Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Router was off but one did one didn't.  (Read 1533 times)

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2570
Router was off but one did one didn't.
« on: May 29, 2017, 10:53:00 AM »

I turned everything off last night, and the router was disconnected. This morning I turned on the bedside internet radio and it tuned in. It was later that I remembered my router was off!

Obviously i had an unsecured neighbour! But one thing puzzles me. Why was my radio able to work, but not my wife's IPad?

I know, guys, will have a clear, simple explanation. So, please?
Logged

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 514
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2017, 11:17:03 AM »

Hi renluop

Most wifi devices has an option to use any detected wifi (which seems to be the default on most), or you can set the device to not use any detected wifi

It may also just be the wifi signal to the iPad was too weak for a connection

We always set wifi to use only our network or network we choose - it can be security risk if not

Many thanks

John
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2570
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2017, 11:46:00 AM »

though both radio and IPad were in close proximity to closely proximate recumbent positions.
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3058
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2017, 11:36:47 AM »

Just reading this old post made me think about your other problems you have been having with your internet connection / DSLstats etc. are you sure you are connected to your internet connection and not your neighbors connection if you think it's an UN-secured one and does not need a 'log-on' !.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2570
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2017, 04:42:23 PM »

@tickmike
AFAICS I'm on my network, as there are only 2 available networks: mine-connected secured, A Nother- secured.
Logged

JTee33

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2017, 02:17:23 AM »

Do you have a dual band router by chance?
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2570
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2017, 07:27:11 AM »

No, it's a Billion 8800NL. Inssider tells me the generous unsecured person uses
 BT Wi-Fi with FON.
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 565
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2017, 08:05:29 AM »

Isn't that pretty normal for BT routers with the only web page you can reach (and always get redirected to) being the page to fork out some dosh to sign up to the service?

https://www.btfonpurchases.com/en/products
« Last Edit: July 13, 2017, 08:07:56 AM by jelv »
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2570
Re: Router was off but one did one didn't.
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2017, 10:32:32 AM »

Sorry, jelv, I'm not sure of the significance of your post in relation to mine.
Logged
 

anything