Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: AOL - not providing 2meg but say they are  (Read 9138 times)

splatty g

• Just arrived
AOL - not providing 2meg but say they are
« on: March 27, 2007, 09:43:59 PM »

basically i am on aol silver package paying £14.99 a month which used to be for 1 meg speed but has been upgraded to 2 meg (although i didnt have a clue as no one told me) today i called them up and turns out i am already on a 2 meg account according to them, but i only seem to be getting 1 meg speeds

that is my speedtest results which seem to hit 1meg dead on the mark, i must admit i am no expert so i may be wrong but from what i know i gather this is 1 meg speeds,

my wireless router is a Netgear DG834G

if any one can help or give me suggestions on what to do it would be greatly appreciated, and sorry if this has been posted before i have had a brief look on the site and could not find a problem the same as mine but if there is could someone give me a nudge in the right direction

thanks
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 01:24:38 PM by kitz »

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: aol not providing 2meg but say they are
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 10:41:34 PM »

Hi and welcome to the forums :)

First of all what speed is your router syncing (connecting) to the exchange at?
You should be able to get this figure from your modem/router and it will be something like 2272kbps for example.

Secondly see if you can perform this test and let us know the results.
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/btwperformancetest.htm
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

splatty g

• Just arrived