Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: bthomehub  (Read 11512 times)

Indian Telecom

• Just arrived
bthomehub
« on: September 21, 2007, 12:50:27 PM »

Hello
I'm new to Kitz & hoping you can help me with a real headache of a problem with the bthomehub.
Worked fine for the first 2 weeks, but the last 4 its got steadily worse, My computer will not connect me to the hub manager, I've reinstalled the hub 3 times. reset it to default.  I can not connect to the bthomehub webpage because out of 66 ports scanned I only have 4 open, I have emailed bt 2 times, had no reply yet. I can get some webpages up but most return an error of server not found or dns, this i think is due to the ports being closed. I am at a loss how to fix this. Hope some one can help

mr_chris

• Kitizen
Re: bthomehub
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 01:34:51 PM »

Hi and welcome.

First of all, I've moved your thread into the Broadband Hardware section, which is probably more appropriate for your problem.

If you can elaborate on the ports blocked i.e. how you scanned, what software or website you used and what ports it found that were open, that would be useful. I don't think it's related to your problem though, I think your problem is to do with a dodgy home hub OR a firewall or other software issue on your PC.

If you do have a firewall on your PC e.g. Zonealarm, Norton Internet Security, McAfee Personal Firewall, etc... you could try disabling it momentarily and trying the web again. If it works fine you know at least what the issue is.

Don't worry about disabling firewall on your PC if you have a router (like the home hub) - this acts as a firewall in its own right and it blocks connection attempts from the Internet.