Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut  (Read 752 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« on: September 12, 2017, 09:52:36 PM »

Hi guys can you help. I had a power cut today and now i cant access the router page. It says;

Settings have been updated. Web page will now refresh. Changes have been made to the ip address or port number. You will now be disconnected from the Rt-n66u.
To acess the settings of the rt-n66u, reconnect to the wireless network and use the updated ip address and port number.

I had changed to ip before to 192.168.1.2 when i first set it up as it conflicted with the or modem.

How do i find the router ip to access its page?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5031
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2017, 09:55:33 PM »

if a power cycle doesnt fix it then looks like you need to do a reset, I hope you have a backup of settings you can import again.

If you was accessing on wrong ip you wouldnt even get that page.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 542
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 10:51:27 PM »

I would power cycle both router and pc one more time then try again on the original IP address by LAN or WLAN. I tend to disable that screen in the admin settings.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 10:54:59 PM »

The odd thing is i can access the page on my mobile by the same ip. I managed to see the router page and i think ita changed the subnet and also the gateway as changed to. Is there anyway to change those details?

The mobile van also access the net.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2017, 11:37:49 PM »

I'll try a power down tomorrow. At the moment i think its gone whacko.

I got in to the settings page via my mobile. I went to change the lan and subnet, it had my previod setting there, I clicked apply but it didnt change them.

The subnet its is
255.255.255.255
255.255.0.0

Gateway
172.16.13.42

I seem to have 2 wan ip addresses too. Not noticed that before. Dual wan is off.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 01:11:23 PM »

I replaced both the router and or modem and still no joy. I can login to the router page on the one but the subnet mask thing is now 255.255.255.255

Who allocates the subnet mask? I tried to change it in the router settings but it never updates.

The gateway is still 172.16.13.42 which changed too.

Im having to buy a hub before bt will send out an engineer.

Does anyone have an educated guess as to whats happening?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 555
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2017, 01:35:17 PM »

Hi Bowden

It's a strange one but please could you try this

Turn power off router on the switch at back of router

Unplug the power lead from the router in full (so no power lead is connected to router at all)

Wait 5 minutes (usually a couple of minutes would work but 5 to be sure)

Turn your computer off

After 5 minutes have elapsed, power up your router

After a minutes or 2, power up your computer once your router lights are steady, showing router is working

Try to connect

If you still cannot connect, set your computer nic to dhcp (if it is not already)

Try again

If that does not work, then I believe your only real option is to factory reset your router and start again

I apologise if I'm wrong though, as we do not use your router

Many thanks

John
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2017, 02:32:04 PM »

Thanks for replying mate.

I tried a backup router (same make and model) and its still stuck.

Ive been looking around the net and it seems the 255.255.255.255 is for a static ip address, which apparently for business users only.

For some reason in the power cut its like bt switched my setup. Not sure if its possible for me to change things back. Going to buy this hub and see if it connects with that.

Thanks for the reply.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 555
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2017, 02:47:28 PM »

Hi Bowden

Ahh sorry I thought it was your internal Lan and wan issue

If it helps, I can send you a hh5 to save you buying one, if you send it back when finished


Also, have you tried setting your wan to dhcp - although I thought static was dhcp assigned on Mac with bt

Many thanks

John
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2017, 03:02:20 PM »

Hi

Im not sure how to do the wan to dhcp thing. I wish this router would have better offline information about the options.

Thanks for the offer of the hh5. I ordered one so we'll see if it works. Im thinking it wont but before bt will even send out an engineer out the want to see the hub.

Ill post back with any updates.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1091
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2017, 03:22:33 PM »

Why have you had to buy a HomeHub?
You simply need to factory reset the Asus.
The subnet is set by you, nothing to do with the ISP.
They can't change/touch/alter anything on your Asus router.
It just sounds like the config has got corrupted during the power cut.

If you can log into the Asus on your phone but not from the PC then you need to clear cache on the PC.

The Asus always shows 2 WAN IPs from BT. You've probably just never noticed it.

If you ask for an engineer for this they'll come out and tell you they can't help and you'll get the standard 130+ call out charge for it being your equipment.

Out of interest, what modem are you using with the Asus router?
« Last Edit: September 13, 2017, 03:26:29 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2017, 04:59:02 PM »

It wouldnt let me change the subnet ip. I also removed that router and put a new bought one on and still the same problem.. ie says its connected but wont do anything. Im mentioning the subnet mask because that and the gateway changed. I even changed my pc to accept settings from the router but it still doesnt work.

Something changed those settings in the time of the storm as i had every lan ip set to static so they all stopped working, including the cctv cameras i have on the network.

I picked up the home hub and it connected but again there is no internet.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2348
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2017, 05:03:45 PM »

with or without the hg612?
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1263
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2017, 05:32:53 PM »

Without.

I thought i'd go back to basics.

I used a laptop connected next to the hub. But sadly still no joy.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - HG612 & Asus RT-N66U - ECI Cab

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2348
Re: My rt-n66u locked me out after power cut
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2017, 05:49:26 PM »

Could you post the details on the helpdesk page on the troubleshooting menu on the homehub management pages?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything