Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Broadband Technology => Topic started by: bob.gas on April 11, 2006, 02:26:58 PM

Title: Adslmax??
Post by: bob.gas on April 11, 2006, 02:26:58 PM
Hi
Can I get ADSLmax even though my ISP isn't BT?
Sorry if this is a dumb question, I don't fully understand it.  :oops:

Thanks

Bob.
Title: Re: Adslmax??
Post by: PhilT on April 11, 2006, 03:35:05 PM
Quote from: "bob.gas"
Hi
Can I get ADSLmax even though my ISP isn't BT?
Sorry if this is a dumb question, I don't fully understand it.  
Most ISPs use BT Wholesale and therefore have access to Max products. Not all ISPs have announced a Max product. Who you with ?

Phil
Title: Re: Adslmax??
Post by: bob.gas on April 11, 2006, 04:08:59 PM
[/quote]Most ISPs use BT Wholesale and therefore have access to Max products. Not all ISPs have announced a Max product. Who you with ?

Phil[/quote]


I'm with EFH.

Bob
Title: Adslmax??
Post by: kitz on April 16, 2006, 02:49:25 AM
Hiya bob :)

As phil has already quite rightly said, if your ISP uses BT Wholesale as their supplier then they should be able to offer a maxdsl product.

EFH I believe use BTw IPStream so they will be able to it to their customers should they wish to do so.
Some ISP's are upgrading all their customers, others need their customers to request the upgrade, so its probably best to contact them to confirm how they will proceed.

[edited to add]
Just checked out their website, and it seems that they are already offering maxdsl to new customers.  It may however take them a while before they are able to convert their existing customers.

You may also be interested in this article (http://www.efhbroadband.com/downloads/press%20release%20llu%20april%2029th%2005.doc) which states that EFH are to offer LLU.
Whether or not you can get this depends if you are on one of Easynets LLU exchanges though.
Title: Re: Adslmax??
Post by: kitz on April 16, 2006, 02:55:59 AM
Quote from: "bob.gas"
Hi
Sorry if this is a dumb question, I don't fully understand it.  


btw its not a dumb question at all.

Theres a bit more info about maxdsl here (http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/maxdsl.htm), that may help.

If theres anything that you are confused about, just ask. :)
Title: Adslmax??
Post by: bob.gas on April 16, 2006, 09:16:45 PM
Thanks for the reply Kitz. :)

I have been in touch with EFH and upgraded to ADSLmax which will start on the 21st and according to DSL ZoneUK I should be able to get 3 Mbps or above which I'll be very happy with.:D

Have ordered a new router  which is a Solwise SAR-600ER.
I know you deal with Solwise and was wondering if you have any views on this model.

Your links were very informative and I will def have a more thorough read through your site and hopefully my brain will take it in.

Bob.
Title: Adslmax??
Post by: kitz on April 17, 2006, 04:18:47 AM
Quote from: "bob.gas"

I have been in touch with EFH and upgraded to ADSLmax which will start on the 21st and according to DSL ZoneUK I should be able to get 3 Mbps or above which I'll be very happy with.


Sweet (https://forum.kitz.co.uk/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.emotionless.co.uk%2Femotes%2Fa%2Flaugh7.gif&hash=e8bfb8e4c5cb55397c8fe57f25419fa2)
One thing to be aware of is that it will take a few days before your speeds with maxdsl start to stablise. Kit at the exchange will monitor your connection for 10 days to get your MSR (Maximum Stable Rate).

>> Have ordered a new router which is a Solwise SAR-600ER

I dont know anything about this particular model Im afraid, - I have the SAR110, which is rather old now but still going strong.