Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 12

Author Topic: G.Fast Pods  (Read 13861 times)

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #75 on: March 26, 2018, 12:26:18 AM »

@ V_R

Interesting as mine is coming soon



Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1594
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #76 on: April 07, 2018, 01:55:02 PM »

I was just searching youtube to see if there was any recent videos of G.fast setups but came across this interesting video from a few years ago.

#CES2015: SCKiPIO G.fast Demo with 4K Streaming TV

Michael Weissman and David Baum demonstrate SCKiPIO's G.fast and reverse power technology.

It's interesting that it mentions reserve power technology. I remember this being one of the hurdles mentioned with OR using pods closer to the premises.

It's such a shame really that OR are hampering G.fast so much that its probably going to be a financial loss  :(

I guess the video is one of those "..and here is what you could have won!" videos.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

CarlT

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 835
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #77 on: April 07, 2018, 03:55:53 PM »

G.fast is not being released to make a ton of money. It's being released to reduce the amount of FTTP Openreach have to deploy and make some savings on interest payments on the money they'd have had to borrow.

G.fast is there to tick a box. The government demanded x million premises of 'ultrafast' and that's what G.fast will deliver. It's literally there to buy time with the politicians and defer larger investments.
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 375
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #78 on: April 11, 2018, 08:50:48 AM »

Hi

Could it be the case there is a team of people going around attaching the G.Fast pods but they are simply nothing but empty shells, and are just waiting for some future date when an engineer will appear and add the kit and connect things up?  Does this explain why some people are seeing them appear but then never see service enabled?

It would make sense to have a separate team just specialised in attaching empty pods, given there is drilling involved and metal shavings, having an empty pod that is light in weight is safer and easier to attach, then it's ready for an engineer at some future date, which could be some way in the future.

Therefore seeing a G.Fast pod appear is no guarantee of G.Fast anytime soon, and it wouldn't surprise me if there are a number of G.Fast pods that never get kit installed.

Regards

Phil

Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1130
    • skyECI line stats
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #79 on: April 11, 2018, 09:09:13 AM »

pcp in Bath that was done last summer and is now finally live to order the service, took about 7 months from fitting of the g.fast pod to going live  ???
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, click for my ECI  line stats

click for  line stats by Pi3/Huawei 

bkehoe

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #80 on: April 11, 2018, 09:32:38 AM »

They've fitted G.Fast pods to every PCP around me except my own one here in Glasgow in the last few weeks. Unfortunately i think the issue with mine is that its on a steep hill and the PCP cabinet sits low in the footpath and the new pod won't fit on the uphill side due to the rising ground (extension to the PCP on the downhill side). Or maybe because my FTTC cabinet is 150m from the PCP due to a conservation area has something to do with it too.

My PCP; https://goo.gl/maps/Ao5YFWgVMNx

However I did see a nearby PCP getting its G.Fast pod fitted and the pod was very much full of equipment. The engineers also had the associated existing FTTC cabinet on the other side of the road cordoned off and opened up and were working at both, presumably to run a fibre/power connection between the G.Fast pod and FTTC cabinet. The work was done in just a few hours.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 09:36:11 AM by bkehoe »
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1586
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #81 on: April 11, 2018, 11:17:14 AM »

Could it be the case there is a team of people going around attaching the G.Fast pods but they are simply nothing but empty shells, and are just waiting for some future date when an engineer will appear and add the kit and connect things up?  Does this explain why some people are seeing them appear but then never see service enabled?

They all have their inner gubbins.
They need to wait for 10Gbit handover links to be installed at the exchange before activating them.
That's why entire exchanges of G.Fast pods are sitting idle for months then suddenly they all get activated.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #82 on: April 11, 2018, 11:24:14 AM »

pcp in Bath that was done last summer and is now finally live to order the service, took about 7 months from fitting of the g.fast pod to going live  ???

I'm in Bath, which cabinet & where is it.

Cabinet 31 is apparantly enabled for G Fast according to checker,I can't find cabinet, but it's somewhere around Sydney Place, Bathwick.


« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 11:54:23 AM by KIAB »
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4807
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #83 on: April 11, 2018, 12:22:50 PM »

I'm in Bath, which cabinet & where is it.

Cabinet 31 is apparantly enabled for G Fast according to checker,I can't find cabinet, but it's somewhere around Sydney Place, Bathwick.

PCP31 (Bath), is right outside the 'Church of St Mary The Virgin', at the roundabout where Darlington St meets Vane St. So, near to Sydney Place but not, if you know what I mean.  ;) :)
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1130
    • skyECI line stats
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #84 on: April 11, 2018, 01:22:01 PM »

I'm in Bath, which cabinet & where is it.

Cabinet 31 is apparantly enabled for G Fast according to checker,I can't find cabinet, but it's somewhere around Sydney Place, Bathwick.

cab1 combe down exchange
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, click for my ECI  line stats

click for  line stats by Pi3/Huawei 

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #85 on: April 11, 2018, 03:35:57 PM »

PCP31 (Bath), is right outside the 'Church of St Mary The Virgin', at the roundabout where Darlington St meets Vane St. So, near to Sydney Place but not, if you know what I mean.  ;) :)

Thanks BS, much appreciated, seen that cabinet at bottom of Bathwick Hill out side the Church  of St Mary,, hasn't got a number on it, just across road is Cabinet 1 at start of Vane Street.

Link.

[Moderator edited the link.]
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 06:21:33 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #86 on: April 11, 2018, 06:49:42 PM »

cab1 combe down exchange

Also cab 7 by Hadley Arms.
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1130
    • skyECI line stats
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #87 on: April 11, 2018, 06:52:49 PM »

yes and the other one by the chip shop and the one by the exchange / church  field was also done some time ago.  odd though the one just along by the cross keys has not so far been fitted..
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, click for my ECI  line stats

click for  line stats by Pi3/Huawei 

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #88 on: April 11, 2018, 08:03:41 PM »

Cab 13 opposite to Shaft Road hasn't been done.

And at Bathampton they are adding another cabinet to exisisting Cab 39 to meet demand, acording to roadworks.org.
Just a shame they didn't put it at bottom of Dark Lane,it would be then just a few metre from me then. :D
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 08:17:02 PM by KIAB »
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 375
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #89 on: April 12, 2018, 10:02:08 AM »

Hi

They all have their inner gubbins.
They need to wait for 10Gbit handover links to be installed at the exchange before activating them.
That's why entire exchanges of G.Fast pods are sitting idle for months then suddenly they all get activated.

Well that's good to know, so if a pod appears it is likely to be activated at some point as it's a considerable expense sat there being unused otherwise.

Not that I will see one anytime soon where I am and may be too far from PCP to benefit from faster speeds on G.Fast anyway.

Regards

Phil



Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 12
 

anything