Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?  (Read 807 times)

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2591
My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« on: June 22, 2017, 06:47:30 PM »

I noticed recently the existence of male RJ45 to female USB adaptors. Given all my trouble with DSLStats could one of them help? Currently there is a spare RJ45 socket on the router, and I have an Essentials external hard disk, partly occupied with pictures, though with 151 GB unused.
Could I use this spare capacity to load the Linux version of DSLStats and run it? Embarassingly, if I could, Id need my hand held. ;)
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 638
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 07:35:25 PM »

I suspect not, as there would be no computer/cpu/ram involved to actually run DSLStats  - as the hard disk is just that.. a storage medium

I don't recall all your issues but have you considered running DSLStats on a Raspberry Pi?
Logged

skyeci

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 923
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 07:36:21 PM »

I would suggest a pi3. I have been using a couple on my and family connections. Works a treat.
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + PFSENSE (APU2C4) 2.4.0 with ipv6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled as of 8th April 2016

http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk user upload ID skyECI (using a pi3)

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2591
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 11:21:01 PM »

I was warming, oh so slightly, to trying to set up Pi, until I read this. It scared this oldie.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19580
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2017, 12:11:43 AM »

I was warming, oh so slightly, to trying to set up Pi, until I read this. It scared this oldie.

That article is five years old and, consequentially, out of date. I'll recommend you start your journey here, then this page next, etc.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38619
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2017, 07:46:31 AM »

Certainly read those articles, then the easiest way to get started is to buy a starter kit like this: https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry-pi-3-starter-kit

You'll need to connect it to a monitor using HDMI. If your present monitor has an HDMI input, and your PC connects using HDMI, then an HDMI switcher is a simple way to share the monitor. I use one of these and it works very well.
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2591
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2017, 07:41:33 PM »

This P.M. I got down to running everything from the test socket, and speed increased from 5408 to 6711, whether the increase is coincidental or even improves is to be seen.
As to floating point errors, none have been reported since test socket employed, but that is only because Windows reported DSLStats stopped working less than an hour in. I've no idea of the cause.

Thanks for tips about Pi. I've also been thinking that I have oodles of free disc space on my system for a further partition for Linux version DSLStats.
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2591
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2017, 08:10:46 PM »

Back to 5387 kbps 35 mins ago, so looks like running from test socket does nowt! :'(
Logged

tiffy

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: My idea to make DSLStats work for me: crazy?
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2017, 10:15:33 PM »

On the subject of RPi and running DSLStats to MDWS..
I am running an old RPi Mk.1 B to harvest my HG612 stat's to MDWS, running headless, works fine.

Out of curiosity I purchased a RPi Zero W last week, that's the model with in-built WiFi & Bluetooth, cost 9.60.
In order to get the micro USB adaptors for video and USB I also bought the "essentials kit" @ 6.00.
Case was on offer @ 4.80.
I had a suitable PSU and a micro SD card already.
Loaded Raspian, Jessie & DSLStats as per my existing RPi Mk. 1 set up and found this works perfectly to MDWS.
Did buy a micro USB to ethernet adaptor as well (the Pi Zero does not have a LAN port) which cost around 12 but found that the in-built WiFi worked fine so did not have to use this.
If a LAN connection to the router is prefered obviously the micro USB/ethernet adaptor will be required.

Actually marginally faster than my existing RPi Mk.1 B when viewed from VNC Viewer on Windows as the CPU is running at a higher clock speed.

I did have one issue with the graphics resolution when running headless via VNC Viewer on my desktop PC., managed to easily resolve this, can supply details if required.
Also, ensure that the router is configured to permit LAN access from WiFi, my Netgear DGND3700v2 was not by default.

Bottom line:
Very cheap, small, low power consumption interface from DSLStats to MDWS, don't bother to buy the adaptors if intending to run headless which will reduce the financial overheads and is a considerable saving on the overall cost of the current RPi Mk.3 with it's peripherals.
Logged
Plusnet 38/2 - DSLStats/RPi - HG612/DGND3700v2 - Huawei Cab - MDWS ID tiffy