is proved heavy congestion as I can leave and re-order FTTC to go back. But, this time it won't be plusnet anymore. Which isp do u think the best to go with if I ever comeback to FTTC in the future. Does this mean my future FTTC wil be open profile DLM reset when FTTC went live again (no banding on the line)?
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 06, 2017, 10:54:52 AM
It will be a new provision so it will follow the current default profile for the Huawei cabs

Open profile for up to 48 hours
Interleaving for a period of time (this can be a few days for several weeks)
G.INP
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: NewtronStar on December 06, 2017, 09:14:29 PM
Just curious into what sort of cable stats does the VM hub show
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 06, 2017, 11:35:30 PM
@NewtronStar here is cable stats

Code: [Select]
Cable Modem Status
Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)
299000000

Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)
39400000

Locked
Provisioning State
Online

Code: [Select]
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 1.5 38.6 256 qam 21
2 323000000 1 38.9 256 qam 24
3 315000000 1.2 38.6 256 qam 23
4 307000000 1.2 38.9 256 qam 22
5 291000000 1.2 38.6 256 qam 20
6 283000000 1.2 38.6 256 qam 19
7 275000000 1.4 38.6 256 qam 18
8 267000000 0.7 38.6 256 qam 17
9 259000000 0.5 38.6 256 qam 16
10 251000000 0.5 38.6 256 qam 15
11 243000000 0.9 38.6 256 qam 14
12 235000000 1.2 38.9 256 qam 13
13 227000000 1.4 38.6 256 qam 12
14 219000000 1.5 37.3 256 qam 11
15 211000000 1.7 38.6 256 qam 10
16 203000000 1.7 38.6 256 qam 9
17 195000000 2 38.9 256 qam 8
18 187000000 2.4 38.9 256 qam 7
19 179000000 2.7 38.9 256 qam 6
20 171000000 2.9 38.9 256 qam 5
21 163000000 3 38.9 256 qam 4
22 155000000 3 38.9 256 qam 3
23 147000000 3.2 38.9 256 qam 2
24 139000000 3.2 38.9 256 qam 1

Code: [Select]
Upstream bonded channels
Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
2 39400000 ATDMA 51.8 64 qam 6400000 5120
1 46200000 ATDMA 51.8 64 qam 6400000 5120

Code: [Select]
Operational Configuration
General Configuration Value
Network access
Enabled
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
Docsis Mode
Docsis30
Config file
***************************** (hidden)
Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 24143
Max Traffic Rate 230000000
Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 24142
Max Traffic Rate 12700000

Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 06, 2017, 11:40:54 PM
FTTC and Cable bonded together 256 Meg down and 31 Meg up.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 07, 2017, 10:51:15 AM
Nice one :)

Just a small correction.  The correct term is load balancing 2 connections - presumably you have a router with dual WAN ports. 
The maximum speed you can get for one single process will be limited to the maximum speed of your VM line..  but when using multi-threading applications  (eg FTP/NNTP or a speedtester with multi-threads such as speedtest.net) you can benefit from both connections at the same time.

Bonding is something entirely different which also needs to be done at the ISP end.  Bonding allows a single thread app to have full speed of both (or more) lines.

Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: NewtronStar on December 07, 2017, 09:32:20 PM
Thanks for posting the VM Hubs stats the channel frequency's are very interesting.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 07, 2017, 11:33:16 PM
No problem. If u ever need to ask any more question, do ask me!
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 16, 2017, 03:54:40 PM
My cable broadband will be disconnected on Monday because service isn't very reliable and suffer loss of service. Cancelled it with my 14 days cooling off.

Going to stay with FTTC with Plusnet as the cease order has been successful removed.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: burakkucat on December 16, 2017, 04:02:02 PM
Oh . . .  :(

I thought you had finally found a service that would sufficient for your needs.  :-\
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: Black Sheep on December 16, 2017, 04:30:27 PM
My cable broadband will be disconnected on Monday because service isn't very reliable and suffer loss of service. Cancelled it with my 14 days cooling off.

Going to stay with FTTC with Plusnet as the cease order has been successful removed.

I hope Broadstairs and the other Kitz member (sorry, forgot who ?), are reading this ?? They are due to migrate shortly if memory serves ???  :P
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: burakkucat on December 16, 2017, 04:35:02 PM
I hope Broadstairs and the other Kitz member (sorry, forgot who ?), are reading this ?? They are due to migrate shortly if memory serves ???  :P

Ah but there is a difference. The infrastructure currently being installed on the Isle of Thanet is FTTP and not the older hybrid delivery method that Max has just tried and rejected.  :-X
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: Ronski on December 16, 2017, 07:00:08 PM
I hope Broadstairs and the other Kitz member (sorry, forgot who ?), are reading this ?? They are due to migrate shortly if memory serves ???  :P

How could you possibly forget me BS  ;D

burakkucat is correct we are getting proper FTTP, so should all work very well, and I'm sure I won't be quite as picky as ADSLMax  ;)

I'll also point you to this thread (http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/virgin_cable/f/4573147-my-350mbps-package-massive-improvement.html), VM have been doing a lot of work, they've had to!
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 16, 2017, 07:18:42 PM
My cable broadband will be disconnected on Monday because service isn't very reliable and suffer loss of service. Cancelled it with my 14 days cooling off.

Going to stay with FTTC with Plusnet as the cease order has been successful removed.

Oh!   :o

Dare I ask what happened with VM when you say unreliable?
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: Black Sheep on December 17, 2017, 04:18:02 PM
How could you possibly forget me BS  ;D

burakkucat is correct we are getting proper FTTP, so should all work very well, and I'm sure I won't be quite as picky as ADSLMax  ;)

I'll also point you to this thread (http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/virgin_cable/f/4573147-my-350mbps-package-massive-improvement.html), VM have been doing a lot of work, they've had to!

Ha ha .... apologies Ronski, I'm extremely busy these days and my memory is poor at the best of times.  :-[ ;D
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 17, 2017, 06:19:04 PM
Oh!   :o

Dare I ask what happened with VM when you say unreliable?

Service become loss of broadband downtime for 12 hours. So, I was thinking back in 2014 when Virgin Media is very bad in my area with congestion and loss of service problem haven't improved at all. So, I am staying with FTTC, mind you, I have to accepted 74Meg banded by DLM doesn't bother me anymore cos I just enjoy watching Netflix , Sky Go online and xbox etc. Help me to keep my mind off.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: renluop on December 17, 2017, 08:28:07 PM
Got noticed from BTw to alert me there is multiple orders open on my line which it due to be complete by 19th dec 2017. And cease on the broadband pending to be completed by 19th dec 2017.

Any thoughts out there on the  name of the exchange max is on?>:D
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: V_R on December 17, 2017, 08:45:31 PM
I have to accepted 74Meg banded by DLM
First world problems.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: burakkucat on December 18, 2017, 12:45:58 AM
Any thoughts out there on the  name of the exchange max is on?>:D

I know it is Cuckoo Oak (https://availability.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/WNCKO), WNCKO.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: Ronski on December 18, 2017, 10:19:59 AM
Ha ha .... apologies Ronski, I'm extremely busy these days and my memory is poor at the best of times.  :-[ ;D

Me to, 13 hours working on the house yesterday, it WILL be done before Christmas. Carpets being fitted this afternoon,  then just some relatively simple things to finish off.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: highpriest on December 18, 2017, 01:55:54 PM
First world problems.

You say that. But it is a constant source of irritation to know that something has been artificially limited for no real reason.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: V_R on December 18, 2017, 06:25:23 PM
You say that. But it is a constant source of irritation to know that something has been artificially limited for no real reason.

I know, like how I moved to Plusnet and now only seem to be able to hit 60Mb when I was previously getting 75Mb with Zen you mean?  ;)
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: highpriest on December 18, 2017, 06:42:24 PM
I know, like how I moved to Plusnet and now only seem to be able to hit 60Mb when I was previously getting 75Mb with Zen you mean?  ;)

:)

I was banded at 74 meg for months (it was triggered by me testing/trialing a Draytek Vigor 130) and it only got removed when I moved from BT to Plusnet 18 months back. It has been syncing at a solid 79999/19999 ever since.

I plan to move to Zen next month so it will be interesting to see how my line copes, especially because a few additional houses on my street have switched to VDSL2 :-\

I should be back here moaning about it soon :lol:
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 18, 2017, 06:48:00 PM
I am expecting mine to be banded at 74Meg until next summer 2018 when G. Fast become avaliable for cuckoo oak then I am sure that banded will be removed off by G fast. Will upgraded to 330/50 G. Fast depends my line length to the street cabinet at approx 250m away.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: Bowdon on December 18, 2017, 08:58:54 PM
Max are you doing loads of speed tests and using up all the bandwidth?  :o

@Kitz how did you specify an area when looking up virgin media? I'm trying to scout out my area.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: kitz on December 19, 2017, 01:47:43 AM
I got it from the map which highlights areas with an outage, then clicked the location link
https://istheservicedown.co.uk/status/virgin-media/map
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: highpriest on December 19, 2017, 10:31:42 AM
I am expecting mine to be banded at 74Meg until next summer 2018 when G. Fast become avaliable for cuckoo oak then I am sure that banded will be removed off by G fast. Will upgraded to 330/50 G. Fast depends my line length to the street cabinet at approx 250m away.

Nice. Are the G.Fast rollout plans published anywhere? I don't see any work being carried out in my area so typically, we'll be among the last to get anything new.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: adslmax on December 19, 2017, 10:35:12 AM
Nice. Are the G.Fast rollout plans published anywhere? I don't see any work being carried out in my area so typically, we'll be among the last to get anything new.

This is the email from Openreach last September

Quote
**************@openreach.co.uk
   
5 Sep
   
to me

Hi **********,

Received an update the Good News your Cabinet is in the G.Fast plan but not until August 2018 sorry a 12 month wait sorry.

In terms of FOD service providers are relaunching soon and they will definitely have a consumer product offering.

 

********************
Regional Infrastructure Delivery Director

Wales, Midlands & Home Counties
Openreach
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: j0hn on December 19, 2017, 07:38:41 PM
Max, i would have thought you would have learned your lesson with the fake Cerberus FTTPod order.
Quote
Regional Infrastructure Delivery Director

Wales, Midlands & Home Counties
Openreach
This is 1 guy, easily identifiable from the signature you post.
This guys job could be on the line for giving information like that out. You put it at risk by making fake emails pretending to be him.

There's no way that back in September, before the extended trial cabinets even went live, this guy was telling you what month your cabinet was going live in a commercial rollout.
You insult the intelligence of many members of this forum by trying to pass that crap off.

You originally posted it here (http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/fibre/t/4567085-gfast-rollout.html).
You haven't even gone to the trouble of copying/pasting the same thing, different spelling, words removed/added.
You removed the part that had "Openreach PLC" when everyone on TBB told you Openreach wasn't a PLC.
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: jelv on December 19, 2017, 08:44:05 PM
One guy? Those are three separate OpenReach regions and Googling I found the name of a person who is director for infrastructure delivery in ONE of those. Looks like a made up job title.

I think Donald Trump has a term for what I suspect is being spouted here:

FAKE NEWS!
Title: Re: Return to cable
Post by: burakkucat on December 19, 2017, 09:18:03 PM
As a temporary measure, this thread is currently locked.