Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker  (Read 918 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Reg Member
  • *
  • Posts: 541
Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« on: May 22, 2017, 02:16:50 PM »

Does the line checking rely on SamKnows? If so have you had any feedback on why it is so inaccurate?

Looking up for the same telephone number you and SamKnows say 21CN ADSL2+ is not available.

The BT checker says it is and has done so for over a year.

Screen shots of the three attached.
Logged
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. Rick Cook, The Wizardry Compiled

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29903
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2017, 07:46:36 PM »

Yes, the exchange data comes from SamKnows (with his permission).

I'll try contact him and ask if there's any more recent data.   Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

---
ETA

Just noticed that I contacted Sam late last year about this.  I've just tried forwarding a further mail and copy to one of the other guys at SamKnows.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2017, 07:52:50 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29903
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2017, 11:27:05 AM »

I don't appear to have received a reply and they don't appear to be updating their data :/

Does anyone have access to or a link for the latest 21CN exchanges please and so I can add the info to my own database?
It used to be openly available from https://www.btwholesale.com/pages/static/help-and-support/network-information.htm but now it would seem to require login info. 

TIA

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 449
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2017, 12:14:01 PM »

Hi kitz

I hope you do not mind, and perhaps I've missed something sorry, but your link works lovely for me, no login needed

Many thanks

John
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29903
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2017, 04:13:53 PM »

Hi John.   

That is strange. 
I cant seem to be able to gain access from here.  Out of interest I also tried on my phone (Vodafone) and couldn't access via there either.

I also have an old link (but not the data) which appears to now be removed - linky that showed all exchanges which were 21CN
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 449
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2017, 04:18:33 PM »

Hi kitz

Sorry, you maybe correct over login. I did not check all links and checking a few more, requires login sorry

I'm not sure which link you would use, so just clicked any when trying first

Many thanks

John

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29903
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2017, 04:23:34 PM »

Ahhh thank you for trying - appreciated. 
My hopes were raised there for a min that you may have been able to grab the latest datasheet.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 449
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2017, 07:48:00 PM »

Hi kitz

I'm sorry, probably thinking aloud, but could you not register for an account or is it just CP who can register

Many thanks

John
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29903
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2017, 08:47:47 PM »

Has to be CPs who purchase a service I think.  They used to make some info readily available but over the past few years more and more stuff seems to be only available to account holders.


Someone has been kind enough to pass me a copy of that last dataset, so I do have some more updated info.   
Ive already converted it and uploaded it to my server, but still need to write a new function into the checker to check that database before checking Sams API for the exchange data.   I'll try do that this w/e :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29903
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Broadband Exchange & Line Checker
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2017, 12:11:28 PM »

Should now include the updated WBC info.
 
Ive used the last available public dataset  plus I was also kindly given a list of projected migration dates for some other exchanges - it took me a bit longer to integrate this info as it wasn't in the same format and there was some overlap and duplicate data, so I had to manually sort through this data before being able to upload in a database friendly format.    Ive tested and everything seems to be working fine.

Info obtained from the usual datasets will just show 'Enabled'.  Any info taken from the WBC schedule will show the WBC Service Availability date.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
 

anything