Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES  (Read 910 times)

shaun1264

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« on: August 22, 2017, 08:05:50 PM »

Back in late May I changed Fibre supplier from BT to Plusnet with a view of getting faster speeds.  I was on the upto 40 service with BT and with Plusnet 20/80 service.  When I changed over I suffered quite a few errored seconds which resulted in interleaving being switched on on the downstream.  Things settled down and I was put on fast path about 4 weeks ago now.  Then large amount of errors happened again and back to interleaving. 

Ive changed the Router to a VMG8924-B10A from a 8800Nl R2, changed router/modem cable to a short Cat6e, moved any electrical device away from router, changed face plate to a openreach mark 4, installed ferrite beads on electrical appliances cables.  Currently im trialing a ADSL Nation xf-1e connected to test plug which ive seen a small improvement in ES and higher snyc.  The upstream ES still happen (upstream on fast path and stuck around 7mbps. Perhaps capped)  Snr seems to drop around 5.5db in the evenings.

Ive been uploading my stats on and off to mydslwebstats for a few days now. Username is shaun1264

Current Modem stats:


====================================================================================
    VDSL Training Status:   Showtime
                    Mode:   VDSL2 Annex B
            VDSL Profile:   Profile 17a
                G.Vector:   Disable
            Traffic Type:   PTM Mode
             Link Uptime:   0 day: 7 hours: 42 minutes
====================================================================================
       VDSL Port Details       Upstream         Downstream
               Line Rate:      7.273 Mbps       42.293 Mbps
    Actual Net Data Rate:      7.246 Mbps       42.217 Mbps
          Trellis Coding:         ON                ON
              SNR Margin:        6.1 dB            5.9 dB
            Actual Delay:          0 ms              8 ms
          Transmit Power:        4.3 dBm          12.5 dBm
           Receive Power:       -6.7 dBm          -9.2 dBm
              Actual INP:        0.0 symbols       3.0 symbols
       Total Attenuation:        0.0 dB          21.8 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate:      7.242 Mbps       49.050 Mbps
====================================================================================
  VDSL Band Status        U0      U1      U2      U3      U4      D1      D2      D3
  Line Attenuation(dB):    6.8    35.6    54.6     N/A     N/A    16.6    43.4    67.8   
Signal Attenuation(dB):    6.8    34.8    52.0     N/A     N/A    18.4    43.1    68.4   
        SNR Margin(dB):    6.1    6.2    6.1     N/A     N/A    5.9    5.9    5.9   
         TX Power(dBm):    0.0   -7.1    1.5     N/A     N/A    9.1    7.9    5.6   
====================================================================================

            VDSL Counters

           Downstream        Upstream
Since Link time = 42 min 35 sec
FEC:      267398      347
CRC:      58      62
ES:      17      54
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 54 sec
FEC:      6895      260
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:      11630      7
CRC:      5      0
ES:      1      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Latest 1 day time = 7 hours 42 min 54 sec
FEC:      267398      347
CRC:      58      62
ES:      17      54
SES:      0      0
UAS:      19      19
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC:      0      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Total time = 7 hours 42 min 54 sec
FEC:      267398      347
CRC:      58      62
ES:      17      54
SES:      0      0
UAS:      19      19
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
===========================================================================

Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4643
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2017, 10:00:28 PM »

Why is there no G.INP on this circuit ?
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 495
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2017, 10:12:07 PM »

Good question how long does it take for first G.INP to be applied. In the order of weeks, I think.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

lee111s

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2017, 10:36:32 PM »

From reading on here anything from 5-8 weeks.

Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 495
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2017, 10:42:41 PM »

Depends what date in May it was enabled.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

shaun1264

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2017, 10:43:23 PM »

Yep no G.IMP.  Its never been on .

Sometimes I think Openreach are slow to enable G.IMP on cabinets round my area. 

ive tried everthing to increase the speed too.

I did notice before I moved to Plusnet SNR went down to 3dB
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 495
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2017, 10:45:51 PM »

I have seen instances of people migrating ISP and they start again wrt to 3db and G.INP Shaun.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4643
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2017, 10:49:32 PM »

Back in late May I changed Fibre supplier from BT to Plusnet with a view of getting faster speeds.

Yeap 7- 8 weeks but three months is taking the pee, or the DLM has got confused and needs reset
Logged

shaun1264

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2017, 11:03:20 PM »

I have seen instances of people migrating ISP and they start again wrt to 3db and G.INP Shaun.

Thats interesting. Maybe G.INP was switched on soon after migrating but for whatever reason went off and not come back. I always thought I saw the 3db SNR just before the switch over.
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 931
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2017, 11:11:01 PM »

We had a new line and service. 10 days from activation  g.inp was enabled (cab1, combe down)
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

shaun1264

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2017, 11:49:20 AM »

Would an TV antenna cable running parallel to the drop wire on the other side of the window cause ES? In the past the aerial wire has had static electric running through it. 
Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 909
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2017, 02:27:07 PM »

No, it shouldn't.
Quote
Total time = 7 hours 42 min 54 sec
ES:      17      54
54 ES in almost 8 hours while on fastpath is absolutely nothing to worry about. In my opinion it's a very low amount of errors, nowhere near the DLM limits.
High ES should be expected on fastpath, and there's nothing you can do to stop them. Optimizing the internal wiring can only reduce them by a small amount, but your ES count is already low.

edit: I got the downstream/upstream mixed. still not a high amount of ES though. Nothing to worry about
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4643
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2017, 06:01:27 PM »

The errored seconds should be low John as he/she is on interleaving INT:831 INP:3.00 DLY:8 but not on fastpath
Logged

shaun1264

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2017, 07:00:02 PM »

I've been playing around a bit making sure the cable connectors are in firmly into sockets (which caused a resync and SES) and i've disconnected the phone which has a 3m RJ10 wire. This has resulted in no ES on the US and DS for 30mins now.  Fingers crossed...
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4643
Re: Errored Seconds, stuck on interleaving and cause of ES
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2017, 08:04:39 PM »

Don't see much you can now do at your end (internally) to improve your line, G.INP would help with ES and give you big boost of sync and also X target margin from 6dB to 3dB would give you a small boost if your line can hold on with a lower SNRM without starting to spew out unwanted ES.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything