Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: What happens if you have MTU mismatch? Plus PPPoE payload question  (Read 1454 times)

heavyrain

Hello everyone

I am pretty new to understanding MTU but hopefully this is ok to ask.

I was curious about what happens if an MTU mismatch happens between the modem and the router (in regards to BT FTTC).

Scenario: You have a modem that operates at max of 1492 MTU (e.g. Billion 8800NL). The "router" in question is a Tp-link Deco product. It does not allow configuration of MTU. Apparently it defaults to 1500 and cannot be changed.

What happens in this regard? One would hope that the Tp-link in its non configurable state would automatically negotiate down to 1492? I don't have the device to test it.

Also something I wondered about PPPoE in relation to MTU size. I see alot of people in technical forums stating about baby jumbo frames and stuff which in turn means setting the mtu to 1508. I understand this because 8 bits get taken off due to 6 header + 2 ppp id to leave 1500.

However from my understanding, the PPPoE header resides within the actual payload amount of the l2 frame which according to wikipedia is 46-1500. Setting to 1508 then seems wrong because those 8 bytes basically are part of the payload anyway and already accounted for at a max of 1500 (i.e. so a max payload size should actually be 1500). I know I'm probably missing something there in the logic but I would also like to know why if you do account for pppoe outside the payload, shouldn't you also have to account for the 4 bytes of ptm transmission (s, ck, ptm-fcs) and actually set 1512 as the mtu?

Thanks

Chrysalis

• Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • AAISP CF
Re: What happens if you have MTU mismatch? Plus PPPoE payload question