Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Return to cable  (Read 2692 times)

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Return to cable
« on: December 04, 2017, 08:04:39 PM »

I am now back with virgin media cable (broadband standalone) the Telford virgin media shop was nice lady that offering me a great deal. 12 months contract with VIVID200 for 27 a month (after that will revert to 37 a month) with one off activation fee 20. But Hub 3 is free of charge and take home straight away and plug all it in and call activation team to activated my Hub 3 mac address with my virgin media account number and all connected well with 221/12. Happy overall with it.

Will going to cease plusnet fttc with line only as my contract with plusnet is now ended. Openreach charged me 30 for a cease on the line or maybe I downgrade it to ADSL2+ for back up only.

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20614
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 08:50:30 PM »

As I understand it, sometime in the past, you previously had a VM connection. Is that correct?  :-\

If your contact with Plusnet is now expired, surely you just let them know that you no longer require their service. I don't think you need to formally "cease" anything . . . as it might be regarded as a signal to charge a cease fee.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2017, 09:28:43 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 09:22:04 PM »

Yes I use to have virgin media cable before back in 2014 (this was the last time I ever use it before switch over to plusnet for fttc)
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 09:51:33 PM »

Why did you move away from Virgin Media in 2014 ?
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 09:55:14 PM »

Because it was bad congestion area that time in 2014 but was told Telford area is no congestion area now.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30621
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2017, 10:04:26 PM »

He needs to advise PN he no longer needs  broadband. Cease fee will still apply.  Its an Openreach charge for removing DSL from the line so no escaping it

Not even sure if there's a downgrade fee or whether that will still attract some sort of cease and re-provide as I cant see anything in the Openreach documents for a migration path from VDSL to ADSL.  I seem to recall that to get it free then the vdsl speeds had to have no improvement from adsl.. but dont quote me on that.   Best asking Plusnet.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2017, 10:28:26 PM »

@kitz am I correct cease fttc on the line 30 and cease phone line only (telephone) will be 30 mean total to pay 60 to Openreach?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30621
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2017, 10:52:54 PM »

afaik theres no charge putting a stop on the phone line as long as you give notice of either 30 or 14 days (cant recall the term of the top of my head)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30621
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2017, 11:38:43 PM »

Max are you doing loads of speed tests and using up all the bandwidth?  :o

Quote
Problems detected at Virgin Media

Virgin Media in Telford, Telford and Wrekin, England problems in the last 24 hours
December 04: Problems at Virgin Media
Virgin Media is having issues since 05:30 PM GMT.

 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2017, 11:41:26 PM »

@Kitz No problem in my area since 4pm. No issues. My area doesn't have 350Mbps cable at the moment but was told it wil bring to my area next March / April 2018 for free upgrade speed boost itself.

« Last Edit: December 04, 2017, 11:44:49 PM by adslmax »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20614
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2017, 12:29:01 AM »

Max are you doing loads of speed tests and using up all the bandwidth?  :o

Methinks Kitz is jesting!  ;)  :D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2017, 06:04:42 PM »

My fibre (FTTC) and line only are now placed for to cease (cancelled) by 19th December. Because I am now with Virgin Media cable broadband stand alone for 27 a month for 12 months with a speed of 221Meg down and 12Meg up. So, don't need plusnet billing and virgin media billing at the same time. Sad to see my FTTC to end but I just don't like DLM system. Virgin Media is a freedom (no DLM) and always get the same sync rate no matter if router is off or on. And no more waiting for 30 minutes to avoid DLM.

Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1491
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2017, 06:46:31 PM »

The Openreach FTTC cease fee appears to be zero. The BTWholesale FTTC cease fee is 31.12 ex. VAT for Market B areas. In Market A areas, the cease fee is zero as required by Ofcom. Of course, what an ISP charges their customer may vary from whatever the wholesale prices are.
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 489
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2017, 06:52:21 PM »

More likely the greed of plusnet making profit out of the cease charged. But I don't care anymore as I am soon no longer with plusnet.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1123
Re: Return to cable
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2017, 07:07:41 PM »

If they charge you 30 then they are making a loss. I wouldn't call that greedy.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
 

anything