Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6

Author Topic: FTTC Attenuation  (Read 22558 times)

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2012, 12:15:42 AM »

That is the attainable rate.

But you can see the sync speed is capped at 39998 & 10000 i.e. a 40/10 service.

All the 80/20 service does is change the cap up to 80/20.
Some connections have up to 130 Mb Attainable, with really high SNRM (loads to spare) & really low attenuation, yet are still capped at 40/10.

I trialled the 80/20 service with my ISP as an experiment, but I could still only use D1 & D2 due to high attenuation, with actual sync speeds still around 30/5.

This example is around 50m from the cabinet, but still capped on a 40/10 service.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 12:21:07 AM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2012, 12:23:15 AM »

But that Max downstream rate is hiting 66megs thats in the 80/20 profile Bald_Eagle1 it not a 40/2 or 40/10

That Graph show a person stuck on a 40/10 they should be 80/20  :o

It actually shows a person who has either chosen not to use the 80/20 service or is with an ISP that doesn't yet offer 80/20.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #17 on: June 27, 2012, 12:35:29 AM »

Replaced the Graph6 Batch file with the one I downloaded from you yesterday I made a copy of it before reinstalling HG612 Stats V2.0, I am really getting into this software cheers.

Ok the guy was testing 80/20 must be a TT customer looks like they will need to wait a wee bit longer to Iron out the bugs  ;D
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27726
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #18 on: June 27, 2012, 01:08:46 AM »

But that Max downstream rate is hiting 66megs thats in the 80/20 profile Bald_Eagle1 it not a 40/2 or 40/10

That Graph show a person stuck on a 40/10 they should be 80/20  :o

It actually shows a person who has either chosen not to use the 80/20 service or is with an ISP that doesn't yet offer 80/20.

That looks like the data I recently obtained from Gordon's line! His ISP is Beatie Retail and he is quite happy with her Infinity 1 Service (40/10).  ;D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #19 on: June 27, 2012, 01:34:51 AM »

Well I whish it was My VDSL2 stats Burakkucat funny the more you get the more you want  :-[
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2012, 09:41:28 AM »


That looks like the data I recently obtained from Gordon's line! His ISP is Beatie Retail and he is quite happy with her Infinity 1 Service (40/10).  ;D


Thank you b*cat.

I hoped you would recognise it & pass suitable confirmation of 40/10 service comments accordingly :)

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27726
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2012, 06:27:23 PM »

Thank you b*cat.

I hoped you would recognise it & pass suitable confirmation of 40/10 service comments accordingly :)

You're welcome. "Team work" prevails.  ;D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2012, 10:20:31 PM »

No worrys Guys I will only post if i need help on the forum !!!
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32216
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #23 on: June 27, 2012, 10:57:48 PM »

?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #24 on: June 27, 2012, 11:17:24 PM »

Its ok Kitz I am way to much of a newbie to help other Members out with there problems on the forum I'll start slowly  ;D
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #25 on: June 27, 2012, 11:37:02 PM »

I am currently running a 14 day 1 minute sample but looking at the ongoing stats it seems to have stopped logging but I can here the HardDrive thrashing every minute or so.

I turn off My PC at night before I go to bed !

« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 11:41:39 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27726
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #26 on: June 27, 2012, 11:57:07 PM »

I am currently running a 14 day 1 minute sample but looking at the ongoing stats it seems to have stopped logging but I can here the HardDrive thrashing every minute or so.

I think you will need the help of our Bald_Eagle1 to resolve that minor "mishap".

Quote
I turn off My PC at night before I go to bed !

Eh?  ???  Then you cannot be "running a 14 day 1 minute sample"!  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2012, 12:10:03 AM »

Thanks Burakkucat

Your gonna tell me I can't turn off the PC or the 14 day logger won't work  :'(

But looking at the ongoing_stats (modem Stats) text document the stats are still logging but the Graph has not updated ?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 12:23:03 AM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2012, 12:23:41 AM »

I am currently running a 14 day 1 minute sample but looking at the ongoing stats it seems to have stopped logging but I can here the HardDrive thrashing every minute or so.

I turn off My PC at night before I go to bed !


The time along the x axis stays in a more readable order if plotting in multiples of 4, e.g. 12 days or 16 days.

You won't be able to plot 12, 14, 16 days etc. until you have that amount of data.

The scripts assume continuous data collection (especially overnight as that is quite often when DLM has it's wicked way with our connections, perhaps hoping we won't notice as most of us are snugly tucked up in bed).

When the PC is turned off, the scripts can't actually log anything, so you end up with even fewer 1 minute samples.

Let's say you switch off for 8 hours overnight.
That means you will only be recording 16 hours of 1 minute samples per day.
16 x 60 = 960 samples per day.

Then you try to plot 1 day of samples which should be 1440 samples.
You will end up with incorrectly plotted graphs where the times are wrong & more or less unusable for detailed monitoring purposes.

The first attachment is from me trying to plot 8 days, but only having 5 days or so of data.

The 2nd attachment is the same data file, but only plotting 4 days.

« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 12:25:47 AM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #29 on: June 28, 2012, 12:49:14 AM »

Thanks I have been able to get the graph in sync again, I go to scripts then Graphpd and select 14 d again, it then adds a new folder in ongoing_stats

I am happy with the results but as you say I am not getting a true picture of my stats because I turn off PC (150 watts) * 24/7 no thank you thats 6 energy saving light bulbs left on all week.

But I can see already with RsUncorr & Hec errors as we had thunder storms from 6.30pm to-day untill 9pm

 
« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 01:09:43 AM by NewtronStar »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
 

anything