Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?  (Read 3764 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« on: December 10, 2018, 11:58:39 AM »

Looks like I am on a similar timescale as I incurred the wrath of DLM due to many reboots reconfiguring my setup to use an HG612 with the Zyzel VMG1312 B10D demoted to router only mode. The many reboots were largely due to this: https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,22792.msg387507.html

My stats can be seen here: https://www.elvin.me.uk/DSLstats/index.htm (history not working due to the way I am configured) and https://www.elvin.me.uk/DSLstats/Stats.php

Any suggestions or am I just going to have to be patient?


---

Admin - Topic split off from here at OP's request.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2018, 10:13:12 AM by kitz »
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

tiffy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 853
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 03:35:15 PM »

@jelv

Not directly relevant to your current query, noticed that you are running the kitz and broadstairs DSLStats utilities on your web site and you mention having issues with the history content with the kitz interface.

I currently use the same setup, I think we may well have the same web host provider, John (d2d4J), wondering if you have noticed this post and subsequent responses,
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,21237.msg387371.html#msg387371
and could it be relevent to your "history not working" issue within the kitz interface.

If this is not the case please disregard.
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi3B - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Modem/VMG-3925-B10B Router Huawei Cab

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3114
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 04:59:09 PM »

A bit worse for you jelv it looks like DLM has banded you at 74Mb.

If it doesn't bother you too much you could try waiting a few weeks and seeing if it removes itself.
Failing that ask AAISP if they are able to request DLM resets yet.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30788
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2018, 05:35:00 PM »

My stats can be seen here: https://www.elvin.me.uk/DSLstats/index.htm . . .

Obviously there is some reason why you have used green for both the DS & US (perhaps there is some difference in shade but to those with visual difficulties it is just one green colour).

However there is currently a definite and significant flaw with your circuit. I went to the Line Health tab and first considered the QLN plot. My reaction was "Yuck" . . . the average noise floor, by eye, is significantly elevated. On looking at the Hlog plot the reason became very apparent . . . you have a very nasty bridging tap present. Your circuit's performance is going to remain sub-optimal until that wiring flaw is traced and then eradicated.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2018, 06:00:23 PM »

Thanks for that.

Time for some experiments. My office is upstairs and the master downstairs with no easy route between. I'm currently using an extension socket in the office (1 of 7 - yes SEVEN) and while the max was above 80000 I was content to run like that - I started at well over 100000 - but I was the first FTTC user on the cabinet.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30788
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2018, 06:21:44 PM »

Time for some experiments. My office is upstairs and the master downstairs with no easy route between. I'm currently using an extension socket in the office (1 of 7 - yes SEVEN) . . .

Ah, that goes some way to explaining the origin of the problem!  :-X

If you would like to start a new thread of your own and post (within [code][/code] tags) the Hlog data, we should be able to (manually) calculate the length of the bridging tap. Also, boozy may be able to use the data-set with some diagnostic software that he has recently written.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2018, 10:48:27 PM »

Could you take a look now please?
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30788
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2018, 10:57:10 PM »

Could you take a look now please?

Certainly.  :)  I now see red for DS, blue for US and no change in the condition of the circuit with respect to the bridging tap.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2018, 11:02:04 PM »

Thanks. I've put the filtered face plate back in and plugged modem and router into that.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3114
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2018, 12:00:12 AM »

Your SNRM has increased along with your attainable by a few Mb.

Hlog still shows a bridge tap present.
Line remains banded at 74Mb.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2018, 12:04:53 AM »

When I tried to post the HLOG data it was too long! I think https://www.elvin.me.uk/DSLstats/temp/HLog-2018-12-10-23.47.30.txt is what you wanted to see.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9107
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2018, 05:02:35 AM »

If someone wants to attach something to a forum post, can it hit a size limit? Could zip it up though, no? Kitz accepts .zip extensions on attachments.

(Assuming one does not want to avoid the issue by parking the data elsewhere and linking to it, as jelv did later.)
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2018, 09:24:28 AM »

Yes I could have attached it but doing it as I have made it easier for others as they can view it directly without having to download and extract from a zip.

See attached regarding maximum size.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1692
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2018, 09:55:49 AM »

From the AAISP trouble reports log:

Quote
BT Test E2E Access Test/DCN:Inconclusive OR test pass. Unable to find the fault. Down:73.9 (73.9/73.9/74.0) Up:20.0 (20.0/20.0/20.0) 2018-11-28T08:30:00 0.128M-74M Downstream, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Retransmission Low In Sync Pass:GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000 GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9107
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Jelv's Line - How long for DLM to recover?
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2018, 10:54:27 AM »

"Retransmission high" so there goes another 5 or 6% or whatever it is. (Is that right, when dreaming sync rate to real IP PDU throughput? I think Kitz guide to real speeds and overhead mentions something like that?)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything