Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Line stats from HG612  (Read 700 times)

insidejob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Line stats from HG612
« on: April 20, 2017, 12:57:35 PM »

I can't seem to find a forum for my topic to fit in, so will post here then. :)

I am moving to a another isp soon and have setup my HG612 modem/router so I can get my line stats. I had a HG610 which I found would not work and dont work on plusnet any more. I had some issues setting up the HG612 but I managed to copy most setting from my HG610 and I think they are all correct. HG612 dont seem to have bit swap though, that I used on HG610.

Also can someone tell me what the command prompts are, to get in via CMD? I know it could be done on the HG610 but am a bit rusty and can't remember as it were a while ago.

Anyway here are my current stats. Notice the high upstream HEC errors. I also know previously with plusnet, that I were getting about 50mbps down and about 11mbps up. Last years plusnet did something so I never get much above 40mbps speeds but plusnet would not admit it's there doing.

I will see what happens when I move to the other isp.
So any advise or views about my line stats, please let me know. :)

See screen shot below of main GUI.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 01:23:27 PM by insidejob »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2310
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 01:29:25 PM »

The GUI of the hg612 does not report the correct figures for errors so can not be relied upon.

PS you're connected at 54Mbps so if you don't get much above 40Mbps it's possible PN have your line profile set wrong their end.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 01:31:43 PM by Ronski »
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3071
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 02:39:13 PM »

Install DSLstats by roseway (Eric) http://dslstats.me.uk/downloads.html
that's what I use on my HG612.
HG612
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4953
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 03:59:22 PM »

also the hg612 supports and uses bitswapping by default
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

insidejob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 10:07:22 PM »

Thanks for replies.

Ronski plusnet denied they had me on the wrong profile when I questioned them about this last year. I think plusnet were slowing some people down to try and save on bandwidth. I believe other customers complained about this to, on the Plusnet forum.

I will check that software out tickmike but I were looking to use telnet, like on my old HG610. I did try it but said invalid. Yes I have enabled telnet. Don't know what I am doing wrong.

Found a note I made and this is what should work.
In telnet type in 192.168.1.1

username :admin
Password :admin
type SH

xdslcmd info --pbParams


Thanks Chrysalis, no wonder I couldn't find it.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 10:10:35 PM by insidejob »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2310
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 10:29:29 PM »

If you follow this link and login to Plus Net it will show your line profile, which should be slightly lower than your sync speed, but it has be known not to update sometimes.

https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

There should be plenty of info on here somewhere for getting stats via Telnet from the HG612, it's how the monitoring programs get it.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38711
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 10:39:08 PM »

Found a note I made and this is what should work.
In telnet type in 192.168.1.1

username :admin
Password :admin
type SH

That should be 'sh' (i.e. lower case)

Logged
  Eric

insidejob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2017, 12:26:37 AM »

Thanks but no matter what I did, I could not telnet into it. I even set up static IP but no go. I wonder if the firmware needs updating? Says firmware version A2pv6C038m.d24j

Anyway I downloaded DSL stats and thinks this is what would of been shown through telnet.

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason:   0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:   Upstream rate = 12496 Kbps, Downstream rate = 52476 Kbps
Bearer:   0, Upstream rate = 12496 Kbps, Downstream rate = 54388 Kbps
Bearer:   1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:   L0
Mode:         VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:      Profile 17a
TPS-TC:         PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:      U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:      No Defect
Training Status:   Showtime
      Down      Up
SNR (dB):    5.9       6.1
Attn(dB):    19.7       0.0
Pwr(dBm):    12.5       7.4
         VDSL2 framing
         Bearer 0
MSGc:      -6      26
B:      235      237
M:      1      1
T:      0      51
R:      12      16
S:      0.1381      0.6055
L:      14367      3356
D:      8      1
I:      248      127
N:      248      254
Q:      8      0
V:      1      0
RxQueue:      45      0
TxQueue:      15      0
G.INP Framing:      18      0
G.INP lookback:      15      0
RRC bits:      0      24
         Bearer 1
MSGc:      122      -6
B:      0      0
M:      2      0
T:      2      0
R:      16      0
S:      8.0000      0.0000
L:      32      0
D:      1      0
I:      32      0
N:      32      0
Q:      0      0
V:      0      0
RxQueue:      0      0
TxQueue:      0      0
G.INP Framing:      0      0
G.INP lookback:      0      0
RRC bits:      0      0
         Counters
         Bearer 0
OHF:      0      1647608
OHFErr:      0      222
RS:      4239489448      4286322
RSCorr:      17716      1463
RSUnCorr:   0      0
         Bearer 1
OHF:      9147704      0
OHFErr:      0      0
RS:      73181136      0
RSCorr:      20      0
RSUnCorr:   0      0

         Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx:      5621      0
rtx_c:      1251      0
rtx_uc:      0      0

         G.INP Counters
LEFTRS:      9      0
minEFTR:   54389      0
errFreeBits:   121817828      0

         Bearer 0
HEC:      0      0
OCD:      0      0
LCD:      0      0
Total Cells:   2483282621      0
Data Cells:   160091776      0
Drop Cells:   0
Bit Errors:   0      0

         Bearer 1
HEC:      0      0
OCD:      0      0
LCD:      0      0
Total Cells:   0      0
Data Cells:   0      0
Drop Cells:   0
Bit Errors:   0      0

ES:      0      219
SES:      0      0
UAS:      19      19
AS:      146936

         Bearer 0
INP:      48.00      0.00
INPRein:   0.00      0.00
delay:      0      0
PER:      0.00      7.75
OR:      0.01      33.03
AgR:      54474.49   12529.45

         Bearer 1
INP:      2.00      0.00
INPRein:   2.00      0.00
delay:      0      0
PER:      16.06      0.01
OR:      63.75      0.01
AgR:      63.75   0.01

Bitswap:   91152/91152      10012/10026

Total time = 1 days 16 hours 49 min 15 sec
FEC:      17716      1463
CRC:      0      222
ES:      0      219
SES:      0      0
UAS:      19      19
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 15 sec
FEC:      22      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:      114      10
CRC:      0      1
ES:      0      1
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Latest 1 day time = 16 hours 49 min 15 sec
FEC:      5908      626
CRC:      0      101
ES:      0      97
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC:      11808      837
CRC:      0      121
ES:      0      122
SES:      0      0
UAS:      19      19
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Since Link time = 1 days 16 hours 48 min 55 sec
FEC:      17716      1463
CRC:      0      222
ES:      0      219
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0

#

Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 997
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2017, 12:46:54 AM »

DslStats uses telnet, so telnet definitely works on the HG612 if you're getting stats. What app are you trying to telnet with? putty? The Windows telnet app? It's changed quite a bit in recent versions of Windows.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

insidejob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2017, 08:46:08 PM »

Hi John.

I used a regular Command Prompt like I did with my HG610. No software as such. I used DSL stats last night because I could not get telnet to work.  :(

I am going to try again on another windows.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2017, 08:49:16 PM by insidejob »
Logged

insidejob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2017, 01:07:25 PM »

I managed to use telnet, get it working the way I did before but only with a backup windows and little software on it. Here they are but basically same as above from DSL stats.




Quote
Welcome Visiting Huawei  Home Gateway
Copyright by Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
Login:admin
Password:
ATP>sh


BusyBox v1.9.1 (2014-01-21 16:44:38 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 12538 Kbps, Downstream rate = 52804 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 12538 Kbps, Downstream rate = 54301 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3970)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2778)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3970)
                  VDSL Port Details               Upstream                Downst
ream
Attainable Net Data Rate:           12538 kbps              52804 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power:             7.4 dBm               12.4 dBm
================================================================================
====
        VDSL Band Status                U0              U1              U2
        U3              U4              D1              D2              D3
  Line Attenuation(dB):  5.7     30.7    46.1     N/A     N/A    14.5    37.6
 58.5
Signal Attenuation(dB):  5.7     29.9    45.2     N/A     N/A    17.6    37.3
 58.6
                SNR Margin(dB):  6.0     6.1     6.1      N/A     N/A    6.0
 6.0     6.0
                 TX Power(dBm):  0.3    -12.1    6.4      N/A     N/A    8.5
 7.8     6.5
#


As for what Plusnet say about my speed.

This is what it says.
Quote
Estimated line speed:
    There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
    52.4 Mb

That don't prove anything or mean you are getting that speed.
Although my speeds have gone back up to about 49mbps, which is about what it should be. Probably because I can see my line stats now and Plusnet know, they are trying to con there customers of the speed they should be getting.

Anyway unless any members on here have anything to say about my line stats or my line in general, then this will serve as a comparison when I move over to other isp.  :)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2017, 01:23:18 PM by insidejob »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2310
Re: Line stats from HG612
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2017, 01:40:44 PM »

Although my speeds have gone back up to about 49mbps, which is about what it should be. Probably because I can see my line stats now and Plusnet know, they are trying to con there customers of the speed they should be getting.

Do you really think that PN have been monitoring you closely and have increased your speed simply because you now have telnet access to stats and have checked your line speed, I don't think so  :lol:

Far more likely your line speed was either previously set too low, or there was congestion or something.
Logged
 

anything