Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent  (Read 1442 times)

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1011
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« on: April 16, 2017, 11:46:25 PM »

ok so PN sent me ANOTHER lantiq chispet hub one and AGAIN the speed problems where every 5-10 (then lately 3-4 days) the speed trhoughput only (not sync) would dip from 37.5Mbps to circa 18-22Mbps

after 4 months of sick of this I managed to get a hold of 2 BTHH5B's and a YouView box of my brother

instantly better connection :)

1) The Max Rate has gone from 65Mb to 73Mb...!!
2) Latency has dropped 2ms
3) It reports my line as 50m shorter than the PN Hub at 410m (BThub) vs 463m (PNhub)
4) speed hasnt dipped from 37Mbps once and gives consistent results whereas before they were slightly inconsistent
5) 2.4Ghz wifi is -10db stronger

Ive a feeling my issue is pretty much resolved thanks to broadcom! :)

So can anyone tell me does DSLstats work with this or not,. if so how is their a debug check enable?

thanks

P.S. I connected to an ECI CAB

also is there anything I need to know or do since ive swapped?

thanks again
« Last Edit: April 16, 2017, 11:56:04 PM by snadge »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 20303
  • Over the Rainbow
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2017, 12:25:35 AM »

. . . I managed to get a hold of 2 BTHH5B's and a YouView box of my brother

instantly better connection :)

1) The Max Rate has gone from 65Mb to 73Mb...!!
2) Latency has dropped 2ms
3) It reports my line as 50m shorter than the PN Hub at 410m (BThub) vs 463m (PNhub)
4) speed hasnt dipped from 37Mbps once and gives consistent results whereas before they were slightly inconsistent
5) 2.4Ghz wifi is -10db stronger

That's a good result.

Quote
So can anyone tell me does DSLstats work with this or not, . . .

Unfortunately not.  :(
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 04:23:06 PM »

Can I suggest you get hold of an unlocked Huawei hg612 v3b. This will work with dslstats and will plug into the wan port of your router
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1011
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 05:20:15 PM »

Can I suggest you get hold of an unlocked Huawei hg612 v3b. This will work with dslstats and will plug into the wan port of your router

thanks these whould be quite cheap by now

is there a way to disable the BT WiFi-X thing to stop BT customers logging in>?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 11:27:20 PM »

thanks these whould be quite cheap by now

is there a way to disable the BT WiFi-X thing to stop BT customers logging in>?
You shouldn't have to disable anything if you're a Plusnet customer. Also, the Huawei HG612 doesn't have any wireless, so doesn't use BT WiFi-X hotspots.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1011
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2017, 03:39:47 PM »

You shouldn't have to disable anything if you're a Plusnet customer. Also, the Huawei HG612 doesn't have any wireless, so doesn't use BT WiFi-X hotspots.
im using a BT Home Hub 5B on my PN connection until I can afford another setup.. so it displays the BT-Wifi-X

actually ...just looking at connection strengths and it isn't equal or near mine, so must be neighbours BT - does the homehub only display WiFi-X if it knows a BT connection is on it??

 (I would expect BT to assume only their BT routers to be on their BT connections, so it was my understanding it would still be on

looks like its off... wouldnt care I used to have a HG612! not anymore - i would rather an all-in-one due to double power costs and having two units but im never gunna be able to afford one of those 100 ZYXEL routers
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2017, 06:20:33 PM »

The TP-Link TD-W9970 is perhaps not quite as good as other devices, but it's also only about 30.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2017, 10:32:46 PM »

Using the bthub on Plusnet i have no idea. The WiFi may broadcast it, but nobody would be able to authenticate and connect.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Iain

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2017, 11:41:57 PM »

Using the bthub on Plusnet i have no idea. The WiFi may broadcast it, but nobody would be able to authenticate and connect.
You could not be more wrong!
However turning off BT Wifi is not so hard, see the link above.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2017, 04:03:49 AM »

However turning off BT Wifi is not so hard, see the link above.
You'll need to explain that to me. He's a Plusnet customer. How does he sign in to his BT account to disable BT WiFi/Fon.

A HomeHub is only activated for Fon use after valid BT credentials have been entered. The HH5B has absolutely no options in it to enable/disable Fon. If you hard reset the device when you got it then it should have Fon disabled. A reset from the web interface won't do, and needs a pin reset, held in till the lights flash.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin - minted on MDWS via DslStats

Iain

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2017, 11:15:03 AM »

You can turn off BT Wifi on a HH5 by doing a factory reset, WiFi Fon won't broadcast - unless you have a valid account if memory serves me right.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1011
    • Broadband & Tech Chat
Re: Got a BTHH5B to replace PNHUB1 - excellent
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2017, 10:43:10 PM »

You can turn off BT Wifi on a HH5 by doing a factory reset, WiFi Fon won't broadcast - unless you have a valid account if memory serves me right.

this must be the case as Im confident its not broadcasting, inSSIDer 2.2 reports the MAC address of devices and its not mine :)

so it would seem it would only broadcast with BT customer using it
Logged