Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Author Topic: Bricked VMG1312-B10A  (Read 14516 times)

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #45 on: July 31, 2017, 08:50:33 PM »

It will be interesting to see if the ebay 8924 has any warranty left once I input the serial number have registered with Zyxel.
Logged

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1155
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #46 on: July 31, 2017, 08:54:35 PM »

Yes I have another 1312 on the way, I always like a spare configured. :D I had to ask customer service for the warranty info but there may be another way.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3546
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #47 on: August 01, 2017, 05:13:27 PM »

Oh I see John, well on the 1312 the shell is not available from admin login on telnet I have just tried it on V12 firmware and it responds to sh with unrecognised command. I assumed 8924 would be the same.
I think you might be right with regards to shell access. I don't have my 8924 at hand to check. Having run it in bridge mode for so long I've been using the shell on my Asus and probably confusing it with that.

The TR-069/064 menus should only require save_default clean (and possibly a reset) from the admin account to restore them. I restored these before even knowing my supervisor password.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1155
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #48 on: August 01, 2017, 06:37:08 PM »

So I have another 1312 on the way which has never been out the box but is an italk router, I like to have a spare configured router just in case. Anyone heard of italk before? I think I know how to unlock it by getting into recovery mode then uploading standard firmware.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3546
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #49 on: August 01, 2017, 06:50:23 PM »

Mine was from italktelecom also. It needed a reset to login to the admin account, as the password 1234 didn't work.
V11 was preinstalled, which has a default supervisor password of zyad1234 (after a reset, I did not try before).
A save_default clean from the telnet connection logged in as admin was enough to restore the TR-069/064 menus.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1155
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #50 on: August 01, 2017, 06:54:27 PM »

Thanks for the info John. I have been running V12 on the current one and it seems pretty stable and I notice they have corrected the system uptime which is now correct instead of showing the link time. Trying to find other fixes.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #51 on: August 02, 2017, 09:00:05 PM »

A save_default clean from the telnet connection logged in as admin was enough to restore the TR-069/064 menus.

Yes that worked for me but if you saved a config.file before the save_default_clean stage and then restored it the TR-069 menus will disappear, once the clean has been done you need to set it all up again and save config and it will stick this time.
Logged

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1155
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #52 on: August 02, 2017, 10:25:30 PM »

Yes that worked for me but if you saved a config.file before the save_default_clean stage and then restored it the TR-069 menus will disappear, once the clean has been done you need to set it all up again and save config and it will stick this time.

How are you getting on with your 8924 Mr N*star? Have you gone live yet and seen any increase in sync and got stats running?
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #53 on: August 02, 2017, 10:57:04 PM »

Went live with 8924-B10A at 18:01 no increase of sync what do you expect with a copper line length of 1000 meters/1KM Billion 8800NL R1 and 8924-B10A are pushing the line to it's limit  ;)
Logged

banger

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1155
  • TTB 80/20
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #54 on: August 02, 2017, 10:59:45 PM »

I suppose both routers are the same chipset so the same sync is to be expected although Kitz mentioned the ZyXEL has an inline noise filter. That's a long line you have there.
Logged
Tim
talktalkbusiness.net & freenetname
Asus RT-AC68U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #55 on: August 02, 2017, 11:15:42 PM »

That's a long line you have there.

Ah sure it's way better than the 5Mbps we had with ADSL
Logged

Iam_TJ

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #56 on: August 03, 2017, 09:56:38 AM »

So ZyXEL are not prepared to RMA the duff device as it is out of warranty after I sent a pic of the serial number.
If you still want to give fixing this device a shot I'm offering my services (no cost). I have a lab here with several Zyxels (was working on creating a completely open-source firmware for a Danish ISP) so I've a LOT of experience of recovering bricked devices  :-[

If you want to take me up on the offer send me a private message.

Tj.
Logged

freelander

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #57 on: August 03, 2017, 12:01:31 PM »

I have had what I think will be my final reply from Zyxel support stating that the TR 069 was patched in the latest firmware and is no longer a security risk there for a don't need the supervisor password ,
to which I have replied thank you for you help but I now have the supervisor password to access all areas I need and as I bought the router I should be able to access all areas of the router

It's looking like they don't wish to provide this supervisor account access
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3523
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #58 on: August 03, 2017, 12:47:59 PM »

I have had what I think will be my final reply from Zyxel support stating that the TR 069 was patched in the latest firmware and is no longer a security risk there for a don't need the supervisor password ,
to which I have replied thank you for you help but I now have the supervisor password to access all areas I need and as I bought the router I should be able to access all areas of the router

It's looking like they don't wish to provide this supervisor account access

I know it's annoying but I would not have told them you have access as that will encourage them more to tighten things up so we might not be able to view the p/w file on future releases.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6578
Re: Bricked VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #59 on: August 03, 2017, 01:08:36 PM »

the v13 changelog simply mentions making tr069 available to admin in the remote management section, presumably to allow access to it to be configured.  There is no mention of a fix other then that.

Since we know thats not actually the case then I personally dont have much confidence of it not been a security issue on v13.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6