Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off  (Read 1172 times)

Mbdj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« on: April 17, 2017, 02:42:49 PM »

I have four TVs at home but one of them shuts of my broadband as soon as it's turned on it goes back on as soon as it's switched off any ideas ?
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4501
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2017, 03:17:53 PM »

Logged

Mbdj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 04:33:08 PM »

Does anyone know if I can purchase anything to stop the tv causing this
Logged

j0hn

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 994
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 04:42:54 PM »

Does anyone know if I can purchase anything to stop the tv causing this
A new T.V.
Something with the T.V isn't right if it's disconnecting the xDSL. Is the offending T.V. an old set? Possibly a dodgy power supply.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Mbdj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2017, 04:59:35 PM »

It's a bathroom tv it's about 8 years old it still works fine but it recently started to cause this broadband problem
Logged

JGO

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 704
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2017, 05:00:42 PM »

I suggest a bit of investigation to get some facts - a new TV could be an over-expensive solution.
 
Searching with a portable radio may help isolate where in the TV the trouble originates - could be as simple as a mains lead with a loose screw in the mains plug.

PS if its in a damp atmosphere could well be bad connection somewhere.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 05:02:55 PM by JGO »
Logged

Mbdj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2017, 05:03:07 PM »

Thanks will give that a try
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 552
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2017, 06:36:06 PM »

It's a bathroom tv it's about 8 years old it still works fine but it recently started to cause this broadband problem

Am I alone in wondering why anybody would want a TV in the bathroom!
Logged

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2122
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2017, 11:20:16 PM »

No, licquorice, you're not!
Logged
Most things are somewhere else

petef

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2017, 04:32:18 PM »

You could try a power line filter on the TV. They are designed to stop mains noise getting into a device but should work for outbound too.
Logged

Mbdj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2017, 06:38:39 PM »

Thanks could anyone recommend a good power line filter to try
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3071
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Turning on tv makes broadband turn off
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2017, 09:08:00 PM »

Re,,, It's a bathroom tv it's about 8 years old it still works fine but it recently started to cause this broadband problem

The wiring regulations in the UK state that:
Sockets

The use or installation of a sockets is not allowed in bathrooms or shower rooms, unless they can be fitted at least three metres from the bath or shower. The only exception to this is a shaver-supply unit.

Stay alive remove TV from bathroom.
I would think the TV is shorting inside due to the damp air in the bathroom.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING / USING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet
 

anything