Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U  (Read 1412 times)

RS1986

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2017, 06:09:51 PM »

Thanks burakkucat :D

I shall leave that to it and report back some time tomorrow, enjoy your evening!
Logged

RS1986

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2017, 09:58:38 AM »

Some graphs from my 24 hour testing period on ADSL2+ 6dB SNR, after letting DSLstats average out my errors I'm not entirely concerned about those now as they seem not to be coming through at an extreme rate (much better picture painted than just looking at total counted!)
Logged

RS1986

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2017, 10:08:03 AM »

Dropped the SNR setting to 5dB this morning as 6dB stayed above 6 and dropped to the high 5's this morning, looking through the snapshots there were no spikes in the graph.

Any advice on whether it's worth enabling G.INP(PhyR on Billion)?

Will add the exchange info to this thread as well

Exchange: Malvern   BT Code: WMMAL
Location: Albert Road South,   WR14 3AH
Distance:-   Direct:        2.3 km
    (appx)*   By Road:   2.8 km
    Status   
   ADSL enabled:   June 30, 2001
   DSL Max enabled:   March 31, 2006
   21CN WBC (ADSL2+)   Enabled
21CN due : (PSTN)   Info N/A
   FTTC   Some areas
   SDSL enabled :   Enabled
Broadband Access Market   Broadband Access†   Market 2
BT price band   BTw Pricing Band   Band C

Fixed ADSL:    3500 kbps   (3.5 Mb)
   DSL Max:     3500 kbps   (3.5 Mb)
   ADSL 2+ :   4500 kbps   (4.5 Mb)

I won't get 4.5Mb but I know I can get at least 4Mb as I have done previously with SKY and BT, will be happy with 3.5-3.8 as I started with only 2.5-2.7 when I was switched on to Origin
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1279
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2017, 04:58:05 PM »

G.INP and PhyR are not exactly the same thing, and enabling or disabling either of them will almost certainly have no effect, the equipment at the exchange will probably not support either of them.

Globespan seems an uncommon exchange equipment vendor, if the exchange equipment isn't much good, that might explain the fairly poor speed.
Logged

RS1986

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2017, 05:42:02 PM »

Thanks for your reply ejs, the OpenReach engineer who visited also mentioned something to do with the junction set-up between here and the exchange that effectively doubles the length at one point because it has to go one way and then double back I really can't remember the specifics because we spoke about a lot of stuff.

I can't complain too much about the speed as technically i'm receiving "a service" and only paying line rental, I just want to optimize and stabilize what I've got and wait out my contract (sounds like I'm doing jail time lol) as there's not much else I can do living in rip off Britain ;)

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19116
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2017, 05:43:22 PM »

G.INP and PhyR are not exactly the same thing, and enabling or disabling either of them will almost certainly have no effect, the equipment at the exchange will probably not support either of them.

I will always, instinctively, enable both in the CPE -- on the off-chance that the DLSAM/MSAN might, one day, do likewise.  ;)

Quote
Globespan seems an uncommon exchange equipment vendor,

Hmm . . . that is one line-card chip-set vendor which is rarely seen nowadays. Well spotted.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

RS1986

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2017, 07:38:23 PM »

What am I looking for on the SNR? Is it just a case of seeing  what the margin is like on the spikes and taking it to a point where it doesn't drop to 0dB?

I've been keeping an eye on the errror rate as well and will take that into account when dropping the SNR
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 19116
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Origin Broadband - Asus DSL-N14U
« Reply #22 on: May 16, 2017, 07:46:18 PM »

You would be looking for evidence of a diurnal minimum. Then, having gained a "feel" for the situation, would aim to ensure that after any adjustments have been made to the target SNRM, there is still sufficient SNRM "headroom" (say 2 dB) at the minimum.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything