Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Broadband Hardware => Topic started by: banger on July 27, 2017, 08:32:17 PM

Title: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 08:32:17 PM
So I set up email notification of the 1312 log and pressed email now and it locked up. So went downstairs and powered off the modem. Powered back on but the power light didn't come on just the LAN light. Looks like it is bricked as I have tried a factory reset but it says in the manual to hold the reset button until the power light blinks but power light is not responding. Oh dear. Anyone selling a B10A?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on July 27, 2017, 09:15:14 PM
If it is bricked you should still be able to open the device and connect to the serial port and recover it.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 09:20:59 PM
I have a feeling it is something more complex than that as the power light is on very dim but not blinking and other lights are the same whereas the LAN lights blink once and are very bright. I would like to give it a go any instructions anywhere?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on July 27, 2017, 09:46:47 PM
I don't know of any instructions but will suggest that you take carefully thought out steps, slowly.

Before even thinking about opening up the case please perform a simple preliminary test --
You might be lucky and it may turn out that the existing PSU is faulty.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 09:55:30 PM
Unfortunately, the LED behaviour is the same with a Billion 12v PSU both PSUs are outputting 12v2.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 27, 2017, 10:01:03 PM
Look at the power output Amps on each PSU are they the same ?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 10:22:34 PM
Billion is 12v 1.5A. ZyXEL is 12v 1.0A. Not looking good.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 27, 2017, 10:27:19 PM
I take it you are now using the Billion 8800NL R2 the SNRM looks slightly jittery
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 10:28:54 PM
TP-Link TD-W9970. I will have to keep eyes peeled on eBay.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 27, 2017, 10:37:49 PM
Just get your money back or refund from the seller first before looking for another ZyXEL time bomb
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 10:39:45 PM
Already contacted him and he said no returns. Wonder if Ebay will cover it? Filled in a returns form see what happens.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 27, 2017, 10:51:50 PM
your going to have to open a dispute if you want Ebay to help you out
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 10:56:34 PM
It used to be like that but has changed it says now "You can ask us to step in if you don't hear back from the seller by 05 Aug".
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: GigabitEthernet on July 27, 2017, 11:13:14 PM
If you need a ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A I might be able to sell you mine. I'm not using it at present.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 11:14:18 PM
I will PM you.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Chrysalis on July 27, 2017, 11:43:37 PM
stevebrass has one of these for sale for 30 or at least he did.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 27, 2017, 11:54:43 PM
Sold I was going to get it as a spare wish I had now but recommended it to someone on here and he must have bought it.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on July 28, 2017, 06:35:58 AM
https://youtu.be/XmRdR_lfI1I
Video of something similar on a vmg8924


Have you tried turning on the device with the reset button pressed? or booting it up, leaving it a few mins, then trying the reset procedure (hold it for up to 30 seconds).

Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 28, 2017, 02:54:11 PM
https://youtu.be/XmRdR_lfI1I
Video of something similar on a vmg8924


Have you tried turning on the device with the reset button pressed? or booting it up, leaving it a few mins, then trying the reset procedure (hold it for up to 30 seconds).

Thanks John I have tried the recovery procedure but it is just dead, Power led never blinks and is dull I will have a look at the video.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 28, 2017, 04:58:46 PM
Been in touch with ZyXEL and they have said it is faulty and offered a replacement but since that offer have heard nothing back. Hmmm. Asked for a picture of Serial Number on the back which I sent but no reply after an offer of replacement.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 29, 2017, 10:16:54 PM
I notice there is an RMA form on the ZyXEL site but it asks for the retailer, I wonder if they will accept eBay?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 06:03:02 PM
So my second one went pop at 7.33 this morning according to DSLStats. Checked the router and it kept rebooting so out of desperation I checked the PSU, only giving out 11v supposed to be 12v so swapped the PSU with the other bricked 10A and all is good router back up and running. Not having much luck with these.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: GigabitEthernet on July 30, 2017, 06:15:22 PM
Could it be your electricity supply?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 06:18:37 PM
Hope not although other routers appear to be ok like the Billion 8800NL R2 and TP-Link W9970. Just unlucky I guess and ZyXEL has offered a replacement for the first one so the duff PSU will go back with that if they ever confirm.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 10:18:46 PM
So I have substituted the ZyXEL PSU that came with the original (bricked) router for a Billion 7800 PSU which is 12v 1.5A. The ZyXEL PSU is 12v 1.0A but when measured was showing 12v2 and the Billion dead on 12v on the terminals. I don't want to brick another router.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Dray on July 30, 2017, 10:27:00 PM
Sounds like the Billion 7800 PSU will be better all round
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 10:31:08 PM
I have run the Billion PSU for years so know it is reliable but looks exactly like the ZyXEL PSU wouldn't be surprised if they were both made in the same factory.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 30, 2017, 10:48:14 PM
Well banger have won a 8924-B10A and now have a cloud of trepidation hanging over me seeing your issues  :(
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 10:50:57 PM
How much if you don't mind me asking? I am probably having a run of bad luck and I don't trust the first PSU I got but ZyXEL may replace it apparently it was bought originally from Amazon.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 30, 2017, 11:03:18 PM
How much if you don't mind me asking?

Got it for 38 + postage TBH and I don't why I purchased it other than being Openreach appoved and it my Birthday present to me have hit the big 50.

So your gonna have to guide me through this ROMD clear process  :fingers:
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 11:15:21 PM
That's not a bad price. Happy bday BTW it was my 50th this year too. Clearing the ROM-D is easy it's finding the supervisor password that's the time-consuming bit. Depending on the firmware you do a modem dump to screen and look for the supervisor password in clear text if its the same as the 1312.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 30, 2017, 11:35:30 PM
Thanks Banger what I'll do is inspect it first then connect it to the Billion 8800NL LAN side and try and access it's GUI and see what it gives me and also do some sh commands before the hand over.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 30, 2017, 11:44:37 PM
See the below post for details on how to find and change the supervisor password.

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,19186.msg340936.html#msg340936
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 30, 2017, 11:58:11 PM
What does the supervisor mode give you that's not already available under the standard admin as I won't really understand until it is in front of me.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 12:01:31 AM
Full access to the shell I think the shell is locked down in admin. Also, you can enable features such as the menus for TR-069 and TR-064 which you would want to disable if it is an ISP branded router otherwise their software may try and configure your device for their service and it maybe a security hole.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 31, 2017, 12:14:13 AM
Full access to the shell I think the shell is locked down in admin. Also, you can enable features such as the menus for TR-069 and TR-064 which you would want to disable if it is an ISP branded router otherwise their software may try and configure your device for their service and it maybe a security hole.

Cheers I understand now. will see how I get on when it arrives but certain I'll need help at some point during the unbranding of ROM-D all the info is here on the Kitz forums but of no use once your offline during the process if you know what I mean.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 12:17:47 AM
If you're using the Billion with its default IP you may be able to access the ZyXEL while still online as you say and configure everything before the handover and still have access to Kitz.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 31, 2017, 12:35:34 AM
If you're using the Billion with its default IP you may be able to access the ZyXEL while still online as you say and configure everything before the handover and still have access to Kitz.

Yes that would be the best option, just me thinking out loud encase the worst case scenario happens with no internet connection and doing multiple disconnects just to get it working only have 10 goes in 24 hours and then the DLM will knock on my line  :help:
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 12:39:13 AM
Yes, I am mindful of the mighty DLM to come knocking when changing router or upgrading firmware. Don't forget upgrading firmware will involve a reboot and subsequent re-sync.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on July 31, 2017, 01:48:35 AM
Don't forget upgrading firmware will involve a reboot and subsequent re-sync.

Unless, of course, the device is updated when it is not connected to the G.993.2 circuit.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on July 31, 2017, 01:54:18 AM
Full access to the shell I think the shell is locked down in admin. Also, you can enable features such as the menus for TR-069 and TR-064 which you would want to disable if it is an ISP branded router otherwise their software may try and configure your device for their service and it maybe a security hole.
That's available under the standard admin account on the VMG8924-B10A. You should only need to telnet in and run "save_default clean" to restore the TR menus. That's if they are hidden at all.
Even the standard user account has shell access.
The supervisor account only really lets you change the permissions of other user accounts, but there's not much an admin can't do anyway.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 02:47:10 PM
So ZyXEL are not prepared to RMA the duff device as it is out of warranty after I sent a pic of the serial number.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 08:11:43 PM
That's available under the standard admin account on the VMG8924-B10A. You should only need to telnet in and run "save_default clean" to restore the TR menus. That's if they are hidden at all.
Even the standard user account has shell access.
The supervisor account only really lets you change the permissions of other user accounts, but there's not much an admin can't do anyway.

Oh I see John, well on the 1312 the shell is not available from admin login on telnet I have just tried it on V12 firmware and it responds to sh with unrecognised command. I assumed 8924 would be the same.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 31, 2017, 08:30:48 PM
That's available under the standard admin account on the VMG8924-B10A. You should only need to telnet in and run "save_default clean" to restore the TR menus.

Wish I could try the command right now John but still awaiting its arrival on tues or wed

Banger I take it from what you said Zyxel VMG modem/routers have only the standard 1 year warranty in place.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 08:33:59 PM
The latest 1312 I have according to ZyXEL support is covered til 2019 but you have to check the serial number with them it's a bit of a lottery on eBay and such like so that is 2 years.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on July 31, 2017, 08:50:33 PM
It will be interesting to see if the ebay 8924 has any warranty left once I input the serial number have registered with Zyxel.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on July 31, 2017, 08:54:35 PM
Yes I have another 1312 on the way, I always like a spare configured. :D I had to ask customer service for the warranty info but there may be another way.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on August 01, 2017, 05:13:27 PM
Oh I see John, well on the 1312 the shell is not available from admin login on telnet I have just tried it on V12 firmware and it responds to sh with unrecognised command. I assumed 8924 would be the same.
I think you might be right with regards to shell access. I don't have my 8924 at hand to check. Having run it in bridge mode for so long I've been using the shell on my Asus and probably confusing it with that.

The TR-069/064 menus should only require save_default clean (and possibly a reset) from the admin account to restore them. I restored these before even knowing my supervisor password.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 01, 2017, 06:37:08 PM
So I have another 1312 on the way which has never been out the box but is an italk router, I like to have a spare configured router just in case. Anyone heard of italk before? I think I know how to unlock it by getting into recovery mode then uploading standard firmware.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on August 01, 2017, 06:50:23 PM
Mine was from italktelecom also. It needed a reset to login to the admin account, as the password 1234 didn't work.
V11 was preinstalled, which has a default supervisor password of zyad1234 (after a reset, I did not try before).
A save_default clean from the telnet connection logged in as admin was enough to restore the TR-069/064 menus.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 01, 2017, 06:54:27 PM
Thanks for the info John. I have been running V12 on the current one and it seems pretty stable and I notice they have corrected the system uptime which is now correct instead of showing the link time. Trying to find other fixes.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on August 02, 2017, 09:00:05 PM
A save_default clean from the telnet connection logged in as admin was enough to restore the TR-069/064 menus.

Yes that worked for me but if you saved a config.file before the save_default_clean stage and then restored it the TR-069 menus will disappear, once the clean has been done you need to set it all up again and save config and it will stick this time.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 02, 2017, 10:25:30 PM
Yes that worked for me but if you saved a config.file before the save_default_clean stage and then restored it the TR-069 menus will disappear, once the clean has been done you need to set it all up again and save config and it will stick this time.

How are you getting on with your 8924 Mr N*star? Have you gone live yet and seen any increase in sync and got stats running?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on August 02, 2017, 10:57:04 PM
Went live with 8924-B10A at 18:01 no increase of sync what do you expect with a copper line length of 1000 meters/1KM Billion 8800NL R1 and 8924-B10A are pushing the line to it's limit  ;)
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 02, 2017, 10:59:45 PM
I suppose both routers are the same chipset so the same sync is to be expected although Kitz mentioned the ZyXEL has an inline noise filter. That's a long line you have there.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: NewtronStar on August 02, 2017, 11:15:42 PM
That's a long line you have there.

Ah sure it's way better than the 5Mbps we had with ADSL
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Iam_TJ on August 03, 2017, 09:56:38 AM
So ZyXEL are not prepared to RMA the duff device as it is out of warranty after I sent a pic of the serial number.
If you still want to give fixing this device a shot I'm offering my services (no cost). I have a lab here with several Zyxels (was working on creating a completely open-source firmware for a Danish ISP) so I've a LOT of experience of recovering bricked devices  :-[

If you want to take me up on the offer send me a private message.

Tj.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: freelander on August 03, 2017, 12:01:31 PM
I have had what I think will be my final reply from Zyxel support stating that the TR 069 was patched in the latest firmware and is no longer a security risk there for a don't need the supervisor password ,
to which I have replied thank you for you help but I now have the supervisor password to access all areas I need and as I bought the router I should be able to access all areas of the router

It's looking like they don't wish to provide this supervisor account access
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: broadstairs on August 03, 2017, 12:47:59 PM
I have had what I think will be my final reply from Zyxel support stating that the TR 069 was patched in the latest firmware and is no longer a security risk there for a don't need the supervisor password ,
to which I have replied thank you for you help but I now have the supervisor password to access all areas I need and as I bought the router I should be able to access all areas of the router

It's looking like they don't wish to provide this supervisor account access

I know it's annoying but I would not have told them you have access as that will encourage them more to tighten things up so we might not be able to view the p/w file on future releases.

Stuart
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Chrysalis on August 03, 2017, 01:08:36 PM
the v13 changelog simply mentions making tr069 available to admin in the remote management section, presumably to allow access to it to be configured.  There is no mention of a fix other then that.

Since we know thats not actually the case then I personally dont have much confidence of it not been a security issue on v13.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: broadstairs on August 03, 2017, 01:12:04 PM
I have heard from them this morning after I queried the absence of TR064 from the menu to say that he TR064 page is not needed as it is disabled, however we do not know that for sure, also what happens if someone with a retail router wanted to use TR064?

Stuart
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 07, 2017, 07:28:32 PM
So the bricked VMG1312-B10A is on its way back to the seller being fully tracked as eBay case was opened and they have given me a label to print and it is now in the post office. Hope the seller accepts it and I get a refund.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 09, 2017, 04:13:43 PM
Just received my 3rd ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A and another italk router. So tried a factory reset to get in but it wouldn't let me in so pressed the rear factory reset button for 30+ seconds to get into recovery mode and uploaded the latest firmware. After it rebooted tried the default admin password and it worked.

So uploaded my saved configuration and it is all set up. Had a quick test and sync was similar to my old one so that will be my go to spare modem. Only tested for about 10 minutes but seems stable and have registered it ZyXEL support so it should be under warranty judging by the serial number. Now back in its box awaiting deployment.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: kitz on August 10, 2017, 12:03:02 AM
Anyone heard of italk before?

No I hadn't until yesterday evening.  I had shall I say a slight encounter with them which I may write up at some point.  I was curious because a paid for ad for them came up on my timeline and some of their claims seemed a bit strange to me.   
They obviously don't like me because I happened to briefly mention that that they didn't appear to be fully compliant with OFCOM regulations on a couple of points.   My post was deleted  :D  as were about half a dozen or so from others who appeared to have recently signed up and weren't too happy with the service either.    :no:
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 10, 2017, 12:20:16 AM
There seem to be lots of italk VMG1312-B10A routers on eBay. The 3rd one I got was also one of their locked down routers and the guy had bought a job lot of 6.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 22, 2017, 09:09:15 PM
Got my refund from eBay for my previous bricked VMG1312-B10A even though I sent it to the seller it came back to me as not accepted so I have the bricked router and a refund.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on August 22, 2017, 10:51:27 PM
I wonder if TJ (http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?action=profile;u=7662) would like another "play thing"?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: banger on August 22, 2017, 10:52:32 PM
He may even be able to unbrick it.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on August 22, 2017, 10:53:37 PM
He may even be able to unbrick it.

Indeed.  :)
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Bestgear on September 08, 2017, 07:11:16 PM
Slightly OT.....

I have a italk VMG1312-B10A running the as-supplied V1.00(AAJZ.6)C1_20150911

I have the admin and supervisor passwords.

Am I wise and safe to upgrade the firmware to the latest version?

I am just cautions of losing access to the router after the upgrade.

Thanks in advance for your help.


David
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Iam_TJ on September 08, 2017, 07:19:24 PM
I wonder if TJ (http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?action=profile;u=7662) would like another "play thing"?
He may even be able to unbrick it.
Indeed.  :)
I don't mind giving it a go. I've got the tools and I'm always up for a challenge :) I've got enough routers of my own though so don't need another - I'd do a fix and return. Send me a private message if you'd like it done.

Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on September 08, 2017, 07:37:37 PM
Quote
Am I wise and safe to upgrade the firmware to the latest version?

I am just cautions of losing access to the router after the upgrade.
V1.00(AAJZ.6)C1_20150911 is a pretty old firmware (over 2 years old). The latest is V1.00(AAJZ.12)C0

I would recommend updating it. You won't lose access to the device.
The latest firmware can be obtained here: ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/VMG1312-B10A/firmware/

edited my stupidity out
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on September 08, 2017, 09:15:12 PM
You will possibly brick your device if you update it with the firmware for the device on this thread.

You have a VMG1312-B10A (going by the firmware version you posted)
This thread is discussing a VMG1312-B10D

j0hn, are you sure? What is the subject line of this thread? I see "Bricked VMG1312-B10A".  :-\
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: j0hn on September 08, 2017, 09:28:58 PM
j0hn, are you sure? What is the subject line of this thread? I see "Bricked VMG1312-B10A".  :-\
No, I'm obviously not  ::) I assume I had 2 threads open and mixed them. I'm ill in bed, I should put my tablet back in the drawer and sleep. That's not the biggest mistake I've made today  :no:
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on September 08, 2017, 09:57:05 PM
I'm ill in bed, I should put my tablet back in the drawer and sleep.

That is a sensible idea. The Kitz Community wishes you a speedy recovery.
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Bestgear on September 09, 2017, 10:54:47 AM
V1.00(AAJZ.6)C1_20150911 is a pretty old firmware (over 2 years old). The latest is V1.00(AAJZ.12)C0

I would recommend updating it. You won't lose access to the device.
The latest firmware can be obtained here: ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/VMG1312-B10A/firmware/

edited my stupidity out


Thank you - will go and apply it.

Much appreciated.

David
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Bestgear on September 09, 2017, 11:33:54 AM
Very weird.... uploaded the .bin and it went through the motions.... told me it had done it, then stopped responding.

Power cycled it, and its back up with the old firmware version!

So - should I upload the .rom first? - and if not, do you upload the .rom the same way as the .bin?

I guess I should just try again (when I get the kids off the net....)?


David

Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: tubaman on September 09, 2017, 12:51:11 PM
You should only need the .bin file.
Once loaded it should warn you that it is rebooting and then you need to wait a couple of minutes for it to reboot before logging back in.
 :)
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Bestgear on September 09, 2017, 01:17:31 PM
Thanks - it did warn me it was rebooting - I will try again.

What do I do to apply the .rom?
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: tubaman on September 09, 2017, 02:59:59 PM
I believe the .rom file is just a default config file that you can load using the backup/restore config option.
Unless you are downgrading your firmware (which you aren't) you should not normally need to use it.
 :)
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: Bestgear on September 09, 2017, 05:57:31 PM
I believe the .rom file is just a default config file that you can load using the backup/restore config option.
Unless you are downgrading your firmware (which you aren't) you should not normally need to use it.
 :)

Thank you.

Will try the firmware tomorrow - as family have refused to approve downtime today  :blush:
Title: Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
Post by: burakkucat on September 09, 2017, 06:23:52 PM
Will try the firmware tomorrow - as family have refused to approve downtime today  :blush:

I would recommend that you use the following steps when updating the firmware --
If, after following the above, the firmware is still found to be the original version then there is something very peculiar occurring.