Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Migrating to Vodafone  (Read 1356 times)

Westie

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Migrating to Vodafone
« Reply #30 on: February 01, 2018, 10:16:08 PM »

OK, call to 17070 yields:
Quote
This circuit is defined as 01**** ******. Welcome to your OpenReach line test facilities...

So the line is not LLU, and VF is using a BTw line.

@NewtronStar Thanks for that info. I'll probably try it again from time to time, but won't lose any sleep if it doesn't work. Knowing my IPprofile won't help anyway, as I'm already syncing at 40/10.

Interestingly, the download speed reported by 'Ookla' at 20:48 this evening had dropped by 10Mbps to 25.8Mbps, but at 22:02 had regained 6Mbps. Sync has been constant at 39970bps throughout that time, so it seems there has been something of a congestion/contention issue at VF.

It doesn't really bother me, though. Even at its slowest it was almost 5 times faster than the best I could get from ADSL!  :cool:
Logged

Westie

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Migrating to Vodafone
« Reply #31 on: February 01, 2018, 10:24:39 PM »

Does not matter....you need to know your headend exchange.
[snip]
... my punt would be Carmarthen.

I think you are probably right.

*Thinks*...Now what is a headend exchange? ....[runs off to ask *oogle...]
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4751
Re: Migrating to Vodafone
« Reply #32 on: February 01, 2018, 10:42:02 PM »

If like me you you have a small local exchange only giving ADSL and Telephone the headend will be much larger exchange 3 miles away offering FTTC ADSL ADSL2+ and with LLU equipment for ISP's so your FTTC will be coming from headend exchange to your FTTC cabinet and you local exchange will only be doing the telephone stuff.
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4661
Re: Migrating to Vodafone
« Reply #33 on: February 02, 2018, 07:26:17 AM »

Or, as mooted ..... the term the planners/engineers use is, 'Parent & child' Exchanges. Just for your 'GOOGLING' pleasure.  :)
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: Migrating to Vodafone
« Reply #34 on: February 02, 2018, 10:18:05 AM »

@j0hn

Thank's for the clarification, the difference between Btw and OR has always been a bit of a grey area, for me anyway.

I thought that LLU exchange presence was applicable to ADSL & telephone service only and FTTC was always through the BT/OR network, obviously still a lot to learn on the subject.
LLU means Local Loop Unbundling. The Local Loop being the copper between the exchange and your property. Other providers have a presence/equipment in the exchange, and they can serve lines on the exchange (or local loop).

FTTC is different in that they all use OpenReachs DSLAMs.
True LLU FTTC would see Talktalk/Sky etc setting up their own FTTC cabinets next to the PCP.
Between the number of cabinets needed, crosstalk issues, no vectoring between multiple DSLAMs, etc, this just isn't possible.

Instead traffic is sent to the exchange and at that point LLU operators can buy a GEA cable link and connect up the local FTTC to their own equipment. Not LLU in the true sense imo, but a working compromise.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

tiffy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
Re: Migrating to Vodafone
« Reply #35 on: February 02, 2018, 11:17:02 AM »

@j0hn

Many thanks for the further clarification, always keen to learn from the more experienced forum members.
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A - Huawei Cab - MDWS ID tiffy
Pages: 1 2 [3]