Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.  (Read 2209 times)

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« on: August 26, 2017, 08:04:34 PM »

I have successfully setup a DSL-N55U to get stats over the WAN cable by using ifconfig and setting the WAN interface to the IP 192.168.2.9 and my modem is set at 192.168.2.10.

This doesn't work with the 3925 as all the addresses are in IPv6 format and I am a bit lost as to which is the WAN port in ifconfig. Is there another way to get stats over the WAN cable on the 3925 after setting it up as a WAN router?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2017, 10:56:08 PM »

I tried the ifconfig on the ethernet port 1.0 but even logged in as the supervisor it was access denied. Then I tried the Interface grouping adding ethwan to lan 1 but my machine couldn't see the modem. I also looked at Vlan options but there is only the lan1-4 in adding a Vlan.

Then tried adding an additional subnet in the 192.168.2.9 range but again my machine still couldn't see my modem on 192.168.2.10. I can connect to the modem's wireless and get stats that way but I think stats over WAN cable is more reliable. So I am stumped.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2017, 11:20:46 PM »

Sorry I haven't used bridge mode since HG612 & HH3 just use the all in one units, there is section for ZyXEL to bridge and collect stats but it's for a 8324.

http://www.kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_bridge.htm
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2017, 11:58:29 PM »

Thanks NS. But that suggests using 2 cables to link up the 2 devices. My modem is downstairs with router upstairs and only 1 ethernet cable to link the 2.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2017, 12:35:13 AM »

That's going to be complex I do remember Chrysalis giving details about using one cable for accessing stats and the network but is was on a Billion 8800NL R1 setup, he could help you with this.
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2017, 01:01:52 AM »

Yes, I did a search of the forum but none of his exploits works with the 3925 just Billion and Asus routers he has thought about it on the supervisor thread but I tried his Vlan suggestion but it doesn't work.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2017, 01:15:46 AM »

Sorry about that have done a wide search on Kitz myself my memory tells me you needed some sort of cat5e splitter

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,16622.msg306997.html#msg306997
« Last Edit: August 27, 2017, 01:20:28 AM by NewtronStar »
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2017, 01:19:46 AM »

I can get stats over wifi but would prefer over the WAN cable without a splitter.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5787
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2017, 03:11:57 AM »

banger

1 - login to UI of zyxel
2 - select networks -> vlan groups
3 - add group called bridge set vland id to 2, tick the include box on the lan port you want to use. (one used for wan)
4 - select networks -> interface grouping and assign bridge vdsl port to same lan port.
Note you may have already done steps 3 and 4 when setting up the bridge.
5 - now select networks -> home networking
6 - in group name box default is preselected, change this to bridge
7 - make a note of the ip address shown, change if you want to. (to keep things simple change it to 192.168.2.10 and make sure your old modem is not connected so no conflict)

You can now access the zyxel using that ip address on the wan cable, I didnt have to adjust my config on my router compared to my billion it just worked.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2524
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2017, 04:00:21 AM »

The above works on the VMG8924-B10A. I ran it like that for about 6 months. The bridge is set as 192.168.2.1 by default.

I haven't got round to trying it on the VMG1312-B10A but I'm sure it will work the same.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2017, 03:42:04 PM »

I am confused which router do I change the VLAN and Interface group. I am running VMG1312 as a modem connected to the SSFP and 3925 as a router doing PPPoE. I tried Chrys instuctions on the 3925 but DSLStats couldnt see the modem.

Cheers

Edit: One thing I have noticed when adding the Interface group on the 3925 it locks up and you have to power off. It adds the interface but it is not visible until you power off. Firmware bug?
« Last Edit: August 27, 2017, 06:22:23 PM by banger »
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5787
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2017, 06:54:12 AM »

you do it on the modem.  So in your case the 1312.

I didnt know you was using 2 zyxel's.

So you have ditched the asus? if so you have made this a lot harder, I dont know what you going to need to do on the 3925 to get this to work as that doesnt have iptables.

On the 3925 you need to do 2 things.

1 - add an alias to the wan network device to match the subnet on the bridge interface on the 1312.
2 - add a forwarding rule on the firewall to direct lan traffic to the wan device for that subnet.  This is what I think you will have a problem with on the zyxel router.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2017, 07:02:16 AM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2017, 02:51:06 PM »

Yea I can't figure it out either, the only other way is by wifi to get stats. Think I will go back to the Asus as I have a spare one of those if this one goes pop.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5787
Re: VMG3925-B10B getting stats over WAN cable.
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2017, 04:52:35 PM »

why are you using 2 zyxel in this configuration?

Just use one as a combined modem/router.  Or am I missing something here.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: [1] 2