Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.  (Read 3601 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31602
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #45 on: January 12, 2018, 02:03:57 PM »

Email headers from old version v new version.

Absolutely no changes made on my phone settings, nor to mail settings.   
The only thing different was the new version of DSLstats.



Headers from old version of DSLstats which did not generate a phone notification

Quote
Return-Path: <xxxxxx.co.uk>
Delivered-To: xxxxxx.co.uk
Received: from kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk
   by kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk with LMTP id CCtyN7muWFreZwAAJ4RmLg
   for <xxxxxx.co.uk>; Fri, 12 Jan 2018 12:48:58 +0000
Return-path: <xxxxxx.co.uk>
Envelope-to: xxxxxx.co.uk
Delivery-date: Fri, 12 Jan 2018 12:48:58 +0000
Received: from [my ip] (port=51010 helo=si7)
   by kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk with esmtpsa (TLSv1.2:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:256)
   (Exim 4.89_1)
   (envelope-from <xxxxxx.co.uk>)
   id 1eZylV-0006un-Ic
   for xxxxxx.co.uk; Fri, 12 Jan 2018 12:48:57 +0000
From: xxxxxx.co.uk
To: xxxxxx.co.uk
Subject: DSLstats alert



Headers from new version of DSLstats which does generate a notification and sound alarm.


Quote
Return-Path: <xxxxxx.co.uk>
Delivered-To: xxxxxx.co.uk
Received: from kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk
   by kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk with LMTP id 4FneAKOzWFq9dAAAJ4RmLg
   for <xxxxxx.co.uk>; Fri, 12 Jan 2018 13:09:55 +0000
Return-path: <xxxxxx.co.uk>
Envelope-to: xxxxxx.co.uk
Delivery-date: Fri, 12 Jan 2018 13:09:55 +0000
Received: from [my ip] (port=51237 helo=si7)
   by kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk with esmtpsa (TLSv1.2:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:256)
   (Exim 4.89_1)
   (envelope-from <xxxxxx.co.uk>)
   id 1eZz5m-0007lw-QO
   for xxxxxx.co.uk; Fri, 12 Jan 2018 13:09:54 +0000
From: xxxxxx.co.uk
To: xxxxxx.co.uk
Date: Fri, 12 Jan 2018 13:09:54 +0000
Subject: DSLstats alert

Thank you so much Eric :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 709
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2018, 09:39:14 AM »

Hi kitz

Iím soo pleased itís working.

Kudos to roseway

Many thanks

John
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31602
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2018, 11:05:18 AM »

.....  and JiT.  Tested for real as this morning was one of those days when the errors decided to get stuck. 

DSLstats warning notification came through with 19780 CRCs

- Slight delay because of 15 min mail checks.
- Another slight delay whilst I remotely set up a one off schedule for a fresh resync time with Kasa.
- Then used Kasa to take the modem off line.


At 10:20 as per schedule modem came back up.   CRCs and Err Secs cleared.
Damage during this period 1394 Err Secs.


Without the warning email & phone notification I would not have known.   Thank you Eric for adding this extremely useful feature. :thumbs:
 
Without scheduling Kasa to bring the modem back up remotely, this would have altered my day's uptime and thus affecting my MTBE.   
If for example I had been at my daughters for the day and not got back until late evening, without a doubt leaving the modem off for the rest of the day whilst already having received ~1400 Err/Secs would have been sufficient to trigger DLM MTBE red threshold of 30.


---
The only possible pitfall. 
Email notification sounds are a one off.  If I don't hear the alarm first time, then unlike with text notifications the sound file doesn't repeat every 5 mins.  My phone does only check every 15 mins, and I am now pretty certain that it does only notify based on the time in the sent field.
Whilst there will be a visual notification in my notification area, obviously this wont be spotted until I physically look at my phone. 
I dont think there is anything that can be done about that, other than me being aware if Im in a noisy environment and my phone is in my bag.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31602
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2018, 11:44:41 AM »

Now Im able to look at DSLstats I note that the oscillating SNRm is back, purely because I resyn'd rather than a DSLAM resync.  ???


But what I wanted to ask as Im curious
DSLstats collects stats every min. These are my current settings [see img below]


Would changing it to per sample make any difference?
And just so that I know, by design once it has reached and notified of a certain figure, will it not send out another email until that figure is higher?

The reason I ask is that despite CRCs being above 100 per min for a period of time, I was surprised that DSL stats didn't continue to send out mail every minute there after.

This is from my event log
Code: [Select]
13 Jan 2018 09:46:13 Auto snapshots taken
13 Jan 2018 09:52:13 Email alert sent: "Alert: Downstream CRC/min rose to 4863.00"
13 Jan 2018 09:53:14 Email alert sent: "Alert: Downstream CRC/min rose to 19780.00"
13 Jan 2018 10:19:13 Unable to login to modem/router
13 Jan 2018 10:20:13 Unable to login to modem/router
13 Jan 2018 10:21:13 Unable to collect stats 3 or more times in succession
13 Jan 2018 10:21:13 Unable to login to modem/router
13 Jan 2018 10:22:14 DSL connection restored. SNRMup = 9.3 dB, SNRMdown = 5.9 dB

Obviously the 'unable to login' can be ignored as by that time I'd used Kasa to power down the modem.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39335
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #49 on: January 13, 2018, 01:17:51 PM »

I see you've enabled the option "Keep trigger levels at the values set here", so DSLstats should be sending an alert every time the value exceeds the threshold. Changing to "Per sample" shouldn't make any difference. I'll have to refresh my memory of how it works, because I did this part of the program a long time ago.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31602
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2018, 02:15:27 PM »

No worries Eric, I was just being curious really.   

The main thing is everything worked exactly as intended this morning. 
Because I wasn't at the PC to notice it... I have no doubt that without this mornings notification,  DLM would have been on to it before me :) 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31602
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #51 on: January 17, 2018, 04:11:57 PM »

Well I can confirm this definitely works.   

Phone went off at ~ 05.45 this morning to inform me that the CRC threshold of 1000 had been breached.    I think I may have mentioned I have a specific sound file for dslstats to make it more likely to hear if my phone was in my handbag.  So yup I heard it loud and clear from the depths of sleep 

It then went off again several times at ~10:20 when I was in a meeting.  I got the comment...  "That's an interesting ring-tone".  I cba to explain  :lol:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39335
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #52 on: January 17, 2018, 04:40:54 PM »

:)
Logged
  Eric

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5436
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #53 on: January 17, 2018, 05:33:13 PM »

:)
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #54 on: January 18, 2018, 08:02:42 PM »

I'm glad you found a way to do this.
If my memory serves there is a website called ifttt.com which would enable similar functionality on the internet.

You would need to forward the email from dslstats to trigger@recipe.ifttt.com and create a small applet.

The email would trigger the applet to turn your TPLink smart plug off then on again.
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1072
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #55 on: January 19, 2018, 07:31:24 PM »

I don't know if it interests anyone here but in my free time I'm working on a small bash script which can act as a form of DLM preventative measure (or at least attempt to do so).

The plan is similar to what this thread is about, it could just be setup to re-sync if a certain number of error seconds have been reached for the current 24 hour period (based on the modem statistics). Alternatively it could also be setup to temporarily reduce the sync rate and then a little later on restore the sync rate if the errors stay low enough (such as on the following day or even the day after, depends on however it's configured).

It will be running on a Linux environment, but perhaps there's something on Windows (cygwin?) that can emulate Linux, or even a virtual machine. It will obviously need 'expect', possibly 'bc' and certainly 'telnet'. I can't say precisely when it'll be done but my aim is to have it finished by the end of next week.

The one thing I need to watch out for is a possible conflict with other stats monitoring programs when they login to telnet/SSH, as it seems devices like the Zyxel prefer only one active session at a time which sucks. So, as long as the stats monitoring program doesn't stay logged in to telnet/SSH or doesn't fetch stats at the exact same moment my 'expect' script does then it'll be fine :P.

EDIT: If anyone is interested then drop me a PM, in the meantime I'll continue testing and improving it.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 11:26:54 PM by Ixel »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5436
Re: Using DSLstats to detect line errors and force line to resync.
« Reply #56 on: March 06, 2018, 05:29:08 AM »

interested will pm later, thanks
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything