Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving  (Read 2510 times)

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« on: January 30, 2018, 11:21:41 AM »

Hey guys,

Firstly I'm .Sam. on MDWS - https://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk/Container.htm

Just wondering if I could get some advice. I've been capping my line at 60/15 since late on the 25th January in an effort to try and get rid of Interleaving.

There's been no change so far, should I try capping it even lower?

Also, I'm just wondering if my FEC errors normal/high?


Thank you!
Logged
.Sam. on MDWS.

Zen Internet via HG612 with Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

JamesK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 11:42:37 AM »

My line was capped at 35mbps and interleaved about 6 months ago. I limited the sync rate to 20mbps, and within 4 days DLM had reacted and removed the interleaving entirely. Unfortunately the capping has remained in place.

So yes, I would say reduce it further.
Logged
BT Infinity FTTC 80/20 ECI Cab - Huawei HG612 + Asus RT-AC87U.

KingJ

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • \_(ツ)_/
    • Miscellaneous Knowledge
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 03:39:11 PM »

I'm definitely not an expert on this, but i've been having a near identical issue over the past few days. You may want to check my recent thread for a bit more information.

Looking at your SNR, when you capped and resync there was only a very slight increase in downstream SNR. I capped mine a bit more aggressively (~55mbit down to 40mbit) and saw a big boost in SNR on the downstream. Just over 4 days later, DLM resynced me and removed downstream interleaving.

Definitely try a much more aggressive cap. It looks like you dropped it from ~65mbit to 60 - try going down to 45 or even 40 if you can cope with it for a few days.
Logged

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 03:45:01 PM »

As it happens your thread was the inspiration to start this one, rather than hijack yours. :)

Thats what I'm thinking, maybe 40/45Mb might make things move a little faster.

I'm away this weekend so now might be the best time as I won't have to suffer with it being so slow.  :no:
Logged
.Sam. on MDWS.

Zen Internet via HG612 with Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

Ixel

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 783
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2018, 03:47:18 PM »

With those FEC errors per minute on the downstream I would definitely say reduce the banding further.

I was recently on interleaving for about 20 days, though many of those days weren't capped. I switched back to the Zyxel so I could apply an aggressive banding and I think several days following that DLM returned me to fastpath at 5am a morning or two ago. My SNRM was around 12-13 dB when I was interleaved with the downstream banded to 50-55 Mbps. I've kept the banding in place for now since my line historically has a problem with higher speeds/lower SNRM. I'd rather have a reduction in speed than higher latency.
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2018, 10:36:13 PM »

With those FEC errors per minute on the downstream I would definitely say reduce the banding further.

Don't remind me this FEC Errors on my downstream. So far after 1 day, 4 hours 25 mins my downstream FEC errors below:

Code: [Select]
Since Link time = 1 days 4 hours 25 min 23 sec
FEC:            17542   
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2018, 11:58:30 PM »

Don't remind me this FEC Errors on my downstream. So far after 1 day, 4 hours 25 mins my downstream FEC errors below:

Code: [Select]
Since Link time = 1 days 4 hours 25 min 23 sec
FEC:            17542   
That's extremely low. I get that every minute and I'm not worried.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2018, 03:43:04 PM »

lol Max, your line is fine. Jesus. Its a lot better than a lot of people....  ::)


My FEC errors seem like a lot compared to others on MDWS... :|

Going to try capping lower either tonight or tomorrow.
Logged
.Sam. on MDWS.

Zen Internet via HG612 with Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

hucknallred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2018, 07:29:58 PM »

lol Max, your line is fine. Jesus. Its a lot better than a lot of people....  ::)


My FEC errors seem like a lot compared to others on MDWS... :|

Going to try capping lower either tonight or tomorrow.

In my limited experience, the d/s SNRM needs to go above 10 to have any effect. Have a look at my stats, I got interleaved after my Billion 8800NL decided to lose all it's settings one day. Capping at 25000 had the SNRM at just under 10 & no DLM action, capping even lower had it at over 11 & DLM kicked in after just over 2 days. I'm keeping the cap in place for a bit as I was also banded from virtually day 1, to see if I can shift that too.
Logged
MDWS user - Gedpie

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2018, 06:58:17 PM »

Interleaving has been removed! Now just need G.INP to kick back in...
Logged
.Sam. on MDWS.

Zen Internet via HG612 with Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2018, 09:14:07 PM »

That's great news. You have to wait for at least 2 or 3 days of stable before G.INP will come back on. :)
Logged

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2018, 02:34:08 PM »

So I've just seen KingJ has had G.INP applied to his line due to him capping it.

I'm doing the same and I got bumped back to fastpath on the 4th, anyone fancy a guess (educated or other!) as to when/if I'll get G.INP on mine?! :D
Logged
.Sam. on MDWS.

Zen Internet via HG612 with Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2018, 02:43:54 PM »


I'm doing the same and I got bumped back to fastpath on the 4th, anyone fancy a guess (educated or other!) as to when/if I'll get G.INP on mine?! :D

I guess it will be anytime tomorrow for G.INP to be applied on your line
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2018, 04:05:22 PM »

So I've just seen KingJ has had G.INP applied to his line due to him capping it.

I'm doing the same and I got bumped back to fastpath on the 4th, anyone fancy a guess (educated or other!) as to when/if I'll get G.INP on mine?! :D
Have you removed the cap?
I recommend removing the cap after fastpath returns.
Within a couple days interleaving should be applied.
7 days after that KingJ had G.INP applied.
I'm hoping we get a pattern/trend we can follow.

I'd guess the 14th or 15th?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 04:07:36 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2018, 04:24:43 PM »

The cap is still in place. I thought I should keep the cap until G.INP is applied?
Logged
.Sam. on MDWS.

Zen Internet via HG612 with Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.
Pages: [1] 2 3