Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DSLStats closing after first sample.  (Read 865 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38705
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #15 on: August 13, 2017, 03:07:01 PM »

I appreciate that you're trying to find the cause, but the upload program is the same in v6.0.2 and v6.0.4. Version 17 of the upload program was introduced in v6.0.2. The only change that affected MDWS uploads was the addition of HEC's to the uploads. But that only involved the copying of two values from one location to another, and if I'd got that wrong there would be an error message, it wouldn't cause the program to close abruptly.

That's the difficulty in understanding this problem. The small number of coding changes between the two versions wouldn't cause the program to close abruptly, unless I'd done something really gross. If this were the case, it would affect every user, but it doesn't.
Logged
  Eric

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 990
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2017, 03:38:22 PM »

Banger, did you by any chance switch the upload16.exe and the upload17.exe and rename it? This was a quick workaround discussed in another DslStats thread recently.

It's the only thing I can think of if both versions should have the same upload17.exe file, and only 1 is crashing.

Try overwriting the upload file from DslStats 6.0.4 with the working version from 6.0.2 and see if it still crashes when uploading to MDWS.

It sounds like the files have either been switched, or an AV exclusion has been added for the 6.0.2 directory that hasn't been added for your 6.0.4 directory.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2017, 03:45:54 PM »

Banger, did you by any chance switch the upload16.exe and the upload17.exe and rename it? This was a quick workaround discussed in another DslStats thread recently.

It's the only thing I can think of if both versions should have the same upload17.exe file, and only 1 is crashing.

Try overwriting the upload file from DslStats 6.0.4 with the working version from 6.0.2 and see if it still crashes when uploading to MDWS.

It sounds like the files have either been switched, or an AV exclusion has been added for the 6.0.2 directory that hasn't been added for your 6.0.4 directory.

That fixes it John. Copying upload17.exe to the 6.0.4 dir allows it to upload successfully so something has happened to upload17.exe in 6.0.4.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38705
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #18 on: August 13, 2017, 04:04:21 PM »

There's only ever been one version of upload17.exe, and the identical file is included in the downloads for v6.0.2, 6.0.3 and 6.0.4. So I don't know what went wrong on your system, but if it's now working properly then I'm happy. :)
Logged
  Eric

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2017, 04:05:58 PM »

Something to do with permissions?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38705
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #20 on: August 13, 2017, 04:44:48 PM »

Windows filesystems don't have any support for permissions in the way that Unix-type systems do. So long as the file can be seen by the user, and has a .exe extension, then Windows will run it.
Logged
  Eric

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 544
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #21 on: August 13, 2017, 04:59:25 PM »

Hi

I could be wrong sorry, but UAC (user access control) maybe stopping it

Do you start dslstats with run as administrator or for a test, could you turn off UAC  in windows

As I said, I could be wrong so apologies in advance

Many thanks

John
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4944
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2017, 05:22:23 PM »

possibilities are

1 - any cloud service with 3rd party a/v vendors that use a trust system to allow executables
2 - microsoft's own cloud service aka smartscreen on win8 and win10 this is system wide.
3 - anti executable such as software restriction policies, by default this is disabled so wont be the cause if its never been used.
4 - anti exploit protection, this is where anti exploit software hooks on to running programs to enforce things like ASLR, this can cause programs to not work.   Personally I dont believe dslstats to be affected by this but I cannot say this for sure across every anti exploit software.

dslstats doesnt require UAC so wont be that, unless you accidentally ticked the box to run as administrator in the file properties.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2017, 06:36:20 PM »

UAC is off but that wouldn't make any difference as I moved the 6.0.2 upload17.exe to the 6.0.4 folder. I am not quite sure what has happened other than a cockup on the DSLStats front but all is working now on 6.0.4 and it has been up for a few hours.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2017, 11:52:15 PM »

One other thing I have noticed is that if you set graph backgrounds to black they all change except the G.INP graph. Have I missed a setting somewhere?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38705
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #25 on: August 14, 2017, 07:14:39 AM »

No, you're right. That's an omission on my part. It will be corrected in the next release.
Logged
  Eric

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #26 on: August 15, 2017, 02:16:54 PM »

Many thanks, great program and thanks for spending your free time doing it. :)
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38705
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLStats closing after first sample.
« Reply #27 on: August 15, 2017, 02:21:20 PM »

Thank you :)
Logged
  Eric
Pages: 1 [2]