Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 21 22 [23] 24 25 26

Author Topic: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)  (Read 19336 times)

lofgents

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #330 on: December 06, 2017, 08:59:49 PM »

I am using 1.03 firmware and found a problem with the VOIP. I tried to set up the VOIP on the 4130 but it would not register so have been using the modem supplied by my isp configuring an ethernet port for dsl. The connection is good and both phones work from the isp modem. However after a short time the modem loses internet for a few seconds and also the phones, it then reconnects but intermittently loses connection. Is this a sign that the latency is causing this problem.
Logged

shdf

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • Liveboxinfo
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #331 on: December 06, 2017, 09:40:51 PM »

The best source for the VOIP configuration is here :
https://www.crc.id.au/hacking-the-technicolor-tg799vac-and-unlocking-features/
go to the Configure a third party SIP provider section.
i just had to edit this file a little : /etc/config/mmpbxrvsipnet
and it worked like a charm...
Logged
DGA4130 Firmware 1.0.4 Webui 4.5.10

Lil-Koby

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #332 on: December 06, 2017, 09:55:12 PM »

@shdf
Ok, I will try to update the firmware tomorrow...
Do you still recommend gui version 3.25 or is it safe to go for the newest version ?

Btw, i've found two other driver versions which are reported to work, "Archer_VR2800v_B2pvbH042s_25.11.2016" and "DSL-AC87VG_B2pvbH042l_02.03.2016".
I can upload them if someone wants to try them out. Just let me know...

Please let us know if a newer xdsl driver becomes available or a newer firmware version that has resolved the ping/latency issue.
Thanks and best regards !
Logged

Ozymandias

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #333 on: December 06, 2017, 10:46:10 PM »

fwiw I've extracted the release dates md5's of the various xdsl drivers:

B2pvfbH043g.d26m   02/03/2017 11:50:46  42E93153DB06857021FAF1DE1B320F6D  asus\dsl-ac87vg\1.00.14_build508 - 15 may 17
B2pvbH042l.d26m    03/02/2016 15:00:33  EFEE94080F1AB7E29A1C7A571A6C8488  asus\dsl-ac87vg\B2pvbH042l_02.03.2016
A2pvbH042j2.d26m   01/13/2016 14:08:30  453DC537D3CBD6F45657C9EB8BA2EB40  asus\dsl-ac88u\1.10.03_build398 - 21 jul 17
A2pvbH042n.d26m    04/28/2016 23:13:14  9086CC14D865B8EC090345545425BA40  netgear\d7000 v1\1.0.1.50
A2pvbH042r.d26m    09/30/2016 20:01:16  DB76CA2F5015DD17504F1C658373E0AA  technocolor\dga4130\1.0.3 and 1.0.2
A2pvbH042u.d26m    03/26/2017 18:15:19  BCFAED886A6DFD6CD2A0BE2AC4E3823C  technocolor\dga4130\1.0.4
A2pvfbH043k.d26m   08/31/2017 12:23:42  5988D3C56B0FEE3CE0C3843CDA4358B1  technocolor\dga4130\1.1.0_001
B2pvbH042s.d26m    11/25/2016 11:27:01  2A44B0DD6C0B24C29F8EA1AAB10D60F0  tp-link\archer vr2800 v1\B2pvbH042s_25.11.2016

These may crash/hang the router with firmware 1.0.3:
A2pvfbH043k.d26m   08/31/2017 12:23:42  5988D3C56B0FEE3CE0C3843CDA4358B1  asus\dsl-ac88u\1.10.04_build460 - 16 nov 17
A2pvfbH043g.d26m   02/03/2017 11:44:27  FBAADE8F05CAD074403B693FEDC9A2B8  fritzbox\7581\6.85
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 11:00:57 PM by Ozymandias »
Logged

Lil-Koby

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #334 on: December 06, 2017, 11:10:18 PM »

@Ozymandias, thanks !
I would love to try A2pvfbH043k.d26m if it's compatible with firmware 1.0.3...
Logged

shdf

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • Liveboxinfo
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #335 on: December 07, 2017, 07:15:23 AM »

@Lil-Koby
The Problem with the GUI is that each new version is supposed to fix some bugs, but it creates antoher bugs which were not present in the previous versions...
Actualy i would say that 3.25 is Good, 3.36 has an annoying bug reported here:
https://www.ilpuntotecnicoeadsl.com/forum/index.php?topic=77878.msg225258#msg225258
but once you manualy fix the bug everything seems to be OK.

About the xdsl driver A2pvfbH043k.d26m, someone replaced only the driver file adsl_phy.bin and the modem went in a bootloop. he had to reflash the firmware with TFTPD.
i'm not sure, it's just a guess, but i think you also have to replace the tools controling the driver like xdslctl to get it working.

Well looks like Technicolor and Asus are now using the same Driver A2pvfbH043k.d26m...

the changelog related to the dsl part on asus website is :
- Include G.fast capability in Auto-Sync mode for DSL modulation.
- xDSL Datapump updated: Combo version A2pvfbH043k. Fixed various xDSL issues.
- xDSL Driver updated: A2x026r. Fixed various xDSL issues.
- System Log > DSL Log, display FEC counter.
- System Log > DSL Log, display VDSL band status under VDSL mode.
- System Log > DSL Log, display System Vendor ID/ System Vendor Model ID/ Modem Vendor ID.
- Fixed G.INP/ G.Vectoring DSL Modulation display issue.
- VDSL Profile excludes 30a from Multi mode as there could be issue against legacy DSLAMs(especially with non-BRCM CO) if 30a is enabled by default. 35b will be included in Multi mode in next release.
- Add mutex lock for DSL status file.
- Correct DSL Log > Path mode output.

Edit:
Maybe the start/stop script /etc/init.d/xdsl has to be related to the Driver version. if you watch inside there are a lot of parameters sets.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2017, 08:26:33 AM by shdf »
Logged
DGA4130 Firmware 1.0.4 Webui 4.5.10

lofgents

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #336 on: December 07, 2017, 03:28:47 PM »

The best source for the VOIP configuration is here :
https://www.crc.id.au/hacking-the-technicolor-tg799vac-and-unlocking-features/
go to the Configure a third party SIP provider section.
i just had to edit this file a little : /etc/config/mmpbxrvsipnet
and it worked like a charm...

Thanks I had read the item on the link previously but could not get the line to register. I will experiment further tomorrow.
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1881
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #337 on: December 07, 2017, 08:34:37 PM »

I'm on 3.9, which firmware should I change to? Will this give better VDSL performance?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38797
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #338 on: December 07, 2017, 10:53:55 PM »

3.9 refers to the GUI, not the modem firmware. Changing it doesn't affect your DSL performance at all, and now you have 3.9 you can safely upgrade the GUI while the modem is connected to the internet. I suggest version 3.25. Version 3.36 is the latest, but it has a bug which may result in loss of DNS. This can be fixed with a little mild hacking.
Logged
  Eric

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1881
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #339 on: December 07, 2017, 11:24:49 PM »

3.9 refers to the GUI, not the modem firmware. Changing it doesn't affect your DSL performance at all, and now you have 3.9 you can safely upgrade the GUI while the modem is connected to the internet. I suggest version 3.25. Version 3.36 is the latest, but it has a bug which may result in loss of DNS. This can be fixed with a little mild hacking.


So how do I improve the DSL performance as my understanding is there's a newer DSL driver?
Logged

shdf

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • Liveboxinfo
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #340 on: December 08, 2017, 07:18:42 AM »

Do not expect any better performance, it's only about bug fixes and some new features.
Logged
DGA4130 Firmware 1.0.4 Webui 4.5.10

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38797
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #341 on: December 08, 2017, 07:39:07 AM »

With GUI 3.9 installed you already have a more recent modem driver. I don't believe that you can safely upgrade this further. This was discussed recently in this thread.
Logged
  Eric

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1881
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #342 on: December 08, 2017, 02:56:59 PM »

Ah I see. I am also bemused, as 3.25 is a lower number than 3.9 so the firmware is older?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38797
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #343 on: December 08, 2017, 03:46:04 PM »

These aren't decimal numbers, even though they look like it. The conventional way of numbering software versions is to have two or more numbers separated by dots. The first number is the major version, the second is the minor version, and there may be further numbers representing build numbers or revision numbers, etc.

So 3.25 is major version 3, minor version 25, so it's later than 3.9.
Logged
  Eric

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1881
Re: Modem/Router VDSL2 Technicolor DGA4130 (BCM63138)
« Reply #344 on: December 08, 2017, 04:04:44 PM »

These aren't decimal numbers, even though they look like it. The conventional way of numbering software versions is to have two or more numbers separated by dots. The first number is the major version, the second is the minor version, and there may be further numbers representing build numbers or revision numbers, etc.

So 3.25 is major version 3, minor version 25, so it's later than 3.9.

You've lost me I'm afraid.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 21 22 [23] 24 25 26