Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: VMG1312-B10A Username and Password  (Read 821 times)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: VMG1312-B10A Username and Password
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2017, 08:05:28 PM »

Definitely works on my 8324 - very strange.

I can remote into any machine (Linux or windows) on network and it recognises any dns hostname I have added to the router.  Only the router knows the names so it has to be the router resolving them.

DNS names you have added - manually?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20161
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG1312-B10A Username and Password
« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2017, 08:35:02 PM »

The next thing I need to figure out is why this router won't let me ping clients by their hostnames. My Raspberry Pi is called "raspberrypi" but pinging that results in an error. It is called "raspberrypi" on the VMG1312's admin pages so this is very odd indeed.

I may have misunderstood and, thus, confused everyone with my experiment, above.  :-[

In my tests, I was using the functions on the VMG1312-B10D device's Maintenance >> Diagnostic page page . . .

(b*cat goes in search of suitable brown paper bag. :paperbag:  )
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: VMG1312-B10A Username and Password
« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2017, 08:44:16 PM »

I may have misunderstood and, thus, confused everyone with my experiment, above.  :-[

In my tests, I was using the functions on the VMG1312-B10D device's Maintenance >> Diagnostic page page . . .

(b*cat goes in search of suitable brown paper bag. :paperbag:  )

If you open a terminal on a PC, can you ping a device by its hostname? I cannot.
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: VMG1312-B10A Username and Password
« Reply #18 on: July 13, 2017, 08:55:18 PM »

How very strange, reset my VMG1312 to factory resets and cleared the ROM-D for good measure and pinging by hostname is now working.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20161
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG1312-B10A Username and Password
« Reply #19 on: July 13, 2017, 08:56:18 PM »

If you open a terminal on a PC, can you ping a device by its hostname? I cannot.

Ah, let me see --

Code: [Select]
[Duo2 ~]$ ping -c 5 ap
PING AP (192.168.1.254) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from AP (192.168.1.254): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=7.22 ms
64 bytes from AP (192.168.1.254): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=5.35 ms
64 bytes from AP (192.168.1.254): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=3.06 ms
64 bytes from AP (192.168.1.254): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=6.38 ms
64 bytes from AP (192.168.1.254): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=3.07 ms

--- AP ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4008ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 3.067/5.022/7.227/1.699 ms
[Duo2 ~]$ ping -c 5 raspberrypi
PING RaspberryPi (192.168.1.4) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from RaspberryPi (192.168.1.4): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=3.03 ms
64 bytes from RaspberryPi (192.168.1.4): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=5.66 ms
64 bytes from RaspberryPi (192.168.1.4): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=3.32 ms
64 bytes from RaspberryPi (192.168.1.4): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=5.50 ms
64 bytes from RaspberryPi (192.168.1.4): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=5.00 ms

--- RaspberryPi ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4012ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 3.037/4.506/5.662/1.111 ms
[Duo2 ~]$

Yes, that works for me.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything