Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Should ADSL Attenuation be affected by voice calls?  (Read 12666 times)

Ezzer

• Helpful
  • Kitizen
Re: Should ADSL Attenuation be affected by voice calls?
« Reply #30 on: June 24, 2009, 10:56:00 PM »

I'm only smug imediately after getting a result after a difficult fault or where others have been there before. I'm only as good as the next fault i get and I'm still learning and don't know it all. There's still one round the corner to put me back to earth if I think of getting cocky. And annoingly still get faults where I have to walk away where everything fine when I'm there, but I know the gremlins are watching only to play again once we're gone.

Shep

• Just arrived
« Reply #31 on: July 02, 2009, 11:02:43 AM »

As a post-script to the post-script: the problem is now - finally - sorted out. It took a further engineer visit yesterday to finally get the problem nailed (and - disappointingly - engineer number 2 didn't seem to have any information at all about engineer visit number 1!). Eventual diagnosis was that a lightning protection device on the line had gone faulty. (No surprise, considering this whole tale of woe started during a thunderstorm  ;) )

Anyway, everything seems good now - I'm back down to 35dB attenuation with no wild fluctuations, and synching at high speeds again. (and as an added bonus, my voice line is now crystal clear - better than I *ever* remember it being!)

However: one more n00bie question ... I'm had a constant connection for about 20 hours now, but if I do a BT speedcheck, it looks like my IP profile is still rock bottom - i.e. 135k. So, my question is this: Does the ip profile value change by itself periodically, or is it only re-jigged each time the router does a re-synch?