Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?  (Read 882 times)

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« on: February 04, 2018, 12:18:39 AM »

Hi there,
I just bought a vmg3925 to replace my BT hh5. However, I can't make it work with BT TV. I've enabled igmp proxy and snooping but I can't get any subscribed channel like BT sports. My internet works fine, BBC i player works fine on youview box but there's an ipc6023 error for all subscribed channels.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2018, 09:49:05 AM »

This is how I configured BT TV on my VMG8924-B10A, I'm guessing the settings are similar on your router.


Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2018, 11:49:53 AM »

Thanks. It's strange as my router doesn't have the conf current wan settings. I'll post mine later on.

[Unnecessary full quote removed - Roseway]
« Last Edit: February 04, 2018, 11:56:59 AM by roseway »
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2866
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2018, 12:00:33 PM »

The 3925 has a different set of pages and has a specific IGMP/MLD settings page. I'm sure it is in there somewhere but I dont have an IP TV so cannot help.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2018, 12:04:29 PM »

That's my settings.
Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2018, 12:08:40 PM »

The 3925 has a different set of pages and has a specific IGMP/MLD settings page. I'm sure it is in there somewhere but I dont have an IP TV so cannot help.

Stuart

Thanks Stuart. Yes you are right there is a specific IGMP/MLD settings page.
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2018, 04:01:54 PM »

Yes, my router also has that last page.

Before I discovered the "Con-current WAN" setting I did successfully get BT TV working by using more complicated and laborious setting. IIRC it involved:

Code: [Select]
Broadband page > Add new WAN interface

Active:  tick

Name: TV

Type: Ethernet  ??

Mode: Bridge

VLAN:  Sorry can't remember any more ( think I set this to active 0 101 )

I got the idea for these settings from the TVoIP config for a TP-link router, I think it was this web page:

http://www.tp-link.com/au/faq-249.html

The only problem with this set up is it puts the TVoIP on all 4 ethernet ports.

Sorry I can't be more helpful.

PS, Are you ok with a MTU of 1500?. I would have though 1492 would be better.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2018, 04:22:28 PM by npr »
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2018, 04:18:30 PM »

It also depends how you connect your Youview box.
My 8924 worked from default but I had to tweak it to use my Youview box wirelessly.

Are you connecting directly with Ethernet or some kind of wireless setup?
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2866
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2018, 05:01:08 PM »

Do you get any information on the System Monitor/Multicast Status IGMP tab? Just a thought since it is there!

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

atkinsong

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2018, 05:22:57 PM »

This post is not going to help you get it working, but it is relevant in that towards the end of last year I tried both a VMG1312-B10A and VMG8924-B10A running the latest firmware at the time and had no success with BT TV YouView multicast. I tried the suggestions in this thread :-

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=15784.0

Also tried NPR's suggestion, but no luck.
Logged
ISP:BT 80/20; Cab:ECI; Router:Draytek Vigor 2760

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2018, 05:44:06 PM »

It also depends how you connect your Youview box.
My 8924 worked from default but I had to tweak it to use my Youview box wirelessly.

Are you connecting directly with Ethernet or some kind of wireless setup?

Hi John,
I use a pair of powerline adapters to connect the router and my Youview box. The same setup worked fine with HH5 including 4K channel, but now I only get error IPC6023 for all subscribed channels.
Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2018, 05:47:20 PM »

Yes, my router also has that last page.

Before I discovered the "Con-current WAN" setting I did successfully get BT TV working by using more complicated and laborious setting. IIRC it involved:

Code: [Select]
Broadband page > Add new WAN interface

Active:  tick

Name: TV

Type: Ethernet  ??

Mode: Bridge

VLAN:  Sorry can't remember any more ( think I set this to active 0 101 )

I got the idea for these settings from the TVoIP config for a TP-link router, I think it was this web page:

http://www.tp-link.com/au/faq-249.html

The only problem with this set up is it puts the TVoIP on all 4 ethernet ports.

Sorry I can't be more helpful.

PS, Are you ok with a MTU of 1500?. I would have though 1492 would be better.

Thanks for another solution. I've tried to create a new wan interface using the similar setup but I then lost internet access. Maybe got something wrong.
I will try 1492 as well.
Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2018, 05:48:56 PM »

Do you get any information on the System Monitor/Multicast Status IGMP tab? Just a thought since it is there!

Stuart

I'm using HH5 at the moment, but I remember I didn't see anything on the IGMP tab. It's blank.
Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2018, 05:52:45 PM »

This post is not going to help you get it working, but it is relevant in that towards the end of last year I tried both a VMG1312-B10A and VMG8924-B10A running the latest firmware at the time and had no success with BT TV YouView multicast. I tried the suggestions in this thread :-

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=15784.0

Also tried NPR's suggestion, but no luck.

Thanks for sharing your experience. So did you change your router in the end?
I quite like the new router but without BT TV I will have to go back to HH5, which keeps rebooting itself every two weeks...
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: How to make zyxel vmg3925 work with BT TV?
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2018, 05:57:32 PM »

Try
Type: ADSL/VDSL over PTM

Logged
Pages: [1] 2