Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Router Monitoring Software => Topic started by: Ronski on July 03, 2014, 10:29:08 PM

Title: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 03, 2014, 10:29:08 PM
I've released V3 of the GUI, it's currently available as a beta release, if there isn't any problems then I'll move it to a general release in a few days or so.

To receive this beta release please make sure you have 'Receive beta updates' ticked in your settings (found on the GUI Settings tab in V2)

The major highlight in this version is that it can now update all the major parts of the logging programs.


Quote from: Version 3 change log.
3.0.5297.37737   03-07-2014

      Task creation routine now allows for the task to carry on running when on batteries.
      Delete and recreate the task if you want the logging to carry on when on batteries.

3.0.5294.35009   30-06-2014

      Major rewrite of update interface and code, now capable of updating all the major programs.
      New updater program to update all programs.
      Updating is now done via the Program versions & Updates tab on the Help & About tabs.
      Backups of programs are now stored in Program Backups folder in the designated scripts folder.
      The old backup folder can be deleted if you want to.
      Minor alterations to the About tab
      Minor alterations to the help tab
      PC Speed default is now Medium.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on July 03, 2014, 11:58:20 PM
Thanks the Beta HG612 logging GUI has been updated.

Graph6 = 3.0.0.0
Graphpd = 3.0.0.0
HG612 Stats Logging GUI = 3.0.5297.37737
HG612_current_stats = 3.0.0.0
HG612_stats = 3.0.0.0
Modems = 3.0.1.0
SET_HG612_Date_and_Time = 3.0.0.0
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 07, 2014, 08:06:05 PM
I have now made this a general release for version 3  :)
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on July 09, 2014, 05:49:35 PM
Hello Ronski I take it this updater will also handle any updates that BE1 makes in HG612_Modem_Stats, so gone are the old days when you had to manually install the updates  :(

If so this is a great GUI update  :)

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 09, 2014, 06:47:31 PM
Yes all the program files below can now be updated via the GUI.

HG612 GUI Update V3.exe, which is part of the update program is updated when installing updates if a newer version is available.

Modems.txt was added so that BE1 could add new modems without the need for the GUI to be updated.

So the old days of extracting programs and copying them to the appropriate folders are gone, there is also no need to stop the logging, the updater should cope and just wait for programs to close.

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 12, 2014, 07:33:36 AM
There seems to be some sort of issue with the update side of things.

BE1 has released an updated HG612_Stats version 3.0.0.2, once updated to this version the GUI program still seems to think there is another update available, but it is actually up to date so it ends up in a bit of a loop.

If you find no version numbers change after downloading the updates simply decline updates for a day or so, as I'm aiming to look into this tonight.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Bald_Eagle1 on July 12, 2014, 09:11:17 AM
As of this morning:-

HG612_stats.exe Beta version is now 3.0.0.3

the swversion data is now included at the bottom of xlogfile.txt & (hopefully) any recently introduced bugs have been fixed for all users


HG612_current_stats.exe Beta version is now 3.0.0.2

Just includes some minor reformatting of the Event & debugging logs
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 12, 2014, 10:56:05 AM
Interestingly,  the only program that keeps wanting to update is HG612_Stats,  the other one once updated is now up to date.

This is on my works PC.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Balb0wa on July 12, 2014, 11:48:40 AM
yes its still doing it, it updates, it starts again then wants to update, goes round in a circle.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 12, 2014, 02:46:59 PM
All fixed, new release version available.  My fault copy & pasting my code, and not updating the bit that matters. I was using the version from Current stats when checking HG612 Stats  :-[

Quote
3.0.5306.23794   12-07-2014   

      Bug fix relating to updating HG612 Stats
      Minor alterations to tool tips on update page
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 12, 2014, 08:08:40 PM
Managed to find time to add another feature as BE1 has also added the information to the xlogfile (requires HG612_Stats version 3.0.0.3 Beta), only confirmed as working on HG612, not sure what will be displayed with other modems, but it won't cause any problems.

Quote
3.0.5306.33566   12-07-2014

      Added tab Modem info to stats tabs
      When version 3.0.0.3 upwards of HG612 stats is used this tab will display the firmware and software versions of the modem (HG612 tested)
      When it detects a change it will write it to Modem_Versions_Change.log in the Events & error logs folder
      Note. The GUI can only detect a change when it's running, but it will log the change on start up but the date time will not be correct.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: perry081064 on July 12, 2014, 08:40:21 PM
updated .. thanks Ronski  :)
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Balb0wa on July 12, 2014, 08:51:45 PM
thanks, shows the firmware on the zyxel  8324 as well
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 12, 2014, 10:25:03 PM
thanks, shows the firmware on the zyxel  8324 as well

Does it show the software version as well?
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Balb0wa on July 12, 2014, 10:40:08 PM
Nope

(http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/7218/pi0m.jpg)

(http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/1271/xfo0.jpg)
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 13, 2014, 08:09:05 AM
I presume you're using HG612_Stats version 3.0.0.3 Beta, if so could you attach your xlog file please.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: kitzuser87430 on July 13, 2014, 10:35:19 PM
Hi

Running HG612_Stats v 3.003 beta on my adsl connection and the modem info tab is empty, find attached versions tab and a copy of my xlogfile.txt.

Thanks for your assistance (and programs)

Ian

edit: Additional info HG612_Run.exe runs once then hangs (ie it never finishes its tasks)
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Bald_Eagle1 on July 14, 2014, 06:22:45 AM

Running HG612_Stats v 3.003 beta on my adsl connection and the modem info tab is empty, find attached versions tab and a copy of my xlogfile.txt.



I had accidentally added the versions info only for VDSL2 connections.


A beta version 3.0.0.4 of HG612_stats.exe is now available for update vis the GUI.

Please try that & let me know if it works for you.

Please repost your xlogfile.txt again after running v 3.0.0.4 because Ronski MIGHT have to allow for it being slightly different for adsl connections.




Is this detail already included in Plink logs for adsl connections?

If not & assuming v 3.0.0.4 of HG612_stats.exe works, I'll update HG612_current_stats.exe accordingly.



Quote
edit: Additional info HG612_Run.exe runs once then hangs (ie it never finishes its tasks)


Is the data still being written to modem_stats.log every minute despite that?


v 3.0.0.4 MIGHT fix that issue.
If not, please post here or email to me relevant sections from your ONGOING_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT file for examination.

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 14, 2014, 06:24:33 AM
I've taken a look at your xlog file, but there is no modem info at the end of the file. Either your modem doesn't give this information or BE1 needs to use a different command to obtain it.

As regards the problem with HG612 Run I suspect it's Windows security, run the program by double clicking it,  you'll get a security warning, click more info and select option to run. This may vary depending on the version of windows.

Seems BE1 is up early to,  and has replied whilst I'm typing this on my phone.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: kitzuser87430 on July 14, 2014, 07:52:23 AM
Ronski, BE1

Looks OK now.

Ian
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on July 14, 2014, 10:07:44 AM
Good, did you try the other suggestion for HG612 run?
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: kitzuser87430 on July 14, 2014, 03:21:56 PM

Quote
run the program by double clicking it,  you'll get a security warning

Quote
Is the data still being written to modem_stats.log every minute despite that?


I am not sure I described the problem properly...HG612_run.exe would not close, and was taking 50% of CPU;so when it ran again after 1 min, it would still "see" the ongoing exe and fail without writing the stats to modem_stats.log.

This is now fixed with the modem versions being written and read from xlog.

IAn
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: kitz on August 19, 2014, 10:09:47 PM



A beta version 3.0.0.4 of HG612_stats.exe is now available for update vis the GUI.

Please try that & let me know if it works for you.



Just put the Zyxel back on and I also have no info

Using
Code: [Select]
HG612 Modem logs stats viewer & settings editor V3 created 12/07/2014 19:54:00
 Version 3.0.5306.33566 running on Microsoft Windows 7 Professional

Screen caps attached.

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Bald_Eagle1 on August 19, 2014, 10:30:51 PM
The software version comes from this command on a HG612:-

equipcmd swversion display


This is how the raw data looks:-

equipcmd swversion display
software version: V100R001C01B030SP08

xdsl firmware version: A2pv6C038m.d24j

cpu version: BCM6368

cfe version: 1.0.37-102.6

display version success




Does that work via telent with the Zyxel?

If not, do you know of a command that does work with the Zyxel?

If so, I'll add it to HG612_stats.exe & HG612_current_stats.exe


Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: kitz on August 20, 2014, 12:04:49 AM
Sorry I thought it was fixed and I was doing something wrong as I saw it had corrected in kizusers 2nd screen cap

Code: [Select]

 > equipcmd swversion display
telnetd:error:928.645:processInput:544:unrecognized command equipcmd swversion d
isplay

 > equipcmd
telnetd:error:858.694:processInput:544:unrecognized command equipcmd

 > swversion
1.00(AAKL.4)b2

> adsl --version
adsl version 1.0
ADSL PHY: AnnexA version - A2pv6F039i.d24e


 > adsl info --vendor
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 30752 Kbps, Downstream rate = 88348 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

ChipSet Vendor Id:      IFTN:0xb203
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xb203
ChipSet SerialNumber:   5502152235



I had to go into the Busybox shell to get the chipset though Im afraid

Code: [Select]
~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type             : 963168VX
processor               : 0



Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on August 22, 2014, 07:35:05 PM
Ronski your GUI is crashing when looking for updates  :o
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 22, 2014, 08:20:59 PM
That's most strange, it wouldn't have been able to access my server as my connection was down (see update to other thread), so it should have just timed out and given an error that it couldn't check for updates - as mine did when when I ran it with the connection down. I reconnected everything at 19:44.

Did you get a screen shot?
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on August 22, 2014, 08:49:38 PM
No i did not get a screen dump, it just went into the blue infinite wheel of death could not interact with your GUI until CTRL ALT & DEL was issued closed it down and the popup the application failed end now or wait until the application close's
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 25, 2014, 09:51:24 AM
NS, just checked, and the update checking should time out after 30 seconds, and you should get an error message when it can't reach my server.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 27, 2014, 07:23:16 PM
I've released a beta update which adds support for My DSL WebStats.

Quote
3.0.5350.16872   25-08-2014

      Added Plus Net referral link on About tab
      Added settings options for My DSL Web Stats
      Added link to My DSL Web Stats on graphs tab

Note: You will not be able to upload stats to My DSL WebStats until BE1 releases an update to HG612_Stats, which should be very soon hopefully.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Bald_Eagle1 on August 27, 2014, 07:29:01 PM

Note: You will not be able to upload stats to My DSL WebStats until BE1 releases an update to HG612_Stats, which should be very soon hopefully.



Copies of the relevant amended programs have just been emailed to you (v 4.0.0.0)

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 27, 2014, 08:33:20 PM
Thanks BE1, just spotted them, I'll test them at work and on my server. (Now installed on both)

Also a quick amendment to the GUI.

Quote
3.0.5352.34888 27-08-2014

      Altered the formatting of some value's so trailing zeros are not shown.
      Added DS & US delay values
      Some tool tip alterations
      Fix bug to allow - in My DSL Validation key
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on August 28, 2014, 08:52:09 PM
Sorry to say I have received the GUI crash again this evening, it has all the latest updates as of to-day have a screen shot this time yet it's not very informative.

Graph6 = 3.0.0.1
Graphpd = 3.0.0.1
HG612 Stats Logging GUI = 3.0.5352.34888
HG612_current_stats = 3.0.0.3
HG612_stats = 3.0.0.5
Modems = 3.0.1.0
SET_HG612_Date_and_Time = 3.0.0.0

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 28, 2014, 09:02:01 PM
Was you doing anything at the time with the program, or had the stats just updated?

I've not really altered much at all lately, so unfortunately have no idea at the moment what can be causing it, and as you say the error message is not informative at all.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on August 28, 2014, 09:08:09 PM
Was you doing anything at the time with the program, or had the stats just updated?

I've not really altered much at all lately, so unfortunately have no idea at the moment what can be causing it, and as you say the error message is not informative at all.

Nothing abnormal was going on, the same software running in the background as it was last week just a few Windows updates as you would expect.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on August 28, 2014, 09:15:49 PM
Had a look at the event viewer and this comes up

 
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 29, 2014, 10:18:16 AM
Unfortunately I'm still not really any the wiser, except it's a null exception causing it.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: NewtronStar on August 29, 2014, 07:51:44 PM
Hello Ronski the crash has not appeared since yesterday at 20:47, so I put this issue down to a MS WINDOWS thing and the updated .NET Framework files needed some time to bed into the OS.

Though if it happens again i take it you will have a close look into the issue ?
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 29, 2014, 09:02:28 PM
The only way I could probably track down where the crash is happening is to create a special version for you that writes to the error log, which will give me some idea of where it's happening. On previous occasions the Windows errors have been a bit more informative. Which I'll do if it happens again.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 31, 2014, 08:59:36 AM
I've released a V4 beta of the GUI, there are no changes from the previous beta version apart from the version number and a minor label change.

BE1 has also released V4 beta programs which will enable the upload of data to My DSL WebStats.
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on August 31, 2014, 09:46:09 AM
I've just released another beta update as I spotted a bug, and also had to correct some description labels.

Quote
4.0.5356.15443   31-08-2014

      Fixed bug which meant settings modified flag was always set after opening GUI if not using My DSL WebStats
      Alteration of labels on My DSL WebStats setting tab.

Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: kitz on September 04, 2014, 06:18:42 PM
Thank you ronski - will update when I put the Zyxel back on :)
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on September 26, 2014, 10:45:31 AM
Auto updates are down at the moment, I had a resync this morning at 8:30, and I've now noticed I can't access my server. I know my server is OK, and the connection is OK as MyDSLWebStats is still updating. Very strange, nothing I can do until I get home tonight.

Edit. Router problem fixed when I got home.
Title: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released - McAfee Antivirus intervention
Post by: johnbullas on January 08, 2015, 11:19:11 AM
 :no: HG612_stats.exe is being picked up as containing "Artemis" and is being deleted before I can run the application

Can you advise?

Many thanks

Dr B
Title: Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v3 released
Post by: Ronski on January 08, 2015, 03:39:54 PM
It will almost certainly be a false positive,  I would suggest uploading it to www.virustotal.com and see what that says. If the majority say it's clean then it will be a false positive.  A lot of virus programs don't like the way our programs work and we had problems on the past.

If its a false positive then please report this to your virus provider and create an exception for the file in your virus software.