Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Attenuation and noise  (Read 8294 times)

oldgeezer

• Just arrived
Attenuation and noise
« on: September 01, 2008, 07:09:40 PM »

Hi there. I am a newbie to this forum and have spent some time just reading through the help given to people like me!
I have a Linksys WAG54GS router and a PC running on up to date XP. I am unhappy about my Download speed getting less than 1 mb at any time on various speed tests. My line, according to BT Wholesale is capable of 2 mb+. A neighbour on Sky and netgear gets about 3.5 average speed. I am with Tiscali and have the 8mb speed. I knew when I got it that I wouldn't be able to get very high speeds but as it was the same price  I thought that I would get it 'for the future' when lines were better. We are just under a mile away from the Chard exchange and have underground lines which were installed about a dozen years ago. The bell wire is not fixed in my wiring.
I have looked at checking my lines' capabilities through the router itself and that's where I get confused. the kitz...frogstats connection gives me advice on how to get the figures for attenuation and noise but I cannot understand how to do it. I have gone into my router and apparantly turned my "debug" on as I get a page up saying "Debug on" or similar. I do not know where to type in the other information requests though. Will someone help please and do so in laymans terms. Many thanks for any help received. Oldgeezer.

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Attenuation and noise
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2008, 07:45:30 PM »

Hi and welcome to the forum.

>> turned my "debug" on as I get a page up saying "Debug on"