Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router  (Read 14852 times)

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« on: February 21, 2016, 07:16:08 PM »

Though I would start a page about this seeing as I couldn't find one. Anyway I have tried several modems/routers on my line and it defiantly seems that Lantiq chipsets are just overall better and I want to stay away from the openreach modems so my only option is all in one modem/routers with Lantiq chipsets and the one that seemed to be the best overall all is the D7800. Will this model be future proof as in G.INP, G.FAST etc... ;D
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 07:58:58 PM »

Two things. I think the chipset is Qualcomm Atheros and Lantiq is owned by Intel. But the SoC incorporates the Lantiq VR10 for the modem part.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2016, 08:05:16 PM by Dray »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33004
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2016, 08:18:07 PM »

Quote
Though I would start a page about this seeing as I couldn't find one.

Cheers, linked to here from the combined vdsl modem/router post.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2016, 10:15:08 PM »

I guess theres 2 options if I did get the openreach modem:

Option 1: Just buy the D7800 modem/routers for £260 and hope the modem is better than the ECI modem or at least the same

Option 2: Use the ECI modem along with the R7800 £230 which runs at 1.7Ghz which would actually be cheaper if the modem wasn't anymore than £30

Then I guess it comes down to what do you prefer, all in one or separate modem and router  :P Would the D7800's modem run better then the ECI modem because of the newer chip or wouldn't it be noticeable...
« Last Edit: February 21, 2016, 10:17:12 PM by Geekofbroadband »
Logged

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2016, 10:26:24 PM »

Quote
Though I would start a page about this seeing as I couldn't find one.

Cheers, linked to here from the combined vdsl modem/router post.

Kitz i'm not sure if the D7800 actaully has a Lantiq chipset unless anyone else is sure, I was asking around and some people seem to be saying yes and others no.

https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Netgear_D7800
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2016, 05:11:20 AM »

The Netgear D7800 uses Qualcomm Atheros chip(s) for the CPU, Ethernet, Wireless etc. and a Lantiq VRX-320 for the VDSL2 modem. Qualcomm do not have their own xDSL modem chips.

The TP-Link VR2600 has the same Qualcomm chip(s) for the CPU, Ethernet, Wireless etc. but contains a Broadcom DSL modem.
Logged

Bully

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2016, 08:00:03 PM »

Just bought one of these off eBay to replace the Asus DSL-AC68U that was letting me down (sent it back and got a full refund).

Well I'm impressed with the netgear, really easy to setup, connected to sky fibre with no issues.

I have just switched to BT Infinity 2 and also was easy to setup with no connection issues, no connection drop outs like the Asus had, good wifi speeds and coverage.  I did had an issue with IP address reservations, where by all my devices, even though they had reserved IP's were not getting the right IP address, I rolled the firmware back from v1.0.1.10 to v1.0.0.48 and this resolved the issue, this is a known issue on the Netgear forum.

I went for this particular Netgear model as it has a Lantiq dsl chip and I'm on a ECI cabinet which has the same chips in.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33945
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2016, 08:47:12 PM »

I'm pleased to know that you have sourced a suitable replacement for that Asus device and that you are now having a good experience.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2016, 09:28:14 PM »

Have saw that Nighthawk modem/router while lurking in PC world for like £280 but my mind was saying will it work with DSLstats and does it ?
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2016, 04:03:42 AM »

Does it work with DSLstats? No, of course not.
Will it ever? That depends on the stats being available and someone writing the code to add it to a stats monitoring program.
Logged

Bully

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2016, 01:39:09 PM »

You can access telnet on this netgear via http://192.168.1.1/debug.htm
Logged

Bully

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2016, 02:41:42 PM »

I get an occasional internet disconnect and the modem does not seem to reconnect automatically and the only way to get it to reconnect i have to reboot modem/router, is this normal ?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33945
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2016, 04:49:38 PM »

I get an occasional internet disconnect and the modem does not seem to reconnect automatically and the only way to get it to reconnect i have to reboot modem/router, is this normal ?

No, that is abnormal.

I presume the device is configured as "always on" (or some other such terminology) and the configuration is such that if there is a disconnection, a reconnection is then initiated?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bully

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2016, 05:53:32 PM »

No, that is abnormal.

I presume the device is configured as "always on" (or some other such terminology) and the configuration is such that if there is a disconnection, a reconnection is then initiated?

It is set to always on.  Can't see anything about initiating reconnecting.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33945
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Nighthawk® X4S D7800 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2016, 09:43:27 PM »

It is set to always on.  Can't see anything about initiating reconnecting.

Right, understood. The former really implies the latter . . . or it certainly does, if I was writing the code.  :)

But that doesn't help to correct the problem you have noticed.  :(
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2 3