Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade  (Read 8646 times)

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« on: July 15, 2009, 01:21:48 PM »

Hi all,

When I upgraded my PC to vista last February, I had to Upgrade the version of XP preinstalled on my machine to Vista using an Upgrade license.

However, I would like to reinstall Vista if I can.

Could I use the PCs factory defaults disc to take it back to XP and then upgrade Vista over it?

Would I be able to do that?

Any advice is appreciated

Cheers

Jamie
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2009, 01:27:30 PM »

I would have thought you could just install Vista "cleanly" and supply the XP disk to it as "proof" when asked - have you tried that or does it insist on a pre-installed XP?
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2009, 01:33:12 PM »

Hi HP,

Do you mean boot the install disc and run Custom install?

When I originally installed you had to run the Install disc from within XP not on boot. I formatted the system before hand to ensure I didn't encounter any in compatible software etc.



Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2009, 03:27:59 PM »

Yes I meant boot from the disk, if it will let you.
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2009, 07:14:32 PM »

Thanks HP.

Managed to find a way to do it.

Your help is appreciated. Now running a nice fresh install and its flying!
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2009, 09:08:43 PM »

Excellent, do tell a bit more.....
(I go out of my way to avoid Vista, but Microsofts' methods do tend to be fairly universal)
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2009, 09:12:16 PM »

I had to boot from Disc, run a Clean install without entering a license key and then upgraded over that copy of vista (home premium) then activated.

Its apparently fine to do this if you have a Certificate of authenticity for a copy of XP.

No probs but it does take a bit longer. Although Explorer freezes occasionally (no SP1 or 2 yet...)

After doing that I then found Windows 7 pre orders at 44.99 on Amazon :no:
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2009, 09:22:54 PM »

Ah yes (kicks self) I remember that now!  :-[

Install "generically" without a key or activation then reinstall from that base as as an upgrade.

Old trick that I'd forgotten.  :'(

There was another trick where you could keep re-extending the 30-day grace period for several months - handy for test systems.
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2009, 09:09:12 AM »

There was another trick where you could keep re-extending the 30-day grace period for several months - handy for test systems.

This 360 days more you mean?
http://www.winvistaclub.com/t5.html
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2009, 12:53:15 PM »

That's the one.  ;)
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2009, 04:45:28 PM »

Well silly me left Auto updates on yesterday and when I shut it down it started the process of installing 77 updates!!

In one hour - it managed to install 20, this was by midnight so I had to reboot, often this causes issues.

However started no probs this morning and the culprit being .Net  :no: Installed it manually.

However I have been doing updates since 8am and have only just come to SP1 (thank goodness!) and hopefully that should "speed er up a bit"!

All is well and I am loving how Vista is very responsive when its clean installed!

Thanks for the help once again HP, I appreciate it :)

Kind Regards

Jamie ;D
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2009, 06:53:39 PM »

Hi
quote However I have been doing updates since 8am and have only just come to SP1 (thank goodness!)

Then of course there is SP2 waiting for you  :lol:
Regards Jeff :)
Logged
zen user

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2009, 08:22:36 PM »


Then of course there is SP2 waiting for you  :lol:


Not that it really helps with much ! :lol:

Will do it tomorrow probably I haven't had a chance to install any apps yet so I have managed to do that now!
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: Reinstalling Vista Upgrade
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2009, 01:55:55 PM »

Finally got everything back to normal yesterday ;D

Working like a dream once again  :)

Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather
 

anything