Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Weird broken website  (Read 3714 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7866
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Weird broken website
« on: October 31, 2018, 03:43:45 AM »

This website - http://www.letmecheck.it/mtu-test.php - seems to work sometimes and sometimes I get a 404. Whatís going on with it?

Itís really useful, when it works, a site that tests the MTU of your internet connection.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2018, 06:57:23 AM »

It returns a 404 for me at present.
Logged
  Eric

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 717
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2018, 07:59:51 AM »

working fine for me
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2018, 09:58:04 AM »

Is this something to do with IPv6? I still get a 404, and it's shown as an IPv6 address.
Logged
  Eric

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7866
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2018, 10:00:54 AM »

This is indeed the weirdness. Chenks saw it. I have seen it on occasion. Now I am getting 404 So whatís going on?

Another thing.

If I go to a url made from the domain name with just a / or with nothing appended to it, ?I get the following nonsense:

This IP is being shared among many domains.
To view the domain you are looking for, simply enter the domain name in the location bar of your web browser.

Sounds like virtual hosting that isnít set up correctly? Would that be right?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2018, 10:16:00 AM »

Quote
eric@great-tit:~$ whois letmecheck.it

*********************************************************************
* Please note that the following result could be a subgroup of      *
* the data contained in the database.                               *
*                                                                   *
* Additional information can be visualized at:                      *
* http://web-whois.nic.it                                           *
* Privacy Information: http://web-whois.nic.it/privacy              *
*********************************************************************

Domain:             letmecheck.it
Status:             ok
Signed:             no
Created:            2013-01-17 09:31:29
Last Update:        2018-02-02 00:56:15
Expire Date:        2019-01-17

Registrant
  Organization:     hidden

Admin Contact
  Name:             hidden
  Organization:     hidden

Technical Contacts
  Name:             hidden
  Organization:     hidden

Registrar
  Organization:     Realtime Register B.V.
  Name:             REALTIMEREGISTER-REG
  Web:              http://www.realtimeregister.com
  DNSSEC:           yes


Nameservers
  perans2.subnetonline.com
  perans1.subnetonline.com
  perans4.subnetonline.com
  perans3.subnetonline.com


eric@great-tit:~$
Logged
  Eric

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 301
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2018, 10:22:48 AM »

mmm.. works ok here
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7866
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2018, 10:29:52 AM »

I am getting a 404 from Apache so my requests are at least reaching the server.
Logged

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 898
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2018, 11:10:23 AM »

Hi

This is indeed an issue specific to only IPv6 users.

IPv4 works lovely

I think it may just be a mapping issue of the IPv6 address to hostname but please consider this site looks as though it has not been updated in a few years or so and there is only 5 sites listed on that server IP for domain.

It maybe that IPv6 is only setup/used to test MTU for IPv6 and not mapped as IPv4 is for domain

Many thanks

John
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7866
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2018, 12:15:34 PM »

This might explain why I have occasionally got it to work then, if my web browser is having a funny moment and its Happy Eyeballs routine chooses IPv4 in preference one day, for some reason.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27719
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2018, 04:48:00 PM »

It works for me, IPv4, when I remember to enable ICMP echo on the WAN port.  :D

Quote
From the tests we did, we can assume that 1472 bytes is the largest unfragmented packet
size. The MTU size would be 1500, made up from 1472 payload and 28 ICMP/IP Headers
and payload information.

The maximum MTU size for W.X.Y.Z is:    1500

NB: The Internet Protocol requires that hosts must be able to process IP datagrams of at least
576 bytes (for IPv4) or 1280 bytes (for IPv6)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2634
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2018, 06:06:18 PM »

We've discussed before that letmecheckit completely fails to load with IPV6 enabled.

https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,21273.msg369502.html#msg369502

A huge fail considering their test has a specific IPV6 selection box. No good if the page doesn't load with IPV6 enabled.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1385
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2018, 06:24:13 PM »

I've got it to work with IPv6 enabled and used it to test my IPv6 MTU on my Win 10 PC!

I put this into my hosts file:

Code: [Select]
141.138.203.105 www.letmecheck.it
which forced it to use IPv4 for the web page. Then I was able to put my router's IPv6 address in and test that.

Quote
From the tests we did, we can assume that 1430 bytes is the largest unfragmented packet
size. The MTU size would be 1478, made up from 1430 payload and 48 ICMP/IP Headers
and payload information.

The current maximum payload size is not divisible by 8.
The actual size of the payload (data) will be limited to: 1424
The maximum MTU size for 2001:8b0:xxxxxxxxx is:    1478
Edit: I did have to do a CTRL+F5 after I'd modified the hosts file.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2634
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2018, 06:33:52 PM »

enabling ipv6 on the network adapter after loading the website, then manually entering the ipv6 address and ruining the test also works.

A huge faf to not have a reachable ipv6 address, even if that needed to be added to a HOSTS file.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7866
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Weird broken website
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2018, 10:39:05 PM »

I emailed them using their web form. I notice it says that it is beta. It seems to have been beta forever though.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2