Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Return to cable  (Read 2689 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2394
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #30 on: December 16, 2017, 07:00:08 PM »

I hope Broadstairs and the other Kitz member (sorry, forgot who ?), are reading this ?? They are due to migrate shortly if memory serves ???  :P

How could you possibly forget me BS  ;D

burakkucat is correct we are getting proper FTTP, so should all work very well, and I'm sure I won't be quite as picky as ADSLMax  ;)

I'll also point you to this thread, VM have been doing a lot of work, they've had to!
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30619
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #31 on: December 16, 2017, 07:18:42 PM »

My cable broadband will be disconnected on Monday because service isn't very reliable and suffer loss of service. Cancelled it with my 14 days cooling off.

Going to stay with FTTC with Plusnet as the cease order has been successful removed.

Oh!   :o

Dare I ask what happened with VM when you say unreliable?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4567
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #32 on: December 17, 2017, 04:18:02 PM »

How could you possibly forget me BS  ;D

burakkucat is correct we are getting proper FTTP, so should all work very well, and I'm sure I won't be quite as picky as ADSLMax  ;)

I'll also point you to this thread, VM have been doing a lot of work, they've had to!

Ha ha .... apologies Ronski, I'm extremely busy these days and my memory is poor at the best of times.  :-[ ;D
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #33 on: December 17, 2017, 06:19:04 PM »

Oh!   :o

Dare I ask what happened with VM when you say unreliable?

Service become loss of broadband downtime for 12 hours. So, I was thinking back in 2014 when Virgin Media is very bad in my area with congestion and loss of service problem haven't improved at all. So, I am staying with FTTC, mind you, I have to accepted 74Meg banded by DLM doesn't bother me anymore cos I just enjoy watching Netflix , Sky Go online and xbox etc. Help me to keep my mind off.
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2749
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #34 on: December 17, 2017, 08:28:07 PM »

Got noticed from BTw to alert me there is multiple orders open on my line which it due to be complete by 19th dec 2017. And cease on the broadband pending to be completed by 19th dec 2017.

Any thoughts out there on the  name of the exchange max is on?>:D
Logged

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #35 on: December 17, 2017, 08:45:31 PM »

I have to accepted 74Meg banded by DLM
First world problems.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20614
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #36 on: December 18, 2017, 12:45:58 AM »

Any thoughts out there on the  name of the exchange max is on?>:D

I know it is Cuckoo Oak, WNCKO.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2394
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #37 on: December 18, 2017, 10:19:59 AM »

Ha ha .... apologies Ronski, I'm extremely busy these days and my memory is poor at the best of times.  :-[ ;D

Me to, 13 hours working on the house yesterday, it WILL be done before Christmas. Carpets being fitted this afternoon,  then just some relatively simple things to finish off.
Logged

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #38 on: December 18, 2017, 01:55:54 PM »

First world problems.

You say that. But it is a constant source of irritation to know that something has been artificially limited for no real reason.
Logged
VMG8324-B10A Bridge | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Pro + Lite

V_R

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #39 on: December 18, 2017, 06:25:23 PM »

You say that. But it is a constant source of irritation to know that something has been artificially limited for no real reason.

I know, like how I moved to Plusnet and now only seem to be able to hit 60Mb when I was previously getting 75Mb with Zen you mean?  ;)
Logged

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #40 on: December 18, 2017, 06:42:24 PM »

I know, like how I moved to Plusnet and now only seem to be able to hit 60Mb when I was previously getting 75Mb with Zen you mean?  ;)

:)

I was banded at 74 meg for months (it was triggered by me testing/trialing a Draytek Vigor 130) and it only got removed when I moved from BT to Plusnet 18 months back. It has been syncing at a solid 79999/19999 ever since.

I plan to move to Zen next month so it will be interesting to see how my line copes, especially because a few additional houses on my street have switched to VDSL2 :-\

I should be back here moaning about it soon :lol:
Logged
VMG8324-B10A Bridge | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Pro + Lite

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #41 on: December 18, 2017, 06:48:00 PM »

I am expecting mine to be banded at 74Meg until next summer 2018 when G. Fast become avaliable for cuckoo oak then I am sure that banded will be removed off by G fast. Will upgraded to 330/50 G. Fast depends my line length to the street cabinet at approx 250m away.
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1276
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #42 on: December 18, 2017, 08:58:54 PM »

Max are you doing loads of speed tests and using up all the bandwidth?  :o

@Kitz how did you specify an area when looking up virgin media? I'm trying to scout out my area.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30619
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #43 on: December 19, 2017, 01:47:43 AM »

I got it from the map which highlights areas with an outage, then clicked the location link
https://istheservicedown.co.uk/status/virgin-media/map
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #44 on: December 19, 2017, 10:31:42 AM »

I am expecting mine to be banded at 74Meg until next summer 2018 when G. Fast become avaliable for cuckoo oak then I am sure that banded will be removed off by G fast. Will upgraded to 330/50 G. Fast depends my line length to the street cabinet at approx 250m away.

Nice. Are the G.Fast rollout plans published anywhere? I don't see any work being carried out in my area so typically, we'll be among the last to get anything new.
Logged
VMG8324-B10A Bridge | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Pro + Lite
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4