Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.  (Read 451 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk

Yesterday evening at about 5:30pm I got the Windows 10 Creators update.  All seemed ok (aside from the fact it changed various prefs!)

All was ok with DSLstats/HG612 modemstats until midnight last night.

This is the error log from DSLstats today

Code: [Select]
16 May 2017 17:37:51 Recording started

16 May 2017 17:38:40 IP address is now [deleted by me]
16 May 2017 19:38:38 Auto snapshots taken
16 May 2017 21:39:37 Auto snapshots taken
16 May 2017 23:39:37 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 00:13:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 01:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 01:01:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 01:02:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 01:03:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 01:04:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples
17 May 2017 01:33:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2017 01:40:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 02:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 03:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 03:03:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 03:40:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 04:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 05:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 05:01:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples
17 May 2017 05:30:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2017 05:40:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 05:53:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 06:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 06:53:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 07:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 07:41:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 08:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 08:01:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples
17 May 2017 08:30:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2017 09:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 09:42:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 10:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 11:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 11:13:37 Unable to login to modem/router
17 May 2017 11:14:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 11:14:35 Unable to login to modem/router
17 May 2017 11:15:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 11:15:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_current_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 11:15:35 Unable to login to modem/router
17 May 2017 11:16:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples
17 May 2017 11:43:37 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 11:45:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2017 12:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 13:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 13:43:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 14:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 15:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 15:44:38 Auto snapshots taken
17 May 2017 16:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 16:00:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_current_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2017 16:01:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples
17 May 2017 16:30:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed

So it would appear something is happening every hour on the hour which is causing a problem.

The issue at 11:13 was my line going on one it is now familiar but random spazzes due to an exceeding high error counts that started at about 9am  and the unable to log into router was me powering down the modem to try a resync to clear the errors so that isnt really an issue - even though DLM is going to hammer me tomorrow :(

What kind of is a problem though is how I have no logging for 30 samples (half an hour).
Any ideas what could be causing this and what Microsoft may have changed to cause the hourly problem?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 05:09:04 PM »

Wondering if my Windows 10 machine has now started to get the same problem that was seen on some Win7 machines

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=17613.0

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 516
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2017, 05:33:37 PM »

Hi kitz

I could be wrong sorry, but based on thinking you have not upgraded dslstats, have you tried running it as administrator and whitelisting in windows defender

The other thing I would whitelist in would from system, advanced option, forgot name but think it's dep and allow

As I say could be wrong so apologies in advance

Many thanks

Johm
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19363
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2017, 06:13:15 PM »

There is never an Eagle about when one is required . . .  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38536
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2017, 06:36:29 PM »

Another user has reported problems running both DSLstats and HG612_Stats since the latest Win10 upgrade. In his case they wouldn't run at all, so it may be unrelated. DSLstats is fussy about where it's installed, and it doesn't like being installed at the top level of C:\ or in Program Files or Program Files(x86).

Those error messages in the log occur when DSLstats detects that HG612_current_stats.exe is running when it's time to collect the next sample. What it does with that information is reported in the log. It looks as though the Win10 upgrade has caused HG612_Stats to misbehave. I don't like suggesting this, but if you untick the HG612_Stats co-operation option it will probably run normally but may get in the way of HG612_Stats running normally.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2017, 07:49:30 PM »

>> I could be wrong sorry, but based on thinking you have not upgraded dslstats,

afaik I am running the current version (5.9).   Im not running the pre-release version.

>> have you tried running it as administrator and whitelisting in windows defender

I'm currently running HG612 stats GUI as admin as per Rons suggestion here.  If you dont then it wont let you setup/change the Task Schedule.

I dont think this is really a problem with DSLstats as such, more that Task Scheduler in HG612stats may have gone a bit wrong since the latest update.  It seems odd that its happening every hour and in that respect similar to the problem that occurred on some Win7 machines.
I have tried deleting and re-setting up the task (as admin) but that doesnt seem to have made any difference.

I think the problem is more something gone wrong with the HG612modemstats side. Im sure Eric will correct me if Im wrong, but DSLstats then detects that HG612stats is still running so doesnt attempt to gather any stats.

>> I don't like suggesting this, but if you untick the HG612_Stats co-operation option it will probably run normally but may get in the way of HG612_Stats running normally.

If I untick the stats co-operation would it still run at 40secs past the hour?   I may be able to avoid conflicts as long as they dont run at the same time.
I'll try it and see what happens at 20:00.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2017, 07:54:48 PM »

Paused dslstats.  Unticked HG612 Modem Stat co-operation.
Restarted dslstats at 40 seconds past the minute.

Code: [Select]
17 May 2017 19:50:47 Recording paused
17 May 2017 19:51:59 Option "HG612-Modem-Stats co-operation" was unset
17 May 2017 19:52:40 Recording resumed
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38536
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2017, 09:15:02 PM »

Quote
If I untick the stats co-operation would it still run at 40secs past the hour?

It's that option which constrains the timing of DSLstats, because BE1 wanted more than half of each minute to ensure his data collection and uploads were complete. I needed about 20 seconds to ensure the same thing, so DSLstats starts each sample collection at 35 - 40 seconds into the minute, when the option is set.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2017, 11:11:08 PM »

Seems to have been ok since I did that.   What Im going to have to remember is to manually set it to start at 40secs after the hour if I ever reboot etc.

 

I've checked the HG612stats error logs and cant see that turning off compatibility its causing any errors there. There are quite a lot of error logs and Im not quite sure which one I should be looking it.


However I have spotted this which appears in ONGOING_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT on the hour

Quote
17/05/2017 22:00:02.43 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.1.0.0 16/05/2015 ****
17/05/2017 22:00:16.70 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - Minutes past the hour = 0
17/05/2017 22:00:17.75 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - 0 Mod 60 = 0. Therefore Snapshot uploading *IS* due.
17/05/2017 22:00:18.90 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - **** Because this is attempt #025, sleeping for 0.250 seconds *** numbytes = 1845
17/05/2017 22:00:20.20 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - get_data() for adsl info --Bits O.K..Status = 1, times in get_data() loop was 026
17/05/2017 22:00:22.50 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - **** Because this is attempt #025, sleeping for 0.250 seconds *** numbytes = 8
17/05/2017 22:00:23.81 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - get_data() for adsl info --SNR O.K..Status = 1, times in get_data() loop was 026
17/05/2017 22:00:26.10 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - **** Because this is attempt #025, sleeping for 0.250 seconds *** numbytes = 1474
17/05/2017 22:00:27.40 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - get_data() for adsl info --QLN O.K..Status = 1, times in get_data() loop was 026
17/05/2017 22:00:29.71 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - **** Because this is attempt #025, sleeping for 0.250 seconds *** numbytes = 1621
17/05/2017 22:00:31.01 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - get_data() for adsl info --Hlog O.K..Status = 1, times in get_data() loop was 026
17/05/2017 22:00:33.17 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - Normal End of [HG612_stats.exe]
17/05/2017 22:00:38.50 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - Start of [Upload.exe] - **** Version 5.1.0.0 16/05/2015 ****
17/05/2017 22:00:40.81 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - Now exiting [Upload.exe]. Status = 1,
 
17/05/2017 22:00:42.91 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220000-321.TXT - End of [HG612_stats.exe] AFTER WebStats stuff

Below is what it normally looks like
Quote
17/05/2017 22:01:02.39 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220100-274.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.1.0.0 16/05/2015 ****
17/05/2017 22:01:16.58 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220100-274.TXT - Normal End of [HG612_stats.exe]
17/05/2017 22:01:21.85 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220100-274.TXT - Start of [Upload.exe] - **** Version 5.1.0.0 16/05/2015 ****
17/05/2017 22:01:24.19 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220100-274.TXT - Now exiting [Upload.exe]. Status = 1,
 
17/05/2017 22:01:26.30 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-220100-274.TXT - End of [HG612_stats.exe] AFTER WebStats stuff

Judging by that, HG612stats is programmed to do something different on the hour, but for some reason something doesnt seem to be working as it should.
This causes some sort of sleep, which then starts to go into the time which DSLstats would start to take its data.
Presumably when in compatibility mode, DSLstats senses that HG612 stats is paused, so it doesn't run either.

I think we may need a Bald Eagle to give some clues as to what is going on here?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38536
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats has problem each hour with HG612stats and misses samples.
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2017, 07:35:18 AM »

The thing which happens on the hour is probably the uploading of the the additional data - QLN, HLog, SNR per tone and bitloading - which isn't part of the basic stats. To keep the load on the MDWS server down, this extra data is only uploaded hourly.
Logged
  Eric