Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 10384 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2307
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #90 on: October 06, 2017, 03:40:04 PM »

Thanks for the updates CLOKent, much appreciated.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2307
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #91 on: October 06, 2017, 04:36:32 PM »

@Broadstairs, Claire Court is now scheduled for the end of December, so getting closer to you.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #92 on: October 06, 2017, 06:11:18 PM »

That's only about 80 or so yards down the road from me.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2307
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #93 on: October 11, 2017, 08:06:20 AM »

My T was installed yesterday and as the wife was home she spoke to the contractors and they located it in a suitable location  :)
Logged

Zico

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #94 on: October 11, 2017, 09:29:58 PM »

 :thumbs:
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4493
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #95 on: October 11, 2017, 09:54:58 PM »

Not too long now guys, before you're 'midnight surfing' .......  ;) ;D
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2307
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #96 on: October 12, 2017, 08:12:00 AM »

LOL BS, I'm fully aware of VMs reputation, but things have apparently been improving recently as mentioned on TBB, whether they will slip back to their old ways who knows, only time will tell. Add to that the roll out in Thanet is completely new full fibre to my front door, not some dodgy ECI cabinet and then over some dodgy copper cable with probably some aluminium mixed in that's over 40 years old.

One would hope that this new network has sufficient capacity built in to last a good few years and then some (I've been assured it has), so in theory I should be able to get a decent upload speed of 20Mbps, and as a bonus a download speed of 300Mbps, instead of the 46/6 I currently get.

So far I've been kept far more up to date about the roll out than I ever was with FTTC, and it looks like I will be able to order it much quicker than I did with FTTC. My FTTC cab was stood in February 2012 and I was finally connected in late August 2012. FTTC has served me well, but my upload has halved over the 5 years, whilst download has fluctuated but stayed about the same.

Bottom line is VM have invested in full fibre to my front door, and I'm willing to stump up the money each month to give them a chance to prove themselves.

If BT ever get around to giving me a better option then perhaps they can have my money again. IF VM had not been rolling out in Thanet then I would have had a new line installed, which would have almost certainly been connected to the Huawei cabinet that was stood earlier in the year, but alas a better option came along  ;D
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #97 on: October 12, 2017, 08:31:17 AM »

Well said Ronski. Although I pay TT for my service all my issues have been with OR and the lousy choice of ECI cabinets and old fashioned copper cables. If BT want to stay in this game then at some point they will have to bite the bullet and get into the 21st century with their local infrastructure as it is its barely 20th century.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4493
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #98 on: October 12, 2017, 12:32:31 PM »

Ha ha ...... not quite the 'Full angst' bite, I was expecting from the two gentleman above.  ;) ;D ;D

In all seriousness, that's what competitive markets are there for ... to suit the individual needs of the consumers. Be that, price, speed, after-sales service etc etc .....

In any new venture ... you pays yer money, you teks yer chance ....... I do sincerely hope it pays off for you both.   

 
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2307
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #99 on: October 12, 2017, 01:22:55 PM »

Thanks BS, I considered it a be nice to purple sheep day  ;D and I  was determined not to bite back.

Worse case scenario I'll take out another FTTC line, but I really doubt it will come to that, it will take quite a while for VM to build up customers to saturation point.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 01:25:00 PM by Ronski »
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4493
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #100 on: October 12, 2017, 03:07:57 PM »

 :) :drink:
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4944
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #101 on: October 12, 2017, 08:35:10 PM »

to be fair ronski I would do the same, you in a brand new area, might be fine.

But I would keep the dsl active when its ordered and then you got option to fall back easily if its not working well, especially as VM got 30 days refund policy.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2307
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #102 on: October 12, 2017, 08:58:47 PM »

That's the plan  :fingers:
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]
 

anything