Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => FTTC and FTTP Issues => Topic started by: kitz on April 28, 2015, 05:42:26 PM

Title: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: kitz on April 28, 2015, 05:42:26 PM
There's a page on the main website which gives detailed steps about various ways to get information on the location of you cab and also how to find out what make/model of FTTC cab/DSLAM it is.

FTTC Fibre Cab Lookup (http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/cabinet-lookup.htm)

Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: burakkucat on April 28, 2015, 06:50:34 PM
That is a very useful technique. Thank you for documenting a simple way to make use of that website's data.  :)
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: Black Sheep on April 28, 2015, 07:23:28 PM
Absolutely agree ..... that is a nice piece of work, right there.  :)
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: NewtronStar on April 28, 2015, 09:29:29 PM
My Cabinet 1 on the map is in the wrong location if it was correct i would have a sync of 79998  ;D
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: kitz on April 28, 2015, 09:46:18 PM
My Cabinet 1 on the map is in the wrong location if it was correct i would have a sync of 79998  ;D

It centralises it on postcode - hence why it will never be exactly correct, but at least it gives an idea of the general area to look.
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: lemzip on April 28, 2015, 11:12:03 PM
thanks, helped me find mine as i never walk the other direction from my house!
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: NewtronStar on April 28, 2015, 11:29:15 PM
My Cabinet 1 on the map is in the wrong location if it was correct i would have a sync of 79998  ;D

It centralises it on postcode - hence why it will never be exactly correct, but at least it gives an idea of the general area to look.

All i get now is

Sorry, No More Lookup Attempts Permitted at Present.
Please Login as a Paid Member for more Attempts

I'll be back when i have some money  :no:
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: kitz on April 28, 2015, 11:33:06 PM
lol   I think it only allows 10 lookups per day.   I did a few today as I was putting in pizza takeaway phone no's to use for the example but I must have managed to keep under the 10 :D
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: NewtronStar on April 28, 2015, 11:40:25 PM
lol   I think it only allows 10 lookups per day.

Maybe a change of IP address will give me another 10 lookups  :-\
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: kitz on April 29, 2015, 12:02:10 AM
Perhaps, or it may just store a cookie.   You could try a different browser to test  Actually thinking about it..  I was using two different browsers whilst I was doing the page, so maybe thats why I didnt hit the limit.
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: KIAB on April 29, 2015, 10:29:15 AM
Just been to the link  'www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm' very useful site, been looking at cabinet locations for my area Bath, there one cabinet shown as 'Exchange 11', driven along the road, can see no cabinet, so can a exchange be in a manhole?
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: ip75 on April 29, 2015, 10:48:04 AM
I think the "Exchange" entries, as opposed to the "Cabinet" entries, refer to bundles of exchange-only lines, not cabinets.
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: kitz on April 29, 2015, 05:59:53 PM
Yep exchange = Exchange only lines.  ie those that don't have a PCP cabinet. 

So no e-side, no d-side just one length of copper back to the MDF in the exchange *. 
Which also means no FTTC for EO lines until BT install a brand new PCP & FTTC cabinet for them OR install one of these at the bottom of the page here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm#fttc_street_cabinet



*Before someone else points it out, that doesnt mean it wont have joints and joins anywhere.

Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: Geekofbroadband on June 04, 2015, 01:31:22 PM
What's all the different phases? Phase 06a, 09a, 10a?
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: jid on June 04, 2015, 07:44:47 PM
What's all the different phases? Phase 06a, 09a, 10a?

This was simple BT's rollout schedule in the rollout of FTTC - so 06a was before 09a etc
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: waltergmw on June 30, 2015, 07:41:24 PM
Gentlefolk,

Many thanks to Kitz for a very valuable addition.

Just to remind you when you are looking at the increasing numbers of "Unavailable" FTTCs without sufficient ducts or tie cables. If you use the BT Wholesale number checker that will always say services are available IF that line already has a VDSL service. It will also say "This line has jumpers in place." If you use the BT Wholesale address checker then it will tell you truthfully if VDSL services are available or a (Often fictitious) future availability date estimate BUT IT IS LIABLE TO CHANGE. It seems it is policy to declare a future date just under a month in advance which is changed the day before that estimated date is reached. The longest unavailability period I've recorded so far is 7 months, and still counting. N.B.just because a trench is dug half way and a duct added, that is no guarantee that the second half will be done within a certain time period. I suspect that's purely down to the workload of the contractor or how the work is prioritised by BT. If VDSL is not installed then there's no mention of jumpers but an extra line is added at the bottom saying "The DP is external to the end user premises" BUT I've not seen the wording if the DP is internal. Just to recap - the address checker does always tell the truth on availability (or not).

Perhaps BS can confirm or otherwise and possibly add a little more ?

Kind regards,
Walter
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: Black Sheep on June 30, 2015, 07:53:00 PM
Alas, I have no dealings whatsoever in this particular arena, Walter. We used to get an e-mail informing us of Cabs that had recently gone 'Live' and ones that were due soon, a marvellous idea that allowed some of us to 'spread the word' on behalf of the business and of course, the EU.

So they scrapped it.  ::)

My involvement is always post-order, and as such, :) have nothing to offer.

Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: WWWombat on July 02, 2015, 03:02:59 PM
If VDSL is not installed then there's no mention of jumpers but an extra line is added at the bottom saying "The DP is external to the end user premises" BUT I've not seen the wording if the DP is internal.

The address checker reports the same "DP is external to the end user premises" message here, where we most certainly have VDSL installed.

I think this line has nothing to do with VDSL, and is just a response to data about the line, based on the DP type:
- External ones perhaps sit on the outside wall of a building (which is the case here)
- Internal DPs perhaps sit in a comms cupboard in a block of flats
- Overhead DP, at the top of a pole
- Underground DP, in a chamber

The old Analysys Mason report on the sample layout of ducts an poles (from 2010) reported these 4 types of DP.
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: dannyd21 on October 02, 2015, 04:46:00 PM
There's a page on the main website which gives detailed steps about various ways to get information on the location of you cab and also how to find out what make/model of FTTC cab/DSLAM it is.

FTTC Fibre Cab Lookup (http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/cabinet-lookup.htm)

This has helped me greatly, it helped me identify my cab as being a Hauwei 288. As you can see form the attached Picture, Pcp in the middle? Hauwei on the right and i don't know what the HUGE grey box is on the left.

I was given an Eci 1B modem 2 years ago, unknowingly. I am now going to purchase an unlocked Hauwei HG612 3B from the bay.

I would just like to say thank you to everyone on this forum for you continued feedback, help and knowledge.

Dan
Title: Re: FTTC cab - How to lookup location & type of DSLAM
Post by: burakkucat on October 02, 2015, 05:50:02 PM
Hello Dan. Welcome to the Kitz forum. Thank you for your feedback on how useful you found this topic.

As for the grey cabinet?  :shrug2:  It might be traffic lights control, water pumping control, TPON, etc.  :-\