Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: ADSLNation Master faceplate  (Read 6624 times)

risk_reversal

• Reg Member
ADSLNation Master faceplate
« on: December 01, 2009, 08:47:44 PM »

I have an NTE-5 master socket. My router is not connected to the master socket but to a wired in BT extension. I am on ADSL2+ (LLU).

Would replacing the NTE-5 with the ADSLNation faceplate likely improve the adsl signal to my property / master socket (& extensions)? For clarity I do not intend changing anything with my set up apart from replacing the master faceplate.

What I am trying to get to basically is whether the ADSLNation master faceplate is better than the NTE-5.

I am just looking for a general opinion as I understand that everyone's set up is different.

Cheers    

waltergmw

• Kitizen
Re: ADSLNation Master faceplate
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 09:35:50 PM »

Hi RR,

The ADSL Nation plate contains an active filter circuit so as Roseway said recently elsewhere there are likely to be slight differences in the line loading that this filter assembly produces.
Given that you will still have to use a dongle type filter for your modem connection on a slave socket, it would seem improbable that you would gain very much, if at all.

However as this has all to be done empirically I suspect you'll have to shell out the £12 or so if you want to experiment.

I have experimented with both ADSL Nation filter faceplates and the BT SSFP filter faceplate with the modem connected directly using a 0.5 m Shielded RJ11 cable and have not been able to detect much difference in actual modem performance between the two. However others could well observe the opposite.

The only way I suspect you're likely to make real improvements would be to have the BT Master socket moved to the modem's location.