Kitz Forum

Internet => General Internet => Topic started by: NewtronStar on March 23, 2016, 08:10:07 PM

Title: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: NewtronStar on March 23, 2016, 08:10:07 PM
Don't know if others use this site https://www.flightradar24.com/ (https://www.flightradar24.com/) the 3D mode has been turned off for over 5 months, they are now using a beta 3D mode when using Google Chrome this comes up when I click on 3D mode ->

to verify that your web browser and hardware support WebGL.  Consider trying a different web browser or updating your video drivers.  Detailed error information is below:
RuntimeError: The browser supports WebGL, but initialization failed.

though while Using Windows IE 11.0 the 3D mode works with Flightradar24.com with no errors is Google Chrome becoming a less useful browser.

Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: Black Sheep on March 23, 2016, 09:07:37 PM
I use it from time-to-time NS ......... nowhere near as much as when I first purchased the App though.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: NewtronStar on March 23, 2016, 09:45:14 PM
I use it from time-to-time NS ......... nowhere near as much as when I first purchased the App though.

I see but does the new 3D work for you and what Web browser are you using ?
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: Black Sheep on March 24, 2016, 07:09:11 AM
I haven't used in for a few weeks, bud. I wasn't even aware of the 3D thingy until I read your post. I'm on an Apple i-Mac and using Safari and will hopefully get to have a look-see this weekend. Time is very precious at the minute, lots to do.  :)
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: kitz on March 24, 2016, 09:09:59 AM
I dont see a 3D mode available in either FF or chrome.

But then again Im only offered default view and any of the other views offered (full screen, list viewe, airport view, fleetview) are locked unless you pay.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: vic0239 on March 24, 2016, 09:44:27 AM
Wow! Thatís quite impressive. Iím running Mac OS X and 3D mode works on all of the browsers installed on my machine, namely Safari, Firefox and Chrome. I note it is in beta which probably accounts for the inaccuracy. Following a flight into Edinburgh, the aircraft missed the runway by some distance and successfully landed in the  airport car park!  :)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: roseway on March 24, 2016, 10:21:30 AM
3D works fine here using the PaleMoon browser (a spin-off from Firefox 25.x) in Linux.

@Kitz: to get the 3D view, click on one of the planes. A sidebar describing that flight appears on the left, and there's a 3D button near the top of the sidebar.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: Black Sheep on March 24, 2016, 10:47:29 AM
Wow! Thatís quite impressive. Iím running Mac OS X and 3D mode works on all of the browsers installed on my machine, namely Safari, Firefox and Chrome. I note it is in beta which probably accounts for the inaccuracy. Following a flight into Edinburgh, the aircraft missed the runway by some distance and successfully landed in the  airport car park!  :)

pmsl  :lol:
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: kitz on March 24, 2016, 11:36:56 AM
@Kitz: to get the 3D view, click on one of the planes. A sidebar describing that flight appears on the left, and there's a 3D button near the top of the sidebar.

Thank you eric.   

Im impressed - seems to work fine here. :)
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: William Grimsley on March 24, 2016, 05:10:38 PM
I have to say, Flightradar24 have done a brilliant job, they just need to implement the airline liveries now.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: NewtronStar on March 24, 2016, 06:25:26 PM
With Google Chrome updated all I get is these errors when I go into 3D mode

The browser supports WebGL, but initialization failed.
Error

    at new t (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cesium/Cesium.js?1458817359:424:15420)
    at new V (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cesium/Cesium.js?1458817359:458:3786)
    at new se (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cesium/Cesium.js?1458817359:467:29641)
    at new A (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cesium/Cesium.js?1458817359:473:24127)
    at new X (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cesium/Cesium.js?1458817359:476:9690)
    at Object.CesiumCockpit.createViewer (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cockpit_view.js?1458817359:130:22)
at Object.CesiumCockpit (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/cockpit_view.js?1458817359:5:28)
at HTMLSpanElement.<anonymous> (https://www.flightradar24.com/static/js/js_new.js?1458817359:7290:28)
at HTMLBodyElement.n.event.dispatch (https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/2.2.0/jquery.min.js:3:7519)
at HTMLBodyElement.r.handle (https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/2.2.0/jquery.min.js:3:5600)
OK

Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: HPsauce on March 24, 2016, 06:37:36 PM
Works well for me if I use Chrome. IE just seems to give a "starry" or plain-coloured (no map detail) background.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: NewtronStar on March 24, 2016, 06:52:44 PM
Works well for me if I use Chrome. IE just seems to give a "starry" or plain-coloured (no map detail) background.

What Chrome version are you using HPsauce ?
I am using Version 49.0.2623.108 m
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: HPsauce on March 24, 2016, 07:01:01 PM
....87m but it's just updating....
Now 108m and still working.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: NewtronStar on March 24, 2016, 07:17:35 PM
Hmmm just tried the link http://get.webgl.org (http://get.webgl.org) and it is working showing a spinning cube using Vista with Chrome, I'm starting to think this is an OS or Java issue as FlightRadar works on the old Vista but not in the 3D mode and yet 3D mode works on Windows 8.1
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: kitz on March 25, 2016, 03:39:35 AM
Works ok on here using chrome Version 49.0.2623.108 m
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: uwe_handshoe on July 16, 2016, 09:28:10 AM
I realise this topic is 4 months old,but..

Just looked at the 3D mode and also got "RuntimeError: The browser supports WebGL, but initialization failed."

However, I was able to get it working by making sure 'Use hardware acceleration when available' is enabled in Chrome settings, then adding this flag --ignore-gpu-blacklist to the chrome shortcut (right click shortcut>Properties) then at the end of the Target box add a space, followed by the flag --ignore-gpu-blacklist

eg "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application" --ignore-gpu-blacklist
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: parkdale on July 16, 2016, 10:48:31 AM
Wow works fab on mine, I am using FF nightly.
Title: Re: Flight Radar 3D
Post by: tickmike on July 16, 2016, 04:40:35 PM
Not good for me on a slow connection  :(, I followed a plane that came over us (near EMA) and in to Manchester, it was out of focus and when it landed went along the grass, hit another plane, went through the car park  :o through some buildings and parked on a tree in a field  :lol: glad I was not on that 'Ryanair' plane.  ;D