Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Checking new line was wired correctly  (Read 1832 times)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Checking new line was wired correctly
« on: June 26, 2017, 09:58:59 PM »

Hi all,

I had a new line installed today and I just wanted to check it's been done correctly. The engineer crimped some telephone cable (it looks to be twisted pair BT cable) to the two spare wires in the back of the NTE5 and then ran a small cable to a master socket next to it and wired it up.

Looks good to me, is that all as it should be?
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2017, 10:33:23 PM »

Yes
Logged

BT Infinity 2, ECI PCP, Vigor 130, pfSense 2.4.1

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4682
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2017, 10:44:18 PM »

Sounds like the run of the mill pair swap to me no major changes
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20144
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2017, 10:51:33 PM »

Basically, the second pair of your incoming service feed (either underground or an aerial drop) has been used to implement the second circuit.

As has already been stated it's a perfectly normal situation. (b*cat waves paw, in acknowledgement, towards u*zone and N*Star.)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4682
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2017, 11:08:45 PM »

Ah so he's going for FTTC bonding with two lines ?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20144
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2017, 11:29:23 PM »

Ah so he's going for FTTC bonding with two lines ?

No. If I've remembered correctly, G*E*net has changed CP, from TalkTalk to BT Wholesale based. The migration was not faultless . . . TalkTalk refused to release the telephone number and so, after complaints, BT installed a new line.

Come to think of it, you replied in that other thread! Now where is it . . . Ah, yes, here it is:D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2017, 12:08:49 AM »

Good to hear it's all been done as it should be. And by an MJ Quinn engineer no-less!
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2017, 12:09:29 AM »

Ah so he's going for FTTC bonding with two lines ?

Unfortunately not, TalkTalk screwed up unfortunately.

I will be able to compare the two lines though for a short period.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4682
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2017, 12:35:31 AM »

Basically, the second pair of your incoming service feed (either underground or an aerial drop) has been used to implement the second circuit.


It was your wording in bold that made me think of a bonded line coming into use at some point  :doh:
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20144
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2017, 01:23:00 AM »

It was your wording in bold that made me think of a bonded line coming into use at some point  :doh:

Yes, sorry, I can see that my somewhat sloppy wording could imply that interpretation.  :-[
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20144
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2017, 01:32:05 AM »

I will be able to compare the two lines though for a short period.

For better or for worse, you will be in a position to observe any cross-talk between the two services. If you have two modems (or modem/routers), each with a Broadcom chipset, then interesting data may be obtainable. For such experiments the two modems and the DSLAM will only need to be synchronised, i.e. in "showtime mode".
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2017, 01:27:00 PM »

For better or for worse, you will be in a position to observe any cross-talk between the two services. If you have two modems (or modem/routers), each with a Broadcom chipset, then interesting data may be obtainable. For such experiments the two modems and the DSLAM will only need to be synchronised, i.e. in "showtime mode".

In theory there shouldn't be any since I have vectoring on my cabinet.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20144
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2017, 10:54:26 PM »

In theory there shouldn't be any since I have vectoring on my cabinet.

I would still be inclined to perform the relevant experiments. Then you will be in a position to verify (or not verify) the theory.  ;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1867
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2017, 11:23:18 PM »

I would still be inclined to perform the relevant experiments. Then you will be in a position to verify (or not verify) the theory.  ;)

I will do so, for science!  :P
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20144
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Checking new line was wired correctly
« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2017, 11:27:46 PM »

I will do so, for science!  :P

Thank you. That will certainly be appreciated.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything