Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Please help line stats  (Read 632 times)

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2328
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2017, 07:51:07 PM »

Can I ask why you capped your sync at 54 ?
To get DLM to remove interleaving and delay
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 981
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2017, 07:57:47 PM »

to get as little errors as poss on the ds so dlm would relent. It was only a temporary cap until I went back to fastpath (I lost fastpath for an unknown spell of errors) at which point powering the modem off/on cleared the cap..
now back to 71 on the ds and it's bee  fine since.
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2017, 08:32:23 PM »

The OP is already capping at 60Mb to try and get DLM to relent.   
I think he meant is there any particular reason why you capped at 54Mbps..  ie why you chose 54Mbps to cap at.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2328
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2017, 08:50:30 PM »

You mean why that particular speed was chosen?
Logged

22over7

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2017, 09:09:41 PM »

I'm interested too. Is 55mbps a magical threshold?  Not trying to be funny -- it's a well-advertised BT retail "upto" quantity.  Was it just plucked out of the air?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2017, 09:11:00 PM »

Quote
You mean why that particular speed was chosen?

Ahuh...  that's how I read the question he was asking.     

Jmacp said in his first post "I have manually throttled the connection to 60mb / 20mb to hopefully get speeds up." so he obviously already knows about the use of temporary capping to try get DLM to take action quicker.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jmacp

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2017, 10:09:45 PM »

Hi

Let me clarify I was asking why 55mb is there a reason ?  Or do you just choose as fast a speed as you think your line will be good at ?

Thanks

John
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1087
Re: Please help line stats
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2017, 01:43:41 AM »

The lower the cap, the less ES/FEC the line will have.
There's no specific number to set a cap at.

To shake my interleaving (which had been on the line for 9 months despite being ILQ green for all that time) I had to get my ES down you under 20 per 24 hours.

Your ES are in the single digits so I think your cap is sufficient. Give it 10-11 days from applying the cap to see if interleaving drops.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats
Pages: 1 [2]