Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: .com or .co.uk ?.  (Read 14872 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2923
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
.com or .co.uk ?.
« on: October 16, 2008, 12:05:10 AM »

What's your opinion on using .com or .co.uk for a small business.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29730
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2008, 12:16:02 AM »

if your business is aimed at the uk market then .co.uk
If world wide then you should go for .com
Search engines will usually (but not always) display the most prominent from which country you are searching on to the country domain.

For eg do a google on "kitz" and it will show this site as the top result.  However if searching from the states or google.com it will bring up kitz.com as no 1.

However... if both are available.. I'd buy them both.  You can then always point the .com to the co.uk site or vice versa.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kris

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://www.sumudra.co.uk
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2009, 07:24:33 AM »

if your business aimed at world wide go for .com
if you are aimed at UK means go co.uk
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1335
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2009, 08:01:15 AM »

Buy both if available in case you become a world wide business.
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2923
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 12:05:40 AM »

Can you still access co.uk outside the uk ?.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29730
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2010, 02:31:55 AM »

yes
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1944
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2010, 10:26:08 AM »

You will also find that .co.uk domains are cheaper and more value for money than .com domains.

For example, with Vidahost, my .co.uk domain for 2years was: 5.73

whereas if I were to register the .com domain for 2years, it would cost 12.98

Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

TalkTalk Fibre 76meg | Sky+2TB | See My DSL Connection Stats | Bridgend Weather

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2923
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2010, 03:13:58 PM »

You will also find that .co.uk domains are cheaper and more value for money than .com domains.

For example, with Vidahost, my .co.uk domain for 2years was: 5.73

whereas if I were to register the .com domain for 2years, it would cost 12.98




Mine is Free with Eclipse ISP   ;D
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2461
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2010, 03:26:26 PM »

My hosting company, once you have a basic package, charges 4.00pa for .co.uk and 4.25pa for .com.
Logged

FindersUK

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2014, 06:30:00 AM »

kitz....nice reply ...i agree with you:)
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3063
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2014, 09:24:15 AM »

Personally I'd say, if you decide to use .co.uk,  you should consider buying the .com as well to begin with. Otherwise a competitor can buy the .com and pass themselves off as your business, or just try to ransom it back to you.

There would be various legal remedies open to you in the above scenario, but all expensive - horrendously so if the villain is based on foreign soil.   Easier just to 'bags' it for yourself for the sake of a few .

After a couple of years, once you are more established, you may be able to take the view that the .com is no longer necessary and release it.
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3063
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2014, 06:39:16 PM »

Whoops, just reallised I responded to a 4 year old thread this morning.    :-[
Logged

paulosebin

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: .com or .co.uk ?.
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2015, 07:59:22 PM »

Maybe I can contribute to this discussion. I live in Brazil. The site's domain extension depends on the country or region that your business serves. I recently worked on a project to create two different sites for different countries.

In Brazil, it is recommended to use the .com.br extension. It is the first and important signal to Google that my website is targeted to Brazil.

However, we have created another site with a .com extension only, for which the company's focus was also to the United States, and opened new website designed just for this audience. .com But is still very wide. In addition to having created the PressCell site, the source put http-equiv as en_US, but targeted English language to the North American country. Also in the code I worked with href lang, pointing in the English version of the existence of a page translated into another URL. Example.

In English page has the <link rel="alternate" hreflang="en_US" href = "http://presscell.com.br/voz-vozdados/" /> and vice versa.

If your intention is that the site is targeted only to the UK, then the extension is .uk. Otherwise, have more English-speaking regions, more information in the code must be entered as the particular example I showed above.
Logged
 

anything